Derry Forum

Popular Posts from RoverTin

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 8 Like(s)

Replying To OpenStand:  "It's one thing Waterford giving a walkover but the way they speak about Antrim and people in the NORTH is very insulting . Waterford county board big believers in our island been partitioned."
Yeah poor form. Similar to Longford and travelling to Derry. Teams are going into empty stadiums and have no contact with people out side their own group. The venue doesn't really matter. Those damn dirty northerners seems to be the attitude of some. They should catch up with Edwin Poots up here. They would probably have a lot in common.

RoverTin (National) - 22/10/2020 11:00:42

Dublin V Mayo - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "I think you're right but it absolutely beggars belief that a so called panel of experts analysing the game at half time thought that this wasn't a red. No wonder referees are becoming short in supply. Who'd want to be one when you make a perfectly correct decision only to have a trio of so called experts attempt to undermine you on national TV. Who'd be a referee?"
Couldn't agree more. Other sports are clamping down on head high challenges and have zero tolerance yet we have panelists talking about this as if it's nothing and on Sunday using language that really shouldn't. Just because a referee sends a player off early doesn't mean he has ruined the game for those at it or the TV audience. It's up to a player and his management to make sure he tackles properly and stays on the field.

RoverTin (National) - 03/02/2020 20:57:49

RIP Mr Hume - 5 Like(s)

Replying To greysoil:  "John Hume, a great statesman & a true patriot. It amazes & concerns me in equal measures to see how intrenched our Northern brethren are in the past. I lived up there for many years & always hoped for some sort of progress, but alas it appears, judging by the various sweet 6 contributors on here, my hopes were in vain. It is a shame that a thread for the great John Hume descended into the usual old blah."
The irony of your post. Your one of posters dragging it down. Doing exactly as the great man spent his life fighting against - judging people just by where they come from.

RoverTin (National) - 10/08/2020 08:46:20

All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo - 4 Like(s)
Congrats to Dublin. An unblelievable achievement. Mayo pushed them for so much of the game but strength in depth of rhe lads who came off the bench was a big factor.

RoverTin (National) - 19/12/2020 20:10:04

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 4 Like(s)

Replying To GreenandRed:  "There's plenty of places North and South where there's high rates of COVID. I don't see how you can think it's insulting to any region to not want to go and play there because it might have a high rate of COVID if it's a fact. That's taking offence a bit too much for me. I agree with your post otherwise. I think this employer's wanting some lads to quarantine for two weeks is hard to believe. I think Waterford could still make the fixture with different plans like staying in a hotel in Dundalk the night before the match. I wouldn't be happy that Waterford are making so much an effort but we don't know the full circumstances for them. But I don't think that not wanting to go to Antrim because it has an unavoidably high COVID rate should cause offence to anyone in Antrim. If a 6 county team doesn't want to to play in a high COVID rate area in 26 counties it shouldn't be taken as an offence either."
The venue makes no difference other than it being scheduled as Antrims home game. Players do not come into contact with local people. I can't see any circumstances where a panel from the 6 continues would refuse to travel if the game has already been sanctioned as safe to do so by the GAA. Their county board wouldn't last a week. Look what Fermanagh did at the weekend to play that game even though they were actually impacted by the virus and players isolating. In the interests of some facts, although it's not relevant as Waterford would not be in contact with the people of Portglenone or the surrounding area, but the virus rate in that council area is about 230 per 100k . A bigger risk is probably staying overnight somewhere say for example Dundalk as mentioned which I am taking it would be seen as a safe option seeing as it's in the south !

RoverTin (National) - 22/10/2020 16:04:23

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 3 Like(s)

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Where did the Waterford County Board disrespect Antrim? A lot of people in fear of COVID. I don't think any insult or disrespect to Antrim was intended. They're now goosed before facing Limerick in the championship without warmup league games. 'Waterford also confirmed that the decision was subsequent to the withdrawal of a number of players citing personal family circumstances amid "reservations within the playing group of travelling to the Belfast area" and that the employers of some members of the panel stipulated that a 14-day isolation period would be required upon the players' return from Northern Ireland.'"
Ah come on. The statement said they requested to have it played somewhere nearer Dublin based on what was going on in the north. The venue makes no difference as you have no contact with local people at a game. Also where the game was fixed to be played has a relatively low rate of the virus. Possibly lower than where an alternative venue may be. Where they expecting a load of Antrim people with covid to storm the ground. The quarantine thing is a complete load of nonsense. Was this required for any teams or players over the weekend just past when counties travelled all over the country. 'Northern Ireland' ah no !

RoverTin (National) - 22/10/2020 15:00:52

Celtic Park Debate - 3 Like(s)

Replying To DL_Man:  "I read today Cahir O'Kane's article in the Irish News on how he thinks that Derry GAA should sell Celtic Park, with several justifications, which were the same age-old arguments like the lack of support for the GAA in the city, the number of games that are actually played there every year etc. I see that the Derry forum is more or less dead so I decided to post this in here, partly because I wanted to see outside perspectives also. The issues this article raises are 1) Does it really matter if the county play their games in a town that isn't in the middle of their stronghold? My county, for example, play their games in East Donegal, which is traditionally soccer Country and wouldn't be a football stronghold by any account. Same could be said of Sligo, Enniskillen, etc. 2) If hosting inter-county matches and county finals in the city doesn't spark interest in the GAA, then what can be done to get people from the city involved? What is currently being done also? 3) Is there a genuine desire amongst Gaels in South Derry to see GAA grow in the city, or would they rather use the city and Celtic Park as scape goats for their lack of success over the last number of years? This is not to mention that O'Kane is willing to let go of the years of history and tradition that accompany Celtic Park. But that's another story."
Cahir is being his usual self when it comes to stirring things and pushing an agenda of rancour and division. He just dismisses all clubs north of Dungiven as being a waste of time and contributing nothing. You've hit the nail on the head about it being used as a scapegoat for the lack of success. It was never an issue in the 90s early 00s. When they did move the games around when Derry where in Div4 there wasn't huge crowds in Glen or Ballinascreen. There's no great desire to see the growth in the game and most are just interested in their only little patch. What he doesn't mention is the amount of extra funding Derry has got as a result of the push to promote the games in the main urban areas.

