Tyrone Forum

Popular Posts from OGarmaile

Dublin Fans Behaviour - 9 Like(s)
Much ado about nothing.

OGarmaile (National) - 13/01/2020 14:12:30

Tyrone And Dublin's Different Routes To An All Ireland - 6 Like(s)
Well as we already know Tyrone and Dublin have reached the semi-finals. I want to make a small point about the number of games at home both have played in. I acknowledge that this will be skewed by the fact that we went into the qualifiers but it highlights how ridiculous some elements of our Championship are. After semi-final, Tyrone will have played 2 games out of 10 in Omagh. 20%. (8 different venues) After semi-final, Dublin will have played 5 games out of 7 in Dublin. 71% If either reach final it looks even worse: Dublin 6 out of 8 at home. Tyrone 2 out of 11 at home. Try explaining it to someone who is not a GAA fan.

OGarmaile (National) - 23/07/2019 09:49:55

Dublin Super 8 Home Games - 6 Like(s)
Let's hope that Dublin play their games at three separate venues like every other county is expected to in the super 8 phase. Hard to argue with.

OGarmaile (National) - 13/01/2020 14:05:24

Casement Park - 5 Like(s)

Replying To cavanman47:  "If Cavan were to meet Derry, Tyrone or Donegal in a championship game (apart from Ulster final), I'd still like to see it held in Clones."
Clones will probably still get one Ulster semi a year. I think players will prefer playing in a modern state of the art stadium. It will be different. Time moves on. Clones had its time.

OGarmaile (National) - 15/10/2020 10:26:12

Super 8 General Discussion - 5 Like(s)

Replying To legendzxix:  "I agree that amalgamations might be required as well: MUNSTER: Cork North Munster (Limerick & Clare) East Munster (Tipperary & Waterford) Kerry CONNAUGHT: Galway Mayo North Connaught (Roscommon, Sligo & Leitrim) London ULSTER: North Ulster (Derry & Antrim) East Ulster (Down & Armagh) South Ulster (Cavan, Monaghan & Fermanagh) West Ulster (Donegal & Tyrone) LEINSTER: North Dublin South Dublin North Leinster (Meath, Westmeath, Longford & Louth) South Leinster (Kildare, Laois, Wicklow, Carlow, Wexford & Kilkenny)"
To think someone actually sat down and typed that all out. The mind boggles.

OGarmaile (National) - 02/08/2019 09:53:57

Tyrone V Meath Nfl Rd 1. - 5 Like(s)
I was impressed by Meath last time we played in Navan but a lot of that was down to us taking out foot off the gas. Meath had a few decent showings in the Super 8s but their performance against Dublin in Leinster was appalling. Division 1 could be a chastening experience.

OGarmaile (National) - 17/01/2020 11:05:24

Dublin V Mayo - 4 Like(s)
It was not a red. All it served to do was make Dublin's job even easier.

OGarmaile (National) - 03/02/2020 13:30:33

Thank You TG4 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Htaem:  "Be better if they included an English language option, but other than that, fairplay for the coverage."
I don't think that would be in the remit of a publicly funded Irish language station.

OGarmaile (National) - 29/07/2019 10:58:42

Kieran Donaghy Wants GAA To Shut Down GAA Forums - 3 Like(s)
Very rarely have I seen anyone personally attack a gaa figure on this forum. I think when it comes to younger players, people on here are genuinely kinder in their words and are considerate to the time and effort amateur players put in. Twitter is no holds barred, it seems.

OGarmaile (National) - 19/02/2020 12:39:15

The Neutral Referee - 3 Like(s)
Both sides can be happy that it won't be Maurice Deegan.

OGarmaile (National) - 14/08/2019 10:03:00

2019 Attendances - 3 Like(s)
Saturday evening was the worst atmosphere I ever encountered in Croke Park. That includes league games and round 4 games. If it is going to be 2/3 empty at least bunch what fans there are together.

