Kildare Forum

Popular Posts from SallinsMan

Mayo Upset At 7pm Throw In - 14 Like(s)
I read that Mayo CB are complaining about a 7pm throw in in Newry on Saturday week.... When are county boards going to stop this constant moaning and groaning about fixtures and venues? Home ADVANTAGE means you get the advantage of playing at home!! Home advantage does not mean you make it as comfortable as possible for the away team. It does not mean that everyone should be entitled to a ticket. It does not mean that the away team should be consulted for their opinion. It does not mean that fans should be accommodated. Down have every right to play their home game at 7, as have Antrim to play their game in Corrigan Park. Ironically, I don't seem to remember Mayo CB complaining about a 7pm throw in in Castlebar when Kildare fans had to travel in 2016. I'll give them this though, Mayo are some bunch for the "Why always me" / siege mentality.

SallinsMan (National) - 13/06/2019 10:00:38

Meath V Kildare - 8 Like(s)
I can only presume that the rubbish spouted on here by some Meath supporters doesn't reflect the general attitude in the county. The idea that Kildare and all these other counties mentioned view Meath as some sort of scalp is laughable. No county fears Meath anymore than about 8 to 10 other counties in the Division 2 realm. Kildare and Meath are currently pretty much at a similar level and for both managers; this game is their primary barometer for how they have progressed this season. Meath are probably coming into this game with a slight bit more pressure based on their scoring return against Wicklow, their poor run of results against Kildare in championship outings of late and maybe, most importantly, due to the fact that this is Andy McEntee's fourth / fifth year at the helm whereas Jack O'Connor is in his first year. Sometimes managers receive a bounce in their first year because of raised energy levels or renewed enthusiasm but this is probably the worst year ever to be a manager in his first year with a team. It's also an intriguing test of the age old predicament - whether it's better to be playing at a level above yourself and losing, all the while learning and hoping to improve by playing at the pace of better teams or play at your appropriate level and gain the confidence and cohesiveness that comes from winning and playing games on your own terms. Both teams seem to have unearthed a few new starlets in recent months that will hopefully come through on Sunday and produce good performances. The win v Wicklow will do Meath no harm at all after such a long string of games without a win. I think they will benefit from the confidence it brings. They seem to have a new blend of exciting new footballers along with the bit of metal and strength around the middle third. Kildare v Offaly was obviously a lot tighter. Offaly are a better team than Wicklow but Kildare would have expected to win with more to spare but they looked a little shapeless and seemed to suffer from a lack of focus. To that effect, hopefully we also see Mick O'Grady back fit for Sunday. Shea Ryan did very well v McNamee but I think he is a better corner back at the moment than full back. Kildare can take a lot from their wins over Cavan and Westmeath in the last 2 wins of the league when Kildare won both games well. It's important to note that both games had a large amount of pressure too with defeat in either placing Kildare in real relegation problems. They were two different kinds of games, the Cavan game being more open while the Westmeath was a cagier affair. Both teams will be confident going in on Sunday and neither will fear the other. I'd worry slightly about Kildare's game plan at the moment. I'm not sure if it's as clearly defined or worked out as Meath's and I think that could be the decisive factor in the game. If this was a normal season I would probably have swung in favour of Kildare winning by a point or two but I think Meath are further down the road at the moment than Kildare and I think they should shade it.

SallinsMan (National) - 09/11/2020 21:52:48

Dublin V Kildare - Is This Not Being Televised? - 7 Like(s)
The irony of being slagged off because we couldn't maintain the levels of the McGeeney era just show up the ignorance that certain parts of the GAA family have. I was and remain a McGeeney fan but the facts are that during his time in charge, in trying to keep pace with a then emerging Dublin machine, the senior set up he had in place pretty much bankrupted the county and set us back 4 or 5 years. He knew that was the only way we could compete and the years since have proved him right. The GAA world (media and grass roots alongside the top brass) at the time destroyed the county board, Kieran McGeeney and the wider Kildare GAA family for being too loose with our money. Mayo have had their financial issues too and they're a bigger commercial outfit than Kildare. By all means though, run the rest of the country down and slag them off for being shite. Don't worry about the real issues or the facts of the matter. Mere side shows to the drive for 5...

