Galway Forum

Popular Posts from festinog

NFL Division 1 - 11 Like(s)
I hope the Mayo posters are enjoying the spectacle of Meath lads complaining about dirty play costing them a win.

festinog (National) - 01/03/2020 18:03:05

Kerry V Tyrone. - 11 Like(s)

Replying To TheHermit:  "Well Tyrone keeping up their county's well earned reputation, those two umpires should be banned from ever standing on a GAA pitch again. What a great sport we have, drag a fella down on the ground by the neck and HE gets a yellow and subsequent red!! This sport a joke at this stage"
What's wrong hermit? Don't like it when the refs don't give ye every opportunity you need to win? A defeat was well overdue for this over-hyped Kerry team.

festinog (National) - 09/02/2020 16:37:22

Time For Someone In GAA Authority To Say STOP - 11 Like(s)
And yet counties outside Leinster with smaller populations and access to fewer amenities manage to compete if not beat Dublin in the latter stages of the tournament. Similarly, how many Leinster teams are going to be in Division 1 next year? The problem lies with Leinster football, not the competition as a whole. Sort yerselves out and don't be looking to HQ to step in.

festinog (National) - 29/05/2022 18:35:48

Kerry V Tyrone. - 9 Like(s)

Replying To TheHermit:  "Abused the umpires?!!! If I was him they'd have black eyes, commendable restraint for such a young man in the face of that utter injustice. It's the umpires that should be facing someone's...."
Listen to yourself! You sound ridiculous, but I have to say, I appreciate the laugh you gave me. "he'd have black eyes"... priceless. You're funny.

festinog (National) - 09/02/2020 18:16:06

Armagh Vs Galway - 8 Like(s)

Replying To updwell:  "Weren't Galway doing a lot of diving though and Walsh on the ground was punching an Armagh man several times and get away with it. I know your a bit excited but you don't have to be ignorant."
Arra stop. Walsh was targeted the whole game, and while both players would normally have got a yellow for that, that would have reduced Armagh to 13 as their man was already carded, and I think the ref was giving Walsh a little latitude after been felled off the ball ten minutes earlier with no consequence to the Armagh player who took him out.

festinog (National) - 26/06/2022 18:11:34

Dublin Fans Behaviour - 7 Like(s)
Thank God for social media where yet another mole hill can entertain delusions of grandeur. Happened before, will happen again, no county is immune, let it be dealt with on the day, and let us all get on with our lives.

festinog (National) - 13/01/2020 17:46:19

Galway Football thread - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Donaldtrump:  "Galway ok at best. Meath dire. Neither Finnerty nor Tomo are near good enough. McHugh & Molloy will be found out at the back against better teams also. Not much in midfield either. A win is always good granted, but let's ground ourselves and really understand where we are!"
Jaysus, you're some craic. First game of the league, in dire conditions, and we won. That's all that counts on the last weekend in January. No need for your cold water, there was plenty of that falling out of the skies.

festinog (National) - 30/01/2022 17:42:40

Dublin V Mayo - 7 Like(s)

Replying To yew_tree:  "Don't worry Belclare and Galway fans...I can't see Dublin loosing this in Croke Park. Mayo will be happy to have almost secured div 1 status for a 23rd year in a row. I'd almost call it a free game for us, throw the young lads in again and see how they get on. Horan will go for a blend of experience and youth."
23 years in a row? Some achievement! It's embarrassing from a Galway perspective to admit that in that same timeframe all we've managed to do is bring Sam west twice.

festinog (National) - 11/02/2019 14:19:05

Roscommon Vs Galway - 7 Like(s)

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "We will do our talking on the day."
Yet here you are.

festinog (National) - 14/06/2018 01:07:56

Galway Vs Dublin - 7 Like(s)
Some touchy red fingered dubs on here. Keep the hits coming lads!

festinog (National) - 18/03/2018 16:40:42

Kerry V Dublin - 6 Like(s)

Replying To centerfield:  "who was supposed to be picking up McCaffrey today"
His dad. Don't tell me he forgot again? His ma will be livid.

festinog (National) - 01/09/2019 21:45:06

Tipperary and Galway "fans" - 6 Like(s)
The worst thing about the Internet is that it gives a platform to the pub bore who once upon a time could be left to grumble to himself in the corner while the rest of us got on with appreciating how lucky we are to have so many people willing to give their time and energy to a game for which they receive not one penny.

