Monaghan Forum

Popular Posts from hardcore

Monaghan V Dublin - 4 Like(s)
We are gonna win this.............reason is we have been beaten by a point the last two meetings,with Conor McManus playing out of his skin,with no Dublin Defender able to mark him.Now we have Jack McCarron, another Gem of a free scoring forward,add in a settled Kieran Hughes in midfield along with his Brother and we now have a stable platfrom that we have missed since Eoin Lennon and Dick Clerkin retired. Our Backs as a unit are among the best in the Country,if we keep out the early goals we will come out on top because this team knows it needs to win this game to get to the next level. Getting to the NFL Division 1 Final is serious progress and most teams who get there and happen to win it are able to win the All Ireland............this is were we need to be,this is were we have to be if we want to progress as a serious Football team that are hell bent on winning a first All Ireland.......So i expect us to go flat out and give one of our best performances that would see us topple another All Ireland winning team in Clones!!

hardcore (National) - 31/03/2017 15:04:00

Monaghan vs Fermanagh - 4 Like(s)
Madgeking,id be more worried about your own county's failure to deal with been favourites.............the one game you's were favourites this year against Roscommon you's were bet out the gate!!!!!!! Us in Monaghan,we take one game at a time,respect the team we are playing,study them and try our best to beat them,unlike you's who if you's get a result in a game it goes to your heads and you's talk about taking over the world!!We will beat Fermanagh if we perform,if we dont we might lose,same as everyother team in the country.

hardcore (National) - 18/05/2017 14:54:47

National League 2017 - 3 Like(s)
Forget the ref lads yes he was brutal but we played into his hand by mouthy off and given him an excuse to flash the red card......................although Dermot Malone's red was very harsh and the down lines man gave that order. Disapline under Malachy has been good up until Saturday night hope it was a once off!!!!!!!!!! What isnt a once off is our erattic performance again.......................we cant but back to back which wont see us win a major trophy down the line. How could we sit off and let Tyrone walk through us in the first half in a big derby match,it was very depressing stuff................a better team than Tyrone would off been 12 points up at half time and we would off been dead and buried. All i took out of the game was that Tyrone arent the team they are made out to be specially when its put up to them..................and we are not consistant enough to trouble the top 4...................we will stay up a point against Roscommon will do it so its about getting everyone ready for the championship after that game.

hardcore (Monaghan) - 06/03/2017 14:41:44

National League 2017 - 3 Like(s)
Didnt get to the game yesterday,by all accounts it was a sluggish performance but we didnt lose and thats a bonus as Donegal have given Cavan and Tyrone a hiding already this season so we got the close's to them............... The League has been brilliant for us,we have blooded some new faces and seem to be more direct and this has helped us be comfortable in this division which is all we wanted. We have stayed up with our best forward Conor McManus yet to get going which sends out a clear message to all who think we are a one man team, specially the very noisy Neighbours......... Sunday is a massive test against the best team in the counrty who are starting to rev up now and get ready for the Championship.............it will be a good test one which i hope we go flat out to win. Only worry is Mansy's form...............but form is temporary, Sunday would be a great day for him to let loose.......... Great to be back HOME in Clones there will be a massive crowd for this winner takes all clash.............we can win this if we perform.

hardcore (Monaghan) - 27/03/2017 14:39:59

Championship 2019 - 2 Like(s)
This is were we are been caught out when i keep on about blooding new players during the league. Management knew Niall and Kieran would be out for most of the year,but didnt bring any cover in............(i understand if players who were asked and turned it down thats ok) Pete O'Hanlon was on the panel 6 years ago,he got 5 minutes against Armagh in the NFL back in 2014 and that was that.... he is now a far more better footballer and would be a brilliant addition to the squad,granted he might not have the interest anymore but Malachy could do with taking a trip up to Carrick and knock on his door................nothing more than a player would like to feel wanted specially by a manager whos team were a kick of a ball away from an All Ireland Final last year!!! By the way its.............29 sleeps.

hardcore (Monaghan) - 19/04/2019 22:08:16

Championship 2017 - 2 Like(s)
Made hard work of that yesterday..................knew wed win at half time as Cavan did not use the wind and the big man on the square,i was expecting high balls raining in on us but the only kicked in 3 and didnt score from any off them...................... Was an awful day for football but credit to both teams for scoring so highly............... Kicked some awful wides but again the conditions didnt help,it was just about getting out of Breffni with a win. Big shout out to Neil McAdam who put big McKierain in his pocket...............plenty of times we give out about what he brings to the team.............yesterday he showed what he can do......................well done Neil. Well done to everyone involved........we are blessed to have such a committed group of men who want to play for our great county..............thanks Lads. Muineachain abu.