SallinsMan (National) - 08/06/2019 09:49:19

Kildare Vs Dublin - 6 Like(s)
No surprise but the "national media" has been incredibly disrespectful to Kildare this week. Everything from Dublin punishing us to them deciding just what they want to do to us. I even heard a less than knowledgeable sports presenter saying Kildare were undeserving of their spot and how Meath should be given another rattle. Modern players are beyond the "pinning the headlines on the dressing room door" crap but they do deserve respect. While the GAA (primarily) and the media (to some extent) are to blame for the current demise of competitive football across the country, the players pulling on the white jerseys are doing their very best to bring entertainment and competitiveness. In return for their efforts they get sneers and snide remarks. I would love nothing more than if Kildare were to win tomorrow. I'm under no illusions as to the likelihood of that but as long as the lads give of their best, I will stand with them. Let the media continue to ride the Croke Park / Dublin gravy train while it lasts. They're fitting bed fellows. Cill Dara Abú...

SallinsMan (National) - 31/07/2021 21:48:46

Dublin V Kildare - Is This Not Being Televised? - 6 Like(s)
It's truly amazing to see the selective ignorance of many Dublin supporters and the GAA hierarchy. Much like we all laugh at Donald Trumps delusions and guiltless lies, everyone without a blue tinted view or financial skin in the game can see what is going on here. They might scorn at Ewan McKenna but those who believe Dublin's dominance is a cyclical thing that came about purely because of good planning and good coaching are simply delusional themselves. Grants and financial supports Population Home / Away / Neutral pitch advantage Geography All these have impacted gaelic football much much more than any coaching regime or structural planning could ever dream of doing. To the dubs out there that are willing to at least listen to the other point of view, well done on your success, the fans nor the players are to blame for it but at least spare us all the hypocrisy of thinking that all of this is natural and fair.

SallinsMan (National) - 07/06/2019 14:29:52

League predictions - 5 Like(s)
Everyone predicting Meath to be promoted....HAHA. The storm did more damage than originally thought!!!

SallinsMan (National) - 17/10/2017 14:18:06

Dublin's Success Not Down To Money - GAA President - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "What is "every advantage"? You say population is natural so presumably we ignore that. You say that Dublin play the "vast majority" of their games at home. Utter nonsense. So far this year we have played half of our league games away and half of our championship games away. You mention "financial doping" but surely population size dictates funds allocation plus number of clubs, schools etc. Have you made any allowance for this and how much money would it take to turn Kildare into a 4 in a row team? Nice centre of excellence shaping up there by the way in Hawkfield."
Joxer, stick your head back into the sand if you truly believe that Dublin don't play the vast majority of their championship games at home. It has also been proven so many times that Dublin also got far more per head of capita for player development, than any other county in Ireland. Sean Kelly uses it as a badge of honour. I'm not looking at this from a Kildare point of view at all. This is bigger than my, or any other individual county for that matter. Kildare tried to keep pace with the Dublin senior team for a while and went almost bankrupt for it. I'm not sure I follow your Hawkfield analogy. The one thing I know is that every club in the county has paid yearly levies to build it. Much like clubs and supporters will foot the bill to rebuild St. Conleths Park to make it championship standard. Nearly every county in Ireland has the same capital funding model. How much did Dublin's center of excellence or stadium cost them? Oh wait!!

