Dublin Forum

Popular Posts from Dubsfan28

Kildare V Mayo - 9 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "link There must be something stirring and this has tipped it off. A lot of angry posts and rightfully so. We're starting to sound like GAA hippies wanting some changes made. Even RoyalDunne is backing Kildare. A beautiful thing."
HAHA. Never thought I'd see the day myself lol. But someone has to take a stand, we can't continue like this. Rules are rules. Kildare were drawn first, they have home advantage unless they want to change to a venue OF THEIR choosing. They don't. My one issue with this is mayo, they must stand with a county, it's Kildare this time, but as this mayo team recedes it could be mayo soon."]TBF, Mayo aren't the bad guys in this sorry mess at all and nor should they be painted like ones or guilt tripped into anything.

Dubsfan28 (National) - 25/06/2018 23:46:09

Mayo V Meath - 9 Like(s)

Replying To achara:  "Surely they'll easily take leinster with that sort of squad RD? Some squad!"
Anything less would be a failure...

Dubsfan28 (National) - 31/05/2021 10:41:14

NFL Division 2 - 8 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Not more second half collapse, fitnesses at highest level we have ever seen , a settled back 6 that is no longer easy to get past. Just a few of the many improvements made under mcentee. Glad to have been of assistance to you."
Don't leave us in suspense RD, what are the other many improvements?

Dubsfan28 (National) - 15/01/2019 17:10:36

Mayo V Meath - 8 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "How could a amateur team beat the night of Dublin Utd/city and all their money and professionalism in EVERY WAY ??"
The second coming himself, Andy McEntee, on his white horse I thought?

Dubsfan28 (National) - 31/05/2021 12:21:41

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 7 Like(s)

Replying To greysoil:  "They had a chance to govern but didn't really engage in any meaningful way. If the ever got any power, I would be out of here like a rat out of an aqueduct! Truly would be the end of our great Republic."
You would actually up sticks and leave based on what political party is power? Less of the hyperbole please.

Dubsfan28 (National) - 24/08/2020 13:19:54

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 7 Like(s)

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "The anti-SF clowns on this site have to ponder more about democracy. The largest party on the island will have a huge say in our future and always demonstrate respect for our games and our culture. I don't care who you vote for."
SF don't need do a huge amount in opposition currently, because the current administration are doing it for them with their complete ineptitude on a lot of issues since it was cobbled together in June.

Dubsfan28 (National) - 24/08/2020 13:28:41

Mayo V Kerry - 7 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You're correct Llaw. I was wrong and must apologize to cillian . It was the linesman's fault, can't remember who it was exactly, think it might have been Anthony Nolan. Gough was the ref that day and who's a fussy ref but usually consistent but was all over the shop that day just like he was the year previous when we played Dublin. He pulled us on some ridiculous stuff in those 2 games, things he was letting yer selves and Dublin get away with. It's the inconsistencies that drive us supporters and players nuts. Anyway safe journey to you and your fellow Mayo supporters Llaw ye are very welcome in the kingdom."
Has there ever been a time when Kerry folk are not moaning about a ref? Seems like every defeat it's always a refs bad call. Next you'll be saying Super Joe got a thing or two wrong reffing games in the past ;)

Dubsfan28 (National) - 09/07/2019 23:47:06

Congratulations To Limerick - 6 Like(s)
Who are the begrudgers red thumbing the messages of congrats to Limericks? Oddballs.

Dubsfan28 (National) - 19/08/2018 21:28:42

Dublin V Louth - What A Farce - 6 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "Remember what i said i about trolls, i wouldn't bite if i was you Jim!"
It's not worth trying to engage in fools like that alright. Just leave them be and watch them foam at the mouth when we keep winning. I think it's cute.

Dubsfan28 (National) - 30/05/2019 12:54:14

Football Championship 2021 - 6 Like(s)

Replying To avonali:  "in the name of God how is somebody posting something in an. anonymouss chatroom that is probably going to be read by a few people going to "undermine you". So username is on a mission to bring down the whole. Kerry 2021 campaign and Kerry fans by. posting in HS??? Are you on the shrooms or what????"
I'll take some too for the weekend ;)

Dubsfan28 (National) - 24/06/2021 09:31:09

Posters Crossing The Line - 6 Like(s)

Replying To greysoil:  "Have noticed an emerging unsavoury tone by some posters of late. Indeed, what is surprising is the posts that are being generated by users that would have appeared level headed before. There is no place for personal slights on players or indirectly on their families. Important to remember that these are amateurs giving a big chunk of their time to their counties & for our entertainment. Keep the slagging general. We never know the impact of flippant commentary. #Give respect. Get respect."
I can't believe what seemed like a tongue in cheek post has got this much "controversy"

Dubsfan28 (National) - 05/06/2019 00:26:36

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Dreadful stuff. Meath petrified at a hammering and only interested in keeping the score down. When their first score in the 32nd minute is greeted with such praise you know Gaelic football is in dire straits. Shame on the GAA for reducing us to this."
How did the GAA "force" Meath to play like that?

