Down Forum

Popular Posts from germac

Armagh Vs Galway - 8 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "A great game ruined by another disgraceful brawl involving Armagh. I'm sure that you'll be banging on about the anti-Ulster "Dublin based media" when it's all over the press tomorrow. LOL"
Yea , not sure what it is about Armagh always being stuck in the row, but it does always seem to be them, Hefty bans need to be handed out and that needs to be seen, The Armagh guy, who played in the league for them , was wearing a a black bodywarmer today, should NEVER put a gaa shirt on again , for trying to pull the eyes out of Comer, thuggery of the worst form,

germac (National) - 26/06/2022 16:56:32

Fermanagh GAA thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To KeshGFC:  "So I think we have found our level .. drawing with Wexford and collapsing to Antrim .. i mean Antrim .. I mean carlsberg don't do collapses but if they did Antrim would be the template … anyway I am putting away my lofty notions for the county team that I had as I left breffni park a few short weeks ago .. as the results we've had since then make this a very jeckyll and hyde season for us… it's time for the real Fermanagh team stand up .. if we can"
Very disrespectful comments about Antrim , they do have 10 Ulster titles you know not a bad template i would say

germac (National) - 05/06/2023 21:40:33

Aido O Shea - 5 Like(s)
Reguardless who starts for Mayo ,they need to be at it from the get go, A good fast start is going to be vital, because if ye go 5 6 points down i would fear the worst , Also if ye dont concede goals, i think youll win, So please god Mayo will get over the line ,, The best of luck

germac (Mayo) - 05/09/2021 20:05:23

Lee Keegan - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "My own thoughts mo chara, on reflection the part about Mayo being celebrity losers may have been in my head from something Brolly or someone else said some time ago, not sure exactly but the point is still valid and it describes that Mayo team to a tee. Nothing against Mayo but they way the media fawn over them especially RTE is nauseating. Anyway good luck to Lee in retirement, I'm glad to see the back of him suppose that's as good a compliment as any. I rem him clotheslining Mark McHugh in the 2012 final, then Lee winks at some of his team mates, sure amn't I the great defender, he wasn't smiling or winking much after he final whistle though."
What a stupid post

germac (National) - 10/01/2023 10:01:01

Monaghan GAA thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Neartheborder:  "Laughing boys of Ulster. Taking a kicker back from US who's not fit to walk and can't save shots. Division 3 around the corner."
i think thats a bit of a smart alec comment fella , theres no such thing as in your words laughing boys of Ulster, Monaghan have always carried themselves well and won a few hard earned Ulsters along the way , yes Derry are on the crest of a wave right now and that is great to see , but look have a bit of respect and manners to all of those teams who train just as hard as yourselves , good man mind yourself

germac (National) - 07/04/2024 22:10:36

Derry V Galway - 5 Like(s)
Well done Galway , the better team by a mile , Derry were awful , playing like robots , Gallagher style, Yes they won Ulster and fair play for that , but at this stage of the C ship , players need to be playing off the cuff, a bit more of lets go for it , but not Derry sticking to the robotic plan , anyway tomorrows game should be way better,

germac (National) - 09/07/2022 21:51:37

Down Football thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "One of the most classless interviews I've ever read from Eugene Branagan."
Yea , shocking from him,I spoke to a lot of men today , and to say their dissapointed is an understatement , For him to say , maybe if there was a different manager, was such an insult to James, a man who stepped up to the plate when needed, something Eugene has never had the guts to do , He also said that theres a core of players that dont know how to win, Why dosent Eugene and his mates from Kilcoo join the County setup and show us all that winning mentality, and move Down football foward ,or maybe he is unsure that that he might not cut it with the real top county players . He should take the example of other top club players in Ulster , the Slaughtneil , and Glen men have got Derry going again among others, Real men , with their presence the have lifted Derry , and were there a couple of years ago when they were in DIV 4 and DIV 3, Eugene and his mates would do well to take a leaf out of their book, To be honest i dont think he has the stomach for County football, maybe he will prove me wrong