SallinsMan (National) - 14/06/2019 16:25:31

Kildare Vs Dublin - 4 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Du6s were hot and cold against Meath and got a good scare from what was a very comfortable position. That's what they'll be looking at, why didnt they kick on and go so long without scoring after being 11pts up. It can happen sometimes with having a large lead, Meath are a capable side when they are in good form. On their day are capable of hurting any team. No doubt Du6lin are missing a lot of talent at the minute, some of which is just out of their control but if they can limp through against Kildare and perhaps have John Small and Eoin Murchan available again things will improve. I believe they aren't far off. I'd be very happy with another 6pt win right now but we'll see, Its all about if Kildare can take advantage of Du6lin's current predictament. If Du6lin can get through Kildare and then see how the injuries are looking.. they'll have a good chanceof producing the goods but as it stands Du6lin are currently missing Small, McDaid, Cluxton and Murchan from an AI winning defense back in December. That's a big problem. Big gaping hole there and they definitely won't be winning the AI in 2021 without getting at least 2 of them back. It's great to be blooding new lads but they need more than that, that Meath game will bring them on but if Du6lin want to give 2021 a real go then they'll need some luck with their current injury list. It'll be some achievement winning/retaining Sam with their current defensive line up.. just don't see it unless they can bolster things at the back."
You're in a bad way when you start to use injuries as an excuse. Kildare are blighted with injuries too.

SallinsMan (National) - 26/07/2021 22:02:39

Kildare Vs Dublin - 4 Like(s)

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Why is it shocking…. Why would anyone pay in to see a game that will more than likely be a turkey shoot…? Are people really that stupid…??"
I take it you would have stayed at home for last years semi final so?!?

SallinsMan (National) - 27/07/2021 11:09:06

Dublin's Success Not Down To Money - GAA President - 3 Like(s)
I've stated it elsewhere and it's obvious to anyone wishing to look at this with a balanced view. Every advantage there is in football is in Dublin's favour. Some by design, some by natural effects. Dublin fans and officials cannot and will not acknowledge it as it is not in their interests. The GAA hierarchy and management have, to date, been unwilling to acknowledge it because it was / is not in their best interests. At some stage, when it's gone too far they will try to counter balance it. When that day comes will be roughly 4 / 5 years after they suffer financial harm. Parts of the media acknowledge it but at the same time see the financial benefit of keeping Dublin on their pedestal. Simply put, Dublin sells. There are a few in the media who see the damage that is being done but they have only a small platform. The rest of us are simply expected to sit back and look at video montages of Dublin players in Croke Park. We're expected to reach deep into our pockets to fund our own intercounty teams meagre endeavours whilst Dublin use their strong brand to leverage huge multi national corporations to sponsor their driving needs, their flying needs, etc., etc. We're expected to tow the line and proclaim just how wonderful the achievement of this group of players is all the while ignoring any imbalances there are in the system. Those who do not are bad losers or whingers or whatever else is thrown at us. That's fine but football is dying and it's dying because of an unnatural imbalance that has been man made. Those who choose have their eyes open can see that. Those that don't have only their own interests at heart.

SallinsMan (National) - 14/06/2019 10:57:47

Kildare Vs Dublin - 3 Like(s)
Indeed, it's been a funny build up to the game thus far. National commentators seem to forget all about Kildare's credentials at this stage and it's almost as if we're robbing the purists of Meath v Dublin. Simply put Kildare are the closest team to Dublin in Leinster and have proved that beyond doubt this year to date. the bigger question now is just how close are they to Dublin. I was at both games last week and Dublin destroyed Meath when it mattered so I'm not buying into this false narrative that Dublin are significantly weaker. What I think we're seeing is more of a humanisation of the team. The juggernaut that has steam rolled everyone before then for the last 6 years could not continue and the relentless hunger may have waned. Jim probably seen this coming and stepped aside while still on the up. They are more vulnerable to loss of form or concentration but when they're on it, they are the best team in Ireland. For Kildare to compete it will take a game plan that Kildare have not really tried under the current management, relentless press and pressure higher up the pitch. Kildare have not played that way for a while now and I can't see them changing their game plan in any significant way. Kildare are making progress and will continue to in the coming years but I don't think this game is set up for them to win.