festinog (National) - 14/08/2016 16:15:07

Move Dublin Into Connacht - 6 Like(s)
Makes sense when you think of it. No more than our hurlers were moved into Leinster to give them more intensive challenges (and hasn't that worked out beautifully?), Dublin are currently twiddling their thumbs in the Leinster football championship. Why, I even just read one of their posters who said "Leinster is just about turning up and taking care of that without picking up injuries" (http://hoganstand.com/Forum/FindPost?MessageID=2087986). What's the point in that? If Dublin want to stay top of the heap, it's in their interest to head west young men! Connacht will have three Div 1 teams next year. Time for the Leinster championship to be dissolved and Dublin to come play west of the Shannon for a change. We'll even let you have some home fixtures straight off the bat.

festinog (National) - 25/03/2018 23:47:20

Dublin V Kerry - 6 Like(s)
Watching the Dublin keeper shake the posts for the last kick of the game was embarrassing stuff. Pure school-boy nonsense. I'm surprised the umpire let him away with it, to be honest. And don't get me started on his "injury" in the first half.

festinog (National) - 10/07/2022 18:49:10

Move To National Forum Only Model - 6 Like(s)
Disappointing. The National Forum is only good if you enjoy watching every thread getting derailed by inter-county biases and rivalry. The county forums were where the genuine discussions were happening. Have a look at the new thread on the national forum titled "Galway Hurling" or something like that; the initial post by a Tribesman, and every other post from someone outside the county. It's only a matter of time before it becomes a mess of slagging, WUMing, and trolling, whereas yesterday on the Galway page there was a genuine discussion going on about who'd get appointed to the manager position. Poor choice lads.

festinog (National) - 30/09/2021 15:37:44

Connacht Championship 2019 - 5 Like(s)
68 years you say? Remarkable, when you consider the quality of their players and strength of their support. Sixty-eight years... wow. Just wow. Under American cultural resource protection law, that's old enough to qualify as an pre-historic event.

festinog (National) - 20/05/2019 17:37:01

Galway Vs Dublin - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "Take the maroon glasses off kid. Plenty of pulling dragging run blocking etc from Galway. They clearly wanted to disrupt Dublin at all costs but it didn't work. Both teams were nighling. It will be intetesting to see what happens in the large open space of Croke Park."
Not denying that at all joxer, but the full on 'stop the game at all costs to run out the clock' wrestling was beyond the pale. Literally and figuratively. Playing in dublin's home stadium with its open spaces will definitely be a huge test for this team, but given what they've achieved so far this year, it's all to play for. Shame some of the Corofin lads won't be back for it, but things are shaping up nicely for us come May 13. And being accused of bias by a supporter of the other team is a little pot, kettle, black, no?

festinog (National) - 18/03/2018 17:32:56

Deserved Red Card - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "What does arra mean?"
Thanks for asking! It's an idiom, a figure of speech common to the Irish vernacular or Hiberno-English, if you prefer. You'll hear it used frequently the further west you travel from the area historically known as the Pale. Welcome to Ireland, I hope you enjoy your stay and if the locals use any more big words you're not familiar with, post them here and we'll explain it to you. I imagine we'll have to start with another local idiom you've probably heard a lot already, "gobshite".

festinog (National) - 17/03/2019 21:20:12

Andy Mcentee And The Referee - 5 Like(s)
Just what the world needed, another thread for some of the Meath lads to have a good cry. Man-up lads. If this is what ye're like off the field, no wonder ye're lads are bossed around when ye're on it. I get that relegation is a real blow, and it's not long since my own county team was in the absolute doldrums of mediocrity, but this whining is unbecoming.

festinog (National) - 02/03/2020 23:26:23

Galway vs Offaly (Hurling) - 5 Like(s)

Replying To crafty:  "A little English lesson for you sir. (It could of went better) is not proper English and it makes no sense. You should say (It could have gone better)"
Did someone call for a pedant? Splendid! Happy to oblige: Sir, direct quotes ought to be enclosed by quotation marks, not brackets. Also, he did not "say" anything, he wrote it, consequently your final sentence ought to (note use of modal verb) have read 'you should have written...' And on a final point of correction: this is a GAA discussion board where people often write in the vernacular Hiberno-English. But you may rejoice in the knowledge that I'm sure there are other websites where people can go who wish to ponder the finer points of Her Majesty's English.

festinog (Galway) - 06/06/2017 05:34:51