germac (National) - 04/05/2022 21:50:48

Meath 2024 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Just had a quick glimpse there now on pp for all ire betting. 125/1 is Meath price which surprised me tbh. As we are the only team in theory who are actually qualified. Last year we were 80/1, previous year 66/1 . Same year before. Think the best in past number of years was 40/1. Now I'm not saying that the odds matter as we could be 20/1 we still wouldn't win it. But rather than been a little improved from been guaranteed all ire football it seems the heads in pp believe we are worse off this year. we are same price as Down who are highly unlikely to qualify for all ire, and we'll behind Kildare and cork who are no certs to be involved either. I can't understand the thinking behind it in the slightest."
Thats alright, but dont get your knickers in a knot over pp

germac (Meath) - 15/10/2023 11:06:56

All Ireland Club Final, Kilmacud V Glen (Derry) - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Jack L:  "The GAA did show leadership. They did not interfere (as they could not in any case). There is a process for dealing with these issues. The CCCC could not initiate the inquiry. An objection had to be raised to initiate process. As i have said previously there are procedures in place for dealing with these incidents. Matches are won and lost on the pitch and not in the boardroom. Congrats to KC on thrir success. Record books will show that they are All Ireland champions for the 2022/23 season. Glen gave it a good shout and will no doubt be back. There was no need for this sorry saga over the past few weeks. Its over now TG. Let's enjoy the season ahead"
Yes Kilmacud are AI champions and there will always be the AH BUT about that win, I dont agree matches are won or lost on the pitch, in this case a massive cock up was made by officals, but can i say Hard luck to Glen who carried themselves very well throughout Ulster and All iteland semi and final

germac (National) - 04/02/2023 20:51:15

U20 All Ireland - 4 Like(s)

Replying To panamasam:  "Still odds against in a place Cork for AI (odds on in a place too). Still value personally have them as 4/7 shots. Offaly deserved Leinster winners but beat an average Dublin team by their standards who struggled against both Wicklow and Meath. Offaly themselves got a stroke of luck with Brandon Kelly going off for Westmeath when the game was a coin toss. Not seen any of Down who have x factor on the sideline but no doubt they had a handy draw and play a Monaghan team with great character but really should have been beaten by a good but not brilliant Donegal team. If like me you like to cover yourself a small saver on the Rossies be the way to go but don't see this Cork side been beaten."
Hard to figure this post, Utter nonsense

germac (National) - 01/08/2021 14:51:41

Monaghan GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To IrvinestownMkII:  "Penalties are no way to sort out a game. Monaghan's progress is just down to luck. I bet they not go much further!"
Talking out your pipe there , The rules are the same for everyone Monaghan played by them and won no ands ifs or buts

germac (National) - 01/07/2023 21:28:23

Lee Keegan - 3 Like(s)

Replying To GreenandRed:  "It's a forum. That's his opinion."
Your right , all be it a stupid one

germac (National) - 11/01/2023 11:42:01

Armagh Vs Galway - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Armagh should not be singled out and blamed here. A few decisions went against them during the game and as many Galway fellas were swinging and throwing digs. There will be the usual element who will try and castigate the Ulster team."
Rubbish , im a Down and Ulster man, reguardless where the thuggery comes from it needs to be called out,

germac (National) - 26/06/2022 19:06:41

Jimmy's Winning Matches - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Saynothing:  "Glad to see Jim seen sense, who in their right mind would get involved with a a AFL scout and a team that's been Finitoed for years."
One sure thing were going to get out of Tyrone ... A mouth piece

germac (National) - 10/11/2021 19:54:02

Attendances 2024 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To galwayford:  "I am not one to moan and whinge, but having only 21K at Dubs V Meath is not good. What on earth are the elite in Croke park doing. Poor weather, other competitions, lack of publicity. There is a lot of reasons. But poor decisions by the GAA are among the main ones. This split season is a joke really."
Same as yourself, the split season is a balls up really, instead of going to Cship games in our Tshirts were going with our top coats on wooley hats and the rest, add in daft rule changes , 15 men behind the ball , pulling and dragging, but i suppose ill keep going hoping that good honest football might break out some day