SallinsMan (National) - 26/07/2021 22:28:50

Dublin's Success Not Down To Money - GAA President - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "Well give us your solution and bake in your solution for Meath's advantages over Carlow, Cork over Clare, Mayo over Leitrim etc while you are at it please. This cannot be a discriminatory action against one recently successful county obviously. So let's hear it."
The only advantages that any of the counties you list above are natural advantages. Population, geographic location and tradition. They cannot be helped. Unless we go down the road of splitting Dublin (which I disagree with) and amalgamating smaller counties, this can never be addressed. Meath do however have to travel to Carlow and vice verse. Same with Cork and Clare. They play each other home and away ever time they play. Mayo and Leitrim the same. None of them play the vast majority of their games at home either. None of the counties you mention suffer from the a funding gap the scale of which Dublin enjoy over the rest of the country. And that, unfortunately is the key. The financial doping that Dublin received directly from the GAA was completely out of wack with the rest of the country. There is a very strong argument to say that for a level playing field to exist between Carlow and Meath or Leitrim and Mayo, the GAA should actually be financially doping the smaller counties. The weaker counties. The counties with little or no tradition. They are the counties that need state of the art facilities and lots of professional coaches. They are the counties that need a financial support to overcome their brand deficiencies. As I said, Dublin enjoy every advantage there is to be got in football.

SallinsMan (National) - 14/06/2019 12:25:07

Dublin V Kildare - Is This Not Being Televised? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Of course there will be But unfortunately Provisional Championships almost across the board are suffering badly. Numbers are down practically across the board But this is ignored by some. For me the back door has greatly impacted their importance and devalued the competitions4 Do or Die versus Ahhh sure it'll be grand going through the back door."
A dub giving out about the back door is like Marie Antoinette offering the poor some cake... It's pretty simple to understand if you remove yourself from the Dublin bubble. There are 2 major factors effecting attendances - A player drain - Simply put the quality of players has dropped in recent years. There is far too many of our most talented footballers not on their respective county panels because the incentive just isn't there. The commitment needed now is simply not in line with the potential rewards. Some may say that this was always an issue but the more professional the preparation gets (and Dublin have lead the way in this regard) the more unlikely it is that smaller or weaker counties can to compete. There has never been a smaller number of counties capable of competing with the big boys. There are also many more options and distractions for 18 to 24 year old's in today's Ireland. The depopulation of much of Ireland also plays it's part. If the quality of the games isn't there, neither will the fans...simple. Public Apathy - Again, simply put, fans do not support corrupt competitions or forgone conclusions. Especially when it comes to putting hands in pockets and paying for the privilege to see it all play out! Take for instance a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids of 12 and 10) going to the match in Dublin from Newbridge this weekend. It will cost €170 just for public transport and match tickets. And for what? To see a Dublin team with all the advantages hammer a Kildare team? The back door for us mere mortal counties who have had to use it is the only way to offer a county like Kildare / Meath / Laois a chance to make any success or progress from this summer.

SallinsMan (National) - 07/06/2019 15:52:35

Dublin v Kildare - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "You're obviously new here if you think Wayno1 needs to get to more games, and actually the last two Leinster finals were €20 for the hill and not €25 like for this year, stand tickets were also €35 up to and including the day of the game the last couple of years too I'm pretty sure and not €40 on the day like for this Sunday. If he said anything factually incorrect then I'm sure he's open to correction. Stay classy ,dude."
Sorry Mrs. Wayno1, I promise I won't pick on him anymore.

SallinsMan (National) - 13/07/2017 01:58:40

Dublin v Kildare - 3 Like(s)
Holy Christ lads, what's this? A Dublin appreciation orgy? Between dubs falling over themselves to tell us about their immortal hero's with "All Ireland's coming out their ears" and Kildare fans wiping away the mess and begging for more. What's worse is the neutrals (Kerry and Meath mainly) contributing are being positive about Kildare yet they are getting more abuse from Kildare fans themselves. Its like coming between a victim and their abuser and they both attacking you for trying to interfere. Cop on to yourselves Kildare fans. Grow a pair and have a bit of faith. Our lads have fought bloody hard all year to get here. They are fully deserving of our support and respect. I can promise you WaynoI, the sight of Philly McMahon, Brogan, Kilkenny nor any of the Dublin team will strike fear. Our boys are top, top athletes too and wether you like it or not, will be full of confidence in their own ability. Such bullsh1t. I hope you enjoy the game WaynoI through your steamed up visor. Yes, we'll respect the opposition and Yes, we will try to curb your better players but if the dubs think we're heading up just to make up the numbers or bow down to anyone you have another thing coming to you. I'm expecting nothing less than 100% from our boys, and where that gets us I'll settle for but to be defeated before you even get out on the pitch is not supporting, it's simply pathetic.