Dubsfan28 (National) - 23/06/2019 19:52:32

Dublin V Louth - What A Farce - 5 Like(s)
Thoughts and prayers for Kerry GAA during this very difficult hardship. #kerrygaalivesmatter.

Dubsfan28 (National) - 02/06/2019 16:56:08

All Ireland Final 18 - Dublin V Tyrone - 5 Like(s)

Replying To legendzxix:  "Definitely exhausting with against province's advancement in sport science."
Must be exhausting typing about us all the time, gets you all tingly...if you know what I mean? There are movies for that.

Dubsfan28 (National) - 23/08/2018 20:11:09

Merry Christmas And Happy New Year - 5 Like(s)
What sort of gowls down thumb posts wishing people a Happy Christmas?

Dubsfan28 (National) - 19/12/2019 22:59:34

Dublin Vs Monaghan - 5 Like(s)

Replying To wexico15:  "Seems a bit unnecessary to have each Dublin football national league game have its own thread on the national section...."
Yet here you are commenting on it.....

Dubsfan28 (National) - 05/02/2020 14:40:01

Indiscipline In GAA - 5 Like(s)

Replying To munstermaniac71:  "Was anyone else struck with how the indiscipline was handled in the rugby match against wales towards how it is in gaa matches. gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 548 - 08/02/2021 08:55:10 When you say indiscipline are you just referring to red card or in general? You'll have to expand on what you're asking as it isn't a direct comparison. I'm guessing you're referring to Peter O'Mahoney's red card. Well the ref waved play on in real time. It was when the TMO suggested he needed to review it that he (rightly) issued the red card. Are you suggesting we need a similar facility in the GAA? cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 4335 - 08/02/2021 09:51:42 It would be no harm to have extra help for officials but changing rules and working far more to help all officials and how everyone treats them would be a start Didn't watch it; what did you notice? Generally, any rugby games I've watched, the big difference for me has been the refs, who seem less partisan than our refs, and they are more inclined to explain a decision. Our refs would consider it a humiliation if they had to explain anything to the players. essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 845 - 08/02/2021 10:19:35 Refs are taught in rugby to explain decisions and work with players. Does that happen in GAA? Fans, players, coaches all dont in general work with/treat officials with respect. is it also rugby refs have more time to explain things, things are happening at a much slower pace, if gaa refs stopped play 5/10/15 times during a game to explain a call to players, there would be uproar on the line and in the stand, it weouild suit defenders, Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 1963 - 08/02/2021 11:06:53 Rugby isnt that much slower and yes the offside law and how many players will be closer helps in some cases but GAA refs in hurling/gaelic should be able to explain decisions to players far more than they currently do. Let's also compare apples and oranges while we are here. TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 6956 - 08/02/2021 11:35:39 Why so negative? Why not discuss the issue rather than post this type of post I was impressed for so many reasons. In the rugby...... 1. No irish players surrounded the ref pleading with him. 2. Everyone was calm. 3. The correct decision was arrived at. 4. The player accepted the decision. 5. Management accepted the decision. 6. The irish commentators and analysts accepted the decision. 7. No talk of ruining the game, that he ruined it as a spectacle, that they are taking the manliness out of the game, of the player's great disciplinary record etc. We could learn a lot from it. gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 548 - 08/02/2021 12:14:12 Players dont surround ref much because its drilled into them from a young age. I don't like comparing sports as all sports are different in terms of the flow of play. For example, you couldn't referee a game of hurling in the same way that you referee a game of rugby. I do think that GAA players are getting better in terms of not abusing referees, at least at intercounty level. And in fairness to players, most players these days focus more on playing the game than playing the man as in the past. Personally, I think that the lack of an edge in the game has affected it as spectacle. The rivalries that once existed between clubs and counties is a thing of the past, some would say that it is for the better as the rivalries contributed to people potentially being badly injured which no one wants but at the same time I miss that bit of an edge that existed in matches in the past. Rugby is more a game of attrition these days where power trumps skill. wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1200 - 08/02/2021 12:43:04 Rugby is not at all these days about power trumping skill. The most successful side in international rugby is New Zealand and while they have many powerful players they are so dominant because they are the most skillful and innovative the majority of time."
Ormond?

Dubsfan28 (National) - 08/02/2021 15:30:02

Mayo V Kerry - 5 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya ye have 4 in a row bought and paid for by the GAA. Congrats on buying the 5. Thank god we did the 5 under our own steam."
Careful now, I sense another appeal coming from Concern on behalf of poor David Clifford and the other poor underprivileged lads of Kerry GAA ;)

Dubsfan28 (National) - 10/07/2019 15:06:25

Kilkenny V Galway - 5 Like(s)
Now there's a proper hurling match today.

Dubsfan28 (National) - 09/06/2019 15:52:29

Why Is Kerry Called The Kingdom? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To TheHermit:  "Of course you think its funny mate, the old - oh I'm a reasonable, balanced, honest broker facade you try so hard to maintain slips away whenever the KINGDOM is a topic of conversation on here..."
There's nothing to slip from you. You seem like a moaning, uptight, petulant child. What you hear is what you get with you I suppose, and you're consistently like that all the time so tip of the hat to you, good sir.

Dubsfan28 (National) - 23/08/2018 22:59:43