germac (National) - 14/04/2024 21:09:50

Down Senior Manager - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Saynothing:  "What about Solskjaer, he's managing a team living off their past so he'd fit right in."
You seem to put your mouth in most things or probably everything, Strange your silence around Tyrone folk getting cleaned into a poor county final, Inside back page of Irish news hit the nail on the head, Not red hands but greedy hands, then again , your head probably stuck in the Mirror or Sun

germac (National) - 18/11/2021 19:23:49

Tailteann Cup 2023 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Well done Meath, was pretty easy in the end. Down bottled it."
Not sure what you mean Down bottled it , yes a poor preformance from our lads and the better team on the day won thats for sure , I dont do yapping about refs and i wont start now, But well done Meath like ourselves taking good steps towards the top table again well done

germac (National) - 15/07/2023 20:50:48

Cavan V Dublin - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "The only solution is to create 4 new counties. Dublin north, south east and west. Splitting them in two isn't going far enough, you'll just end up with Dublin north vs Dublin south in the final every year. I honestly don't know why any Dub would object to being split either. I lived there for many years and there's no community spirit whatsoever. So much of the capital is transient labour because of the tech firms. So it's different from the 31 other counties in that sense. For example, if you were from Swadlinbar, and you were out trekking in the mountains of Peru, and you met a lad from Cornafean, you'd have a natural affinity with him, because you're both Cavan men. But if you were from Ballymun and you met a lad from Ranelagh, you just wouldn't have the same bond, because like I said, a city doesn't have a sense of community. So split them up and let them whinge if they like, they've had their time in the sun and it's time for change."
Seriously ,Put the white flag to the Dubs or anyone else, no chance, Ok ,the Dubs have one 5 in a row and looking like6, is that a reason for the rest of us to come out with our hands up, A couple of those were very lucky 1 or two point wins,Mayo scored 2 own goals to gift them 1, Its up to the rest of us to get up to that level and stop making excuses about all this coaching Dublin under age is getting, the last minor title they won was 2012, I diddent hear anyone yapping when Kerry minors won 5 in a row, are we going to split them up , Crossmaglen won 12 or 14 ina row are we going to split them up , Kilcoo have won 6 in a row, Corofin , the list goes on, All these great teams have their day , in a couple of years it will be someone else, like we cant even win an Ulster at the minute, but we will keep going, no excuses,its only a matter of time before te door opens again

germac (Cavan) - 06/12/2020 22:16:20

We're Ready For An Inter County Transfer System. - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Square_B:  "Any inter-county transfer system that would favour the stronger counties or large urban populated centres wouldn't wash with me. I doubt anyone in Galway would want to loose one of their best players to the Dublin county team. Obviously only 15 lads can play but I would argue that a county transfer system should only favour Division 3 & 4 teams with the view to improving standards for those teams."
More rubbish here , Im a very proud Down man were in Div 3 and wouldent wantanyone transfered in , it might take a while but we will sort ourselves out thank you very much

germac (National) - 01/08/2022 19:12:40

Cavan V Donegal - 3 Like(s)

Replying To blueman1903:  "What a brilliant display by a fantastic bunch of players you have done Cavan proud."
Brilliant , brilliant stuff , Delighted Cavan won that match, pure hunger ,and will to win, just great ,not that i have anything against Donegal ,i dont , This should serve a reminder to those who want to do away with Provincal C ships , and interduce tiered C ships , This is what some of our top pundits want, ex players i might add,t that would do away with days like today ,When you see men like Mickey Graham over come with emotion, such a humble man and one of your own, Ray Galligan who give the best interview i ever saw from a sportsman anywhere ,speaking about Cavan football and the pride he has in it, the people from his own parish who lost the battle with covid, he left nothing out, If that Cavan display dosent inspire our boys over here in Down nothing will, Not to leave Tipp out, a mammoth display from them ,A first Munster since 1935, Im not a lover of the back door ,never was, You just cant beat knockout football, if your not at your best your gone, Good luck against the mighty Dubs, you just never know

germac (Cavan) - 22/11/2020 21:21:55