OGarmaile (National) - 22/07/2019 14:04:49

Dublin Fans Behaviour - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Jack L:  "[quote=Joxer:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "Irish Independent: Even in the stand below us a minor scuffle broke out between rival supporters well into middle age, who really ought to have more sense. And as the referee Alan Coyne, of Westmeath, made his way off to a safe house at the back of one of the goals, some Dublin supporters surged in his direction and made their displeasure known. Irish Times: Not that Saturday's result seemed to bother the former Dublin minor and U-21 manager too much, with their travelling supporters far more agitated. One of them, standing on the terrace beneath the main press area, almost came to blows with a Longford supporter while later on, after Darren Gallagher kicked the winning point for Longford after winning a debatable free himself, Dublin supporters verbally abuse referee Alan Coyne as he exited the pitch. In the end, it required the intervention of two gardaí and a couple of stewards to bring calm to an unseasonably combustible situation for the second weekend of January."
Ah ok. I saw the phrase "Dublin fans attacked Longford fans" used by Benji and assumed that there had been a riot. Silly stuff from those who travelled. It was only a OBC game and no matter how terrible the referee was, he's an amateur at the end of the day and doesn't deserve that volley of verbals at close range."]I seen a lot of images of the referee been escorted off pitch. But in none of the images have I seen Garda escorting him off the pitch. I do not condone abuse of referees. However unfortunately it is part and parcel of our games. While it was disappointing to see it so early in the year it is a culture that will continue until something is done at the very top. Dublin have won five All Ireland titles in a row. Followed by so called glory hunters in the summer so we are told. Was it not heartening to see so many of them travelling to Longford on a cold Saturday afternoon to see their third string team in a OBC tie."]Their passion is to be commended. Good to see their hunger for further success extending itself into the pre season competition.

OGarmaile (National) - 14/01/2020 09:43:57

Tyrone V Meath Nfl Rd 1. - 2 Like(s)
Tyrone not up to much either. Disjointed performance. A lot made out of Meath missing players. Every team is missing players. We were without the Donnelly brothers, Peter Harte, Pádraig Hampsey and Michael McKernan. Not to mention Cathal McShane.

OGarmaile (National) - 27/01/2020 10:54:17

Kerry V Tyrone. - 2 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "Laughing here, zero self awareness, you'd swear Kerry were some expansive creative team, they are a blanket defensive outfit, with high levels of cynicism, Paul Murphy and Sean O Shea in particular are tasked with pulling players down if they are going to run at the Kerry back line. Definitely not in a position to be telling other counties how to play the game. Short memories to, the ref in the semi final last year was one of the worst performances I think I ever saw in Croke Park, then I went to the two finals. ;) Having played both quite a bit recently, I'd be more fearful of Tyrone then Kerry."
Good point regarding our semi final with Kerry last year. Seemed to escape the attention of the media. Especially the persistent off the ball fouling of Peter Harte,

OGarmaile (National) - 10/02/2020 09:28:13

Casement Park - 2 Like(s)
Let's be honest. Clones can be a great day out but it's not fit for purpose. It's out of the way geographically for majority of the province's population. If the GAA is to be a forward-looking and forward-thinking organisation, a solid base in the most populated area in Ulster (Belfast) is essential. Decent public transport links to Belfast from many towns across Ulster. Clones has almost none. The plans for Casement would make it arguably the finest gaelic games stadium on the island. This is very exciting.

OGarmaile (National) - 14/10/2020 09:35:28

U20 Football Championship 2020 - 2 Like(s)
Good luck to Tyrone this weekend. Was disappointed not to get to see it in Croke Park on Paddy's Day. Glad the lads are getting to finish their Championship.

OGarmaile (National) - 14/10/2020 09:44:10

Pubs In Belfast City Centre - 2 Like(s)

Replying To brisbane:  "Would these pubs be showing live GAA games?"
You'd do well to find anywhere in town showing live gaa. Up the west would be best for that.

OGarmaile (National) - 03/06/2021 09:57:17

All Ireland Football Semi Finals - 2 Like(s)
That looks about right. Will be interesting to see what Harte and Gavin do in Omagh. I think both teams will make a lot of changes and the Dubs will probably edge what will be a dull enough game. Tyrone will not go for it - no way. Hope the atmosphere in Omagh is better than it was in Croke Park on Saturday. That was one dull day.

OGarmaile (National) - 22/07/2019 10:40:06

Cathal McShane Going To The AFL? - 2 Like(s)
The words of T Kennelly earlier in the week never came of any comfort to Tyrone fans. As if he would care about our season one way or another.

OGarmaile (National) - 10/01/2020 09:54:36

GAA Stadiums - 2 Like(s)
There aren't enough big games for the gaa to revamp all its stadia. Attendances are generally relatively low in comparison to sports across the water. For example, Tyrone will likely only play 3 league games and 1 championship match in Omagh this year. This would be same for many counties. How can we justify having state of the art stadia?

OGarmaile (National) - 17/01/2020 10:58:15