Down Forum

Popular Posts from MissDownFanatic

Kerry have no chance of winning All-Ireland - 2 Like(s)

Replying To 2setsofrules:  "You really should have taken the time to read my post properly before responding. As I have previously stated the majority of Down people don't like to see any of the other northern counties win the all- Ireland. They revelled in Armagh's near misses before they finally won in 2002. Tyrone's three all Ireland's ensured that they became the new hate figures for folks such as yourselves. The majority of Down people have always cheered for the southern teams when they are playing a northern team be it Tyrone or anyone else. Down people were rightly proud of the fact that they were the only northern county to win Sam but not wanting their neighbours to win it is just pathetic. Tyrone are currently the hate figures for Down folk but if another northern county comes to the fore and achieves all Ireland success then they will take the mantle. When that happens hopefully your father and you will be cured of this terrible anti Tyrone affliction that you are suffering from. Back to the topic- Kerry will be there or thereabouts come the business end of the championship. They will provide stiff opposition for anybody, even the mighty Dubs. P.S How are you both going to cope now that you have been revealed as a father/ daughter tag team? Surely you aren't going to continue lauding each other's posts? Now that would almost be as embarrassing as writing a song slagging off another county."
Personally, I like Armagh. Even when they won the all Ireland. Why are Tyrone so sensitive? I don't like them. End of story. Get a life and move on. I don't particularly like mayo because I think they can be pretty arrogant and what have they won? I like to see Ulster teams do well - as I've mentioned already I like Donegal, Monaghan etc. but I'm glad to see my likes and dislikes mean so much to you.

MissDownFanatic (National) - 17/07/2016 20:16:19

Harte says Sean Cavanagh was targeted? - 2 Like(s)
Flip me there's me thinking it was only myself and topdownfan who thought these negative things about Tyrone, my god we must all be deluded! We must all be wrong! Heaven forbid we go against Tyrone, whatever you do lads don't say anything bad about Tyrone they're a little sensitive that way. On a serious note, good game today, better standard of football played than the second game. Was Cavanagh targeted? Sure isn't every big player, it's a compliment to them, was glad to see some justice done and fair play to Gough for finally having the nerve to send him off. Oh and before any Tyrone lads jump on - yes I know down aren't in a good place, we need to start from the bottom, I'm well aware of this, this doesn't strip me of my right to comment on this match. Missdown over and out a happy woman tonight.

MissDownFanatic (National) - 07/08/2016 01:03:50

Female Coaches within the Intercounty Scene. - 2 Like(s)
Yeah and Churchill, Trump are setting a great image for men. Pointless forum that acts as a catalyst for justified sexism. Can't see how difference of anatomy affects our management capabilities? Have been along the line at many a matches and believe it or not us women can get and be as passionate, resilient and as tactical as men. Tell ye if some men knew as much as some of us women forgot you'd be doing well...

MissDownFanatic (National) - 19/10/2017 22:21:09

Down's Quarter Century Wait For Ulster... - 1 Like(s)
Can't be denied that Down are in a desperately poor situation at the minute and there's a heap of reasons for it that will get worse if they aren't addressed sooner rather than later. There's a massive split between east down and south down at every level, there are boys still living of the 94 glory, there are no proper, fully backed underage structures in place and a county board...well less said about them the better. Down need to forget about the glory days and go back to the basics and build from underage up just like Tyrone, Kerry and Dublin have done. It's not easy by any stretch of imagination but it's crucial if we are to get back to the top. To be totally honest Down struggled enough in Division 3, they scraped marginal wins and failed to secure promotion...tbh i think some, including the team themselves, took promotion for granted walking into the Louth game. One of the huge problems in Down is some people think things just 'happen'. I remember when we got to the Ulster final in 2017 against Tyrone and it was considered a massive achievement. When in reality we beat a mediocre Armagh team at the time and caught Monaghan on the hop - evidenced by Monaghan beating us comprehensively later on the same year. A lot of changes needed, I've said it plenty before than Benny Coulter painted over a lot of cracks in Down football, we always tiddled along nicely being thereabouts for years and now we simply don't have that big man, the big name, the skill and passion needed to make a successful team. Big changes needed across the board and a hell of a lot of open mindedness before Down can think about getting back to the top.

MissDownFanatic (National) - 23/04/2019 09:16:51

Tyrone breaking from parade - 1 Like(s)
Seanieboy sure you've plenty of time on your hands now ;). Have to say I cringed for Tyrone when they did that, made them look like they were afraid of the Dubs/hill, disrespected the GAA, and tbh made eejits of themselves. Should've concentrated more on their football. Granted other teams have broke off before the full parade but Tyrone doing it as an attempt, albeit unsuccessful, to make a point.

MissDownFanatic (National) - 29/08/2017 14:28:14

The Championships - Ulster & All Ireland - 1 Like(s)
IrishGael3 - Pity this thing is anonymous because I took to social media straight after the match to wish Tyrone all the best and declare them the deserving winners. Infact - myself and topdownfan were having a go after the game yesterday at the stewards for not letting the Tyrone fans beside us on the pitch to celebrate after the game. Sorry if just after my team have crashed out of the Ulster final I didn't update you on my thoughts right away - will keep my priorities in check next time! Tyrone were deserving winners and for the first time against them I have to hold my hands up and say they won with classy football. No dirty tactics involved, no diving, just pure football and it was great to see from a football perspective. Naturally I would have wanted Down to win and I don't think we embarrased ourselves by any means - in fact that current team have outperformed their expectations. So here's to a good run in the qualifiers and hopefully a last 8 appearance. Sin é.

MissDownFanatic (Tyrone) - 17/07/2017 13:33:09

Tyrone breaking from parade - 1 Like(s)

Replying To bulmccabe:  "welcome back, you need to take a couple of ranitidine to get rid of the bitterness and bile in your gut for tyrone. when down get as far let us know how they parade, they'll probably have done away with it at that stage."
Listen you don't need to tell me what state down football is in, it's a shambles. But here since you mention it, When Tyrone have 5 all ireland through it the front door come back to me. Flip you boyos are easy to wind, emotions still high?

MissDownFanatic (National) - 29/08/2017 22:39:21

Female Coaches within the Intercounty Scene. - 1 Like(s)
Yeah and Churchill, Trump are setting a great image for men. Pointless forum that acts as a catalyst for justified sexism. Can't see how difference of anatomy affects our management capabilities? Have been along the line at many a matches and believe it or not us women can get and be as passionate, resilient and as tactical as men. Tell ye if some men knew as much as some of us women forgot you'd be doing well...

MissDownFanatic (National) - 19/10/2017 22:31:39