hardcore (Monaghan) - 12/06/2017 12:00:41

Division 1 - 2019 - 2 Like(s)
Horrible League played some awful football most of the time specially first half of most matches..............although we played the whole league without our first choice midfield,so take a bow Darren Hughes.......horse of a man he is. The most disappointing thing from this league was the failure of the Management team to Blood new players. We blooded 2 O'Hanlon and Kerr............which is shocking and does not bode well for the future of Monaghan football because when this Management swan off we will be left with no new players to be blended in with the core group of good footballers we have at the minute. Colm Lennon got 50 minutes from 7 games Barry McGinn got 5 minutes from 7 games James Mealiff got 13 minutes from 7 games This is a Disgrace and there was no excues not to use these men more after all the injuries we had during the league. Gartlan and Bannigan got a few chances but done nothing to warrant further game time!! So we go into Championship in 8 weeks with just 2 new players from last season. You get a big panel from blooding players,we dont blood enough so we will have a small panel and its Managements fault........

hardcore (Monaghan) - 26/03/2019 14:36:13

National League 2017 - 2 Like(s)
3 Sleep's................. I want us to win this so bad........I want us in the National league final,as for years any team that gets there and wins it are ready to win the All Ireland. Its time now we stepped up and go for it,Since 2013 the league has been good for us and we had a good championship after it. Beat Dublin on Sunday and we are on the right road to glory...........let it be this year or over the next 3............but we must take our chance this Sunday. Our Time is Now.

hardcore (Monaghan) - 30/03/2017 14:02:33

Championship 2017 - 2 Like(s)
Alot of silly posts on here about us hammering Down on saturday night.................this wont happen! The game is in a very tight ground,Down are in better shape than last year and we dont kill teams off and the Cavan match is prove of that............. In a game that we should of won by 7 points we were lucky to get out without been held to a draw against a limited Cavan team............If we leave Down in the game the will punish us........ 3 sleeps.......

hardcore (Monaghan) - 21/06/2017 15:52:58

Monaghan V Dublin - 2 Like(s)
Darren Hughes black card was wrong......it was not a trip.......Connolly's black card was a yellow............Carey's Yellow card should of been black!!! Bernard Brogan's off the ball shoulder without the ball is a black card which Joe McQuillan seen and waved at the Monaghan player to get up off the ground!! The Black card isnt the problem its the Referee's who dont know the rule.........where was the linesmen yesterday??.............in Omagh we had linesmen who couldnt wait to have their say to get players sent off, yesterday we seen no linesman enter the pitch to help the Ref who was having a nightmare!!

hardcore (National) - 03/04/2017 19:34:59

Championship 2017 - 1 Like(s)
A wins a win in the first round of the championship..........performance will improve as we go on.................and by jasus it will have to when we vist Breffni park to face Cavan who have rapped some of their players in cotton wool and have suspended club football until after June the 11th!!!!!! Saturday night was very poor,Kieran Hughes let himself down and his team mates very badly..............he owes himself and his team mates a massive performance in 3 weeks,any messing like we saw Saturday from him and it will be curtains for us. Shane Carey again for me does not warrant a starting place.......yes he scored a point but did very little in a game he should of been standing out in........Ryan McAinespie done more than him when he came on and should get the nod against Cavan. Done well to win without a midfield,but Fermanagh were awful,nearly as bad as Down last year....................any way 3 weeks hard work before we go to the Neighbours who have been resting up and waiting for us this past 7 weeks..

hardcore (Monaghan) - 22/05/2017 14:22:24

NFL 2020 - 1 Like(s)
Replying To hardcore: "Pick our battles...................Go to Croke Park try something new, stay within 5 to 7 points of them even closer,hopefully no injuries and no stupid sending off's. Mayo at home in two weeks is a must and winable game that should be targeted." Makes no sense. Go to Croke Park and try to win. Why would you want to throw a game? It's probably one of the most important games of the year. supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 08/02/2020 11:50:02 Where did i say we should throw the game...............................i said try something new and see were that gets us,New Positions for a few players and different tactics.............but its clear now this management team is sticking with this plan as we went flat out in the last 3 games with nearly our full team,bar Fintan Kelly,Colin Walshe.............maybe Killian Lavelle............. A great effort but how did we not see it out,theres enough of them around now to know what to do!!! Now if anyone on here has no complaints with what the Ref done lastnight then we may lie down and let every team and officials in the country walk all over us.It was an outrageous act of making sure we didnt win the game, and it is not the first time this Ref has made sure he made live hard for us...........even when he is doing the line he makes sure he gets involved. Why blow for the game to finish when Dublin kicked the equliser???? thats the give away,why stop there. Did he say to players or anyone he was adding an extra 4 minutes??? Nothing will be done about it RTE so called pundits had no problem with it and either will the GAA.......but you will be dragged up in front of a commitee if you step out of line in a match but the Ref walks away happy he did his against a team he clearly has it in for........................shamefull from the top down!!

