Down Forum

Popular Posts from topdownfan

Kerry V Tyrone - 2 Like(s)
Good luck to Kerry on Sunday , hoping for a good game .

topdownfan (National) - 08/08/2019 22:32:12

Championship 2017 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "He was very harsh on all right the hermit he very rarely gave a free or advantage but we did foul a fair bit but then so did Mayo except they got away with it. But it's ok as he'll come out and apologise for it next spring I'm sure. He didn't ref both teams the same at all."
Not a great ref ,I've losted all interest now for a few weeks really thought Jerry would of done it today , Cairan brannigan from Down would of been my choice to ref today ,

topdownfan (Kerry) - 26/08/2017 22:49:48

Kerry 2017 - 2 Like(s)
Well lads / ladies how is things going in the kingdom for the year ahead

topdownfan (Kerry) - 04/01/2017 22:09:08

Aidan O'Shea Diving - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "What I find hard to stomach is the holier than thou attitude of some of the posters on the Aidan O Shea incident. It's as if their county players are knights in shining armour who would never dream of cheating. Latter day Sir Galahads to a man you might say. Now, not having access to a rule book, I'm not sure of the actual rule that Aidan is accused of breaking on Saturday. Seanie bluntly calls it cheating but I would think that the rule would relate to something like "seeking to gain an unfair advantage". A heinous crime heretofore unknown to the GAA outside such barbarous areas as Donegal and Tyrone. Have any any of you ever witnessed a member of your team seek to gain an unfair advantage? Has any of your players ever moved a free a few metres forward behind the officials back, stood too near a free taker to put him off, having first had a few friendly words in his ear. Seeking to gain an unfair advantage. How about time wasting, a cunning ploy when it's your own team, a dastardly deed when it's the opposition. Seeking to gain an unfair advantage. I don't suppose any of your whiter than white defenders have ever, out of sight of the officials, grabbed hold of the back of an opponents shirt to stop him making a run? How about feigning injury to upset the opposing teams momentum? Ring any bells? Joe was outraged today. Never saw such a thing before. A blight on the GAA. Manna from heaven for Joe, Aidan being such a lovely target, a prelude to another lazy article in one of the Sunday papers. Just out of a thought did any of you see the sly push in the back of the Galway number eight which led directly to a Roscommon point. Did the Roscommon lads who pilloried Aidan O Shea on here come on to apologise on behalf of their countyman and suggest that Galway should have won by a point. I would suggest the "we got away with one there ha ha" approach prevailed. Fair enough but glasshouses and stones springs to mind. Some of the posts were disingenuous, some were mischievous and if I wasn't such an innocent I would think that some might even have an agenda. You know how it goes, throw plenty of s**t at AOS and enough might stick to influence referees down the line. But then that would be seeking an unfair advantage and we all know that's the preserve of Aidan O Shea and his ilk now don't we."
Agree 100% with you here ,

topdownfan (National) - 10/07/2016 21:36:34

Tyrone breaking from parade - 2 Like(s)
As a lot know I don't have much love for Tyrone ,but this year I actually had respect for the the way they where playing But yesterday sitting in croker and to see them breaking away for parade was totally disrespectful to the band and the occasion !!

topdownfan (National) - 28/08/2017 23:12:13

Kerry V Dublin - 2 Like(s)
Well Kerry folk , how's all the nerves going , really looking forward to Sunday hopefully the result goes the right way , tickets big issue this time of year as usual, hopefully all genuine supporters get sorted - Kerry flag flying high in County Down .. Up the kingdom

topdownfan (Kerry) - 27/08/2019 21:18:14

Spillane on Brolly - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Seansy48:  "Joncarter doesn't like Tyrone Joe Brolly doesn't like Tyrone Match made in heaven!"
Let's be honest not to many like Tyrone only themselves

topdownfan (National) - 24/09/2016 19:19:47

All Ireland Championship 2016 - 1 Like(s)
Well lads / ladies how's things down in the kingdom, didn't get my annual trip to Munster final , there's always next year , apologies for that Down boyo on the national page from Down don't think he knows much about the game to be honest, hope you have the craic with you lads in Dublin come August/September!!