SallinsMan (National) - 10/07/2017 19:27:48

Corrigan Park Or Nowhere - 2 Like(s)
Numbers likely to attend I'd imagine. Can't see too many people travelling from Kildare and not sure of the support that Antrim have these days. Ironically, drawing Kildare has helped them here. I'd imagine the CCCC would have let Antrim play this on the Falls Road if they wanted! Anyhow, it's only fair. Once the facilities at the ground are of intercounty standard (medical, players and decent access), Antrim should be allowed play their game wherever they think they can get an advantage. It sets a precedence though. If one of the counties with a small ground qualifies for the super 8's their home game must be sacrosanct.

SallinsMan (National) - 12/06/2019 13:49:47

Newbridge Or The Curragh - 2 Like(s)
Going to the game will not be a problem. Racing crowd will be in earlier than 3 or 4 when the heft pf the Tyrone traffic will be hitting Newbridge. The issue is leaving. Getting out of the Curragh will not be pretty and travelling northbound on the M7 around 7 / 7.30 will be a log jam. Curragh traffic entering the M7 at J12 will be added to at J10 by match traffic. The 7pm throw in would have meant that everything would be staggered a little better with the majority of the traffic leaving the Curragh gone by the time the match traffic will be leaving. 5pm throw in in a busy shopping town will be some craic!! Advice....get in early and get some shopping / dinner into you before the game. After the game, watch the Armagh game and let the traffic off ahead of you. In fairness, Newbridge is a great venue if you are there early or leaving late. Plenty to do to kill time. Whitewater parking is usually free if you produce a match programme.

SallinsMan (National) - 26/06/2019 11:37:16

Dublin V Kildare - Is This Not Being Televised? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To legendzxix:  "To be fair to Dublin, what are rural county boards doing about it? Donegal had a fair motion for Croke Park not to be used as a home venue during the Super 8s. Rural county boards abandoned their rural brethren in search of financial crumbs from the urban table."
They're part of the problem. Other county boards seem to have no fight or ambition left in them. The wider national press seem to be only happy to go along with the gravy train. A few years ago Kildare GAA secretary, Kathleen O'Neill, had the audacity to suggest that the financial doping that the GAA was administrating to Dublin was counterproductive for the greater good of our games. She was vilified in the media and received no support from anyone in GAA circles. County boards swing between trying to be the good servant that doesn't defy it's master but will kill it's competition as soon as crumbs hit the floor. Look at #NewbridgeOrNowwhere. Look at Donegal CB. They received hardly any support from other county boards. Those that don't like what I'm saying will present it as sour grapes but at some stage the fine wine will run out, the public will have had enough and the GAA will have a shell of a sport left. None of this is the Dublin teams fault, they are only taking advantage and who wouldn't. This is a problem that needs to be addressed from the top and addressed quickly.

SallinsMan (National) - 07/06/2019 15:33:04

Venues For All Ireland Final & Semis - 2 Like(s)
They're not even taking Dublin out of Croker for a Leinster semi final, not to mind an All Ireland semi final.

SallinsMan (National) - 11/11/2020 18:24:50

Dublin's Success Not Down To Money - GAA President - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "What centre of excellence? What stadium? Dubs want to play at the Neller, our home. Trust me. Put your self in our shoes for a minute. Home league games in a quarter full freezing stadium with no atmosphere v a tightly packed Neller with the fans breathing on opposition players' necks. Now think about this. Which would Dublin fans prefer? Which would opposition players prefer?"
Oh good God....Dublin doesn't have a center of excellence because they've be using state of the art facilities built by the college's around Dublin. Dublin's stadium is not fit for purpose so you've been using the one the GAA built. If the CB wanted to build their own, they could. Guess what. They don't want to. Therefore Dublin's capital outlay has been much smaller than most of the other counties of Ireland. This is what I talk about when I say Dublin has all the advantages. I will say this, they have been excellent at taking advantage of their advantages. In fairness to them. They are doing their job expertly.

SallinsMan (National) - 14/06/2019 23:00:27