hardcore (Monaghan) - 09/02/2020 22:51:21

AH Ah funny boys with your fantasy football..................You's are some Monaghan supporters to be happy enough to look at your county go to Croke Park and make a show of themselves while our manager sits on his arse and watches it unfold while doing nothing about it. Yous wont be so smart in another few months when you's see the amount of players that arent going to commit next year,and along with the supporters who are fed up looking at the crap football been played by this team you's might realise what mess we are in. Half of you's wouldnt know if it was pumped or stuffed.

hardcore (Monaghan) - 20/09/2017 12:29:32

USFC 17.Fermanagh - 1 Like(s)
So the time has come around for another championship,there is no point talking about any other team than the one we face in 5 days time and that team is Fermanagh. Yes they had a poor league and have lost up to 9 players from last year so we should have too much come the end of the 70 mins to get through to the next round of the Ulster Championship. My hope for this summer is that we put teams away early and dont leave them hanging on to us so the still have a chance when they should off been dead and buried.We now have the fire power up front to beat any team in the country..........but we wont beat them by leaving them in the game long enough to have a chance to nick it of us like Dublin did in the league. If we get this right starting on Saturday evening then it will set us up for one of the best Summers in our life's. Best of luck to Management and team....one game at a time starting with Fermanagh........get it done quickly!!

hardcore (Monaghan) - 16/05/2017 13:52:08

McKenna Cup Panel - 1 Like(s)
Sunday was a great chance for Malachy to send out 15 fringe players who were pushing to make the league squad. The main men are together 4 years and know eachother inside out...........even us on here could pick our best 15 and we would be very close to Malachy's pick.........so to say the needed to play together is rubbish...........look at Dublin and Mayo this year already. Given lads half games and one game is not a fair chance to see if they are up to the level needed to play county Football..............sunday's team could of looked like this. 1.C. FORDE 2.O.COYLE 3.B.GREENAN 4.N.McKEOWN 5.S.FINNEGAN 6.J.MEALIFF 7.K.McQUAID 8.A.LYNCH 9.N.KEARNS 10.S.McCABE 11.D.McALLISTER 12.B.McGINN 13.C.McCARTHY 14.D.MALONE 15.M.BANNIGAN. Now that team could of played on sunday for at least 50 minutes with some of our regulars coming on that way them lads would of got a taste of what its like against a decent Derry team at this stage of the year................yes we might of got well beaten but at least it was a proper run out and we would of seen who was ready for the step up!! Does anyone know is Dessie ward on the panel???

hardcore (Monaghan) - 24/01/2017 14:58:53

New Blood For 2019 - 1 Like(s)
Theres a group of footballers that need to be brought into the County set up this winter to be trained to the standard we are at now,it will take a few years for whoever comes in and commits to the programme,as Ryan McAnespie is a prime example,came in 2015 and is only now in 2018 turning into a top class footballer. Dean Connolly Killanny Liam Og Murray Magheracloone Colm Lennon Ballbay Fergal Hanratty Corduff Peter O'Hanlon Carrickmacross Stephen McCabe Latton Thats just a few,along with James Mealiff,Barry McGinn,Aaron Lynch,David Gartlan, who are already on the panel there is no excuse as to why none of these players should be tried out during the National League. As for Stephen O'Hanlon I hear has no interest in playing County football which is a pity as he has the ability to be another Tommy Freeman. But all this wont matter if the Management wont be brave and go for games............we left an Ulster title and an All Ireland Final apperance behind us because of poor decisions on the sideline. Granted Management hands were tied because of the lack of form shown by some players.......but if they come back next year with the same plan and players we will get the same results!!!!! To fight for years to get to an All Ireland semi final and go and play the way we did is bitterly disappionting.........it was an awful performance,and we still only lost by a point..........seen Jack McCarron coming on again and him totally off form all year was the last straw................David Gartlan would have been a better choice as he had pace and would of been somthing different.........but instead we werent BRAVE ENOUGH..........this has to change and CHANGE NOW!