topdownfan (Kerry) - 16/07/2016 12:38:55

Where to next? - 1 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Sound man Ky and I feel the same way about the management, I'm afraid their negativity and fear will seep into the young players. I loved the way Clifford came out around the half forward line the last day when things weren't working for him in the corner, I'd love to give him a free license to roam and not just tie him down in the full forward line. Ya hopefully the GAA will sort out something before the weekend, if the weather is as bad as they're expecting then I can't see it going ahead."
Well how's things kingdomboy ,,, talking about Clifford, I reckon he is the best talent even seen , we went to see Monaghan and Kerry and it was great to see him in the 2nd half,,, looking forward to seeing him in the summer

topdownfan (Kerry) - 27/02/2018 19:50:47

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Alls good topdownfan thanks for asking and how are you old stock? Ya Clifford is a special talent no doubt and we look forward to watching him develope in the years to come. I like the cut of connaire Harrison for yer boys a real old style jinky forward and as tough as old leather as well. Are you planning on heading to Dublin at the weekend?"
Ah will have to head to Cavan to support our lads , could be looking at div 3 next year after defeat to Clare , Harrison not bad but getting suspended after Cork match could cost up bigtime , anyway will be heading to Munster final this year I would think , some good young talent coming threw for you lads now Sean o Se a special talent to

topdownfan (Kerry) - 27/02/2018 20:35:58

Kerry have no chance of winning All-Ireland - 1 Like(s)

Replying To 2setsofrules:  "Just ask Tyrone, Mayo and Cork people if Kerry get favourable refereeing decisions. All 3 teams have lost to Kerry in recent times due to being on the receiving end of poor refereeing. Surprised that you are not supporting the Ulster teams left now that Down have played their annual two games. P.S Good to see you posting again!"
Kerry beat these teams with pure footballing class , also obvious you don't know me aswel as you think!! Cause you would know who I be supporting!!! , you some Down supporter by the way !

topdownfan (National) - 14/07/2016 20:54:25

Good Luck to Senior & Minor Teams on Sunday - 1 Like(s)
Good luck tomorrow to both Kerry teams really looking forward to 2 good games , up the kingdom

topdownfan (Kerry) - 27/08/2016 22:01:48

The fastest footballers past & present - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Mickey Linden was a speed merchant but a very talented, capable footballer as well. His darting, in and out runs are memorable. Superb footballer."
Have to agree with this ,, Mickey didn't believe in cutting inside a player he just kept her lite around the outside,, came on for mayobridge thirds 2 weeks ago and scored 4 points from play , unbelievable talent

topdownfan (National) - 18/07/2017 19:41:57

Kerry have no chance of winning All-Ireland - 1 Like(s)

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Administrator ? Most people on these forums have your number TopDownFan - I would hazard a guess that the most common word on most of your posts is Tyrone no matter what the topic - and I include words like: a, is are, and. You really need to take a long hard look at yourself. Like 2setsof rules says your false love for Kerry is exactly that."
By the way my friends in Kerry also know this is rubbish you talking about me not being a genuine supporter of them

topdownfan (National) - 17/07/2016 20:57:54

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Lads I think the game is being postponed till Sunday week now so ye might be able to make it after all , let's hope fitz doesn't name the team till the Saturday night if that's the case as Jim Gavin won't name his team till the day of the match, there is no point giving the dubs anymore extra advantage imo."
Yea see the match on Sunday , so means good weekend of football over to Cavan on Saturday evening then down to croker on Sunday , Great , also added bonus Ciarán Brannigan from Down is ref , good friend of our family , first time he out against Dublin since the Connolly incident last year ,

topdownfan (Kerry) - 02/03/2018 19:28:36

Kerry V Tyrone. - 1 Like(s)
See Tyrone back to their old tactics doing whatever it takes to win , am sure Kerry will remember today and will have the last laugh later in the year hopefully

topdownfan (National) - 09/02/2020 18:03:34

Tyrone singing the National Anthem - 1 Like(s)

Replying To fainleog:  "Tyrone are good Gaeil but should do better in the parade."
I will 2nd that

topdownfan (National) - 01/09/2017 21:03:23

All Ireland Championship 2016 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Hey topdownfan howr you getting on? You didn't miss too much in the Munster final in fairness , there was no buzz around the place and the game was pure dead, although the minor game was very good for sure. Are you having a spot of bother on the main page? I stay away from it my self as couldn't stand the same rubbish been thrown at Kerry and arguing with the same ejits. Although I might make a come back some day ."
Keeping good thanks , yeah if you do make a come back you can give me a bit of backing against that boyo lol

topdownfan (Kerry) - 16/07/2016 16:31:32

Sean Cavanagh- Greatest Player of Modern Era? - 1 Like(s)
Don't be getting carried away about him now folks,, a great player but would tend to take the odd dive !!! Look at Tyrone Down match in Omagh couple of years ago to get a replay

topdownfan (National) - 23/07/2016 22:52:59

Down footballers 2017 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To kickpass:  "The Newstalk sports show, Off the Ball is discussing Down football tonight. From the advanced clip it sounds like it's going to expose the absolute shambles that the County Board has been for the last decade. Pity it won't be heard in much of Down but I suspect it will be picked up by local media and will hopefully lead to a complete clear out."
All that stuff won't matter,,, this stuff needs to be sorted out within the county itself,,, before its to late

topdownfan (Down) - 15/02/2017 21:22:16