hardcore (Monaghan) - 28/08/2018 14:12:53

That Time Of The Year Again Senior Final 2018 - 1 Like(s)
Is anybody worried that Scotstown are basically the Dublin of Monaghan Club football? They've comfortably won basically every county final they've been in recently bar 2014 when Clontibret beat them. The fact that they've added 4 or 5 young lads to the starting team this year is frightening! Really can't see anyone beating them for another 3 or 4 years. HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 28 - 09/10/2018 10:30:18 No not worried at all........the reason is that Scotstown are producing some top class intercounty footballers and are a good football team,this happened in the 70's and 80's and we had a good spell at County level as the backboned the team. In the 90's and early 00's Castleblaney couldnt be touched,yet they didnt produce the level of player Scotstown are and this was one of the reasons we struggled during those horrible times. There is plenty of Teams that would be able to turn Scotstown over...... Ballybay if the get a decent Management team in,as the one they have is clueless, regards to team selection and match up's,plus playing blow in's that wouldnt make a decent Junior team.If the get there house in order the would win it. Carrick with another year of senior football will bring them on,have the firepower to hurt anyone.....just need to keep the heads down stay away from basketball and dont believe their own hype. Magheracloone decent young team who could dump you out if your not on it.......ask Carrick Latton have some good young footballers coming but are let down on the sideline,sort it out and they could hurt you. It was a poor championship,no team stood out bar Scotstown but remember last year,Scotstown were bet out the gate yet pulled it out of the fire with a freak show in the last few minutes.......so the can be beaten,but not this season,hope the go on and win Ulster.

hardcore (Monaghan) - 11/10/2018 15:12:19

Division 1 2017 - 1 Like(s)
A lot of deluded people on here who have yet to taste Division 1 football........specially Cavan and Tyrone!! As for us il be happy to see our U21 Ulster Championship winning players blooded in our 7 games so that come the summer we will have a well drilled out fit with a better scoring treat that will shock a few teams and shut them up for a while!! Dublin,Mayo,Kerry look the best bets for the final.............any of the other teams can go down as we seen with Cork last year after going down with 6 points on score difference.................and theres a lot worse teams in this division than Cork.

hardcore (National) - 18/01/2017 14:50:15

National League title - 1 Like(s)
While a National Title is not to be turned down,it is and has to be over the next 3 seasons while we have our best team since the 85 squad an All Ireland title. Step back and look at the teams.................Dublin who's hunger is fading............Mayo who always find away to lose.............Kerry because of their history but are running out of class footballers......................after that we are up there with Tyrone..............And if we keep everyone fit we can take any one of them teams on our day. We are a big strong mobile team now with a set of backs that would eat you alive,a Midfielder who if he keeps doing what he's doing he will be the best in the country...............and now we hopefully have 2 more forwards Jack and Conor McCarthy to back up the Best forward in the Country in Conor McManus. Its all about putting big performances together on the biggests days, get this right and we will go very close................The players need to believe their good enough and go for it..............Down,Tyrone,Armagh,Donegal even Derry when they had their good team went and won the All Ireland its time our team done the same................. IT HAS TO BE SAM!

hardcore (Monaghan) - 02/03/2017 14:13:54

1.RORY BEGGAN.............go long ffs. 2.KIERAN DUFFY..............back to defending one on one. 3.DREW WHYLIE..............will be grand 4.RYAN WHYLIE...............same as above 5.FINTAN KELLY...............better here can attack more 6.COLIN WALSHE.............stay back more and set up attacks 7.JAMES MEALIFF..............needs game time,will learn nothing sitting on the bench 8.KIERAN HUGHES............more needed,isnt playing to his ability 9.DARREN HUGHES..........lift head pass the ball,simple football 10.RYAN McANISPIE.........not getting enough game time,made to play sweeper 11.OWEN DUFFY...............will get room and will score 12.GAVIN DOOGAN...........work horse,sorely missed against Down,we need him 13.DERMOT MALONE........see Gavin Doogan. 14.JACK McCARRON...........needs to get confidence back 15.DARREN FREEMAN........perfect match to see what hes like,again will learn nothing sitting on the bench Conor McManus can come off the bench and kick 5 points if needed............... No point talking about who we can get in the next round.........has no one learned the lesson Down gave us............One Game at a time.

hardcore (Monaghan) - 04/07/2017 14:13:56