RoverTin (National) - 30/09/2020 19:05:59

Enough Is Enough - 2 Like(s)
Makes no difference what part of the country it is sooner rather than later someone is going be really seriously injured. Just seen the footage of the minor game - a young lad close to coming off a concrete post after an attack by half a dozen opposition players. Those with the power to make changes will wait until after something horrific to come out with all the platitudes and how they will take action instead of doing something now. My own county is a joke like many with meaningless bans that are overturned or reduced when the heat has settled. It's going to take Croke Pk to do come down hard.

RoverTin (National) - 24/10/2018 12:45:04

AI Final Score Prediction - 1 Like(s)
Kerry 3:12 Dublin 1:16

RoverTin (National) - 30/08/2019 10:01:43

Derry v Meath - 1 Like(s)

Replying To AthboyCelt:  "I for one was not confident, and don't believe many were on this site either. No need to stick the knife in, we know where our standing is already. Good luck against Cavan - probably the hardest draw ye could have got but a game you could win though."
Thanks Athboy. As usual my 'friend' from Derry shows his usual lack of good grace. He has a habit of trying to rile people. The game was one that could easily have had Meath out of sight by half time if not for a goal saving block and a couple of other missed opportunities for goals. The level of support for Meath including a few players from the great teams of the past shows the passion for the county that has been sadly lacking in our own support. All of these things go round in cycles and hopefully it will not be to long before we see Meath and Derry at the top table again.

RoverTin (Meath) - 11/07/2016 10:17:02

Proposals For 2Nd Tier Championship Pathetic - 1 Like(s)
This two tier championship just doesn't make any sense. The games that are not competitive tend to be in the early provincial rounds in all provinces. The qualifiers especially the first couple of rounds tend to be very competitive with counties involved trying to test themselves against the bigger names later on with the hope that they make improvements and can get into to that last 8. It's going to be like any competition where only a small number in any year have a chance of winning. What the powers that be want is just for the same names every year featuring to get the sponsorship and viewing figures. The inter county game is on it's last legs for many. The organisation has completely lost it's way.

RoverTin (National) - 21/10/2019 11:20:39

Casement Park - 1 Like(s)
We have heard every excuse under the sun - stolen cars, loyalist mobs, roads, parking, soccer hot beds. The lecture on the undoubted good points of the parochial nature of the GAA should not be be used to prevent those who are responsible for the wider development of our games in the major centres of population from doing what is best. If there was no major modern stadium in Dublin at present, going by the logic some put forwards on this forum you would never build one because there are 3 seniors soccer clubs, there are alot of followers of the Premiership and Leinster Rugby are popular. Hopefully there are some who put aside and preconceived ideas of the people who live in our cities and realise that for the games to flourish stadium, resources and coaching must also be put into these places.

RoverTin (National) - 26/05/2016 15:36:52

Casement Park - 1 Like(s)
Gary is like many Derry GAA people. That long 30 to 45 minute journey to Derry City to Celtic Pk prevents many from going and others to complain about it all the time. They want everything handy to them but probably wouldn't go if it was next door to them anyway. This parochial look after myself approach is seen in the north Derry, south Derry, city split and one of the reasons why Derry football is in the state it's in. Their notion of games development and more people playing and supporting our games doesn't go beyond their wee patch. By this type of logic there would be no Croke Pk, Pearse Stadium etc as most are not central locations for the counties or provinces. Belfast, Antrim and Ulster needs this stadium and Casement Pk is the place for it. The Stadium development like a lot of infrastructure and other plans in the north are caught up in politics as much as they are safety or other concerns.

RoverTin (National) - 26/05/2016 10:06:56

Cavan Vs Armagh - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Helm82:  "The days where fair hard hitting tackles are allowed have gone, too many players going to the ground too easily. If we want those days back then there needs to be a deterrent put in place to prevent it. I think the GAA's inability to deal with the initial issue has led to teams having to use the dark arts to gain an advantage."
I thought Cavan players were too honest for their own good based on how it was refereed. If McKiernan had of made more of the kick from Grimley he would have got a red. Plenty of late hits that and leaving something on a man after what can be loosely described as tackles that were far from fair. Shields was at it a few times and eventually he got a reaction. If he hadn't of gone to ground Brady might have stayed on. Referee was reacting to how badly he thinks a player is injured in both cases which leads to players going to ground. If the rules were applied were a closed fit and late hits after the whistle or when the ball is away were dealt with it would mean players and managers change what they are doing.

RoverTin (National) - 04/06/2019 14:35:55

Monaghan GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To turnip12:  "Knock out Ulster championship means you are only a bad 20 minutes, a couple of soft goals or a good opposing manager away from disaster, dejection and calls for heads. Yesterday was very disappointing. It was like watching a friend make the same mistake for the umpteenth time in slow motion. Monaghan lost fair and square, and fair play to Derry. However, I would very much would like to meet Derry again this summer. Are they a better team? I am not convinced. The rode a wave of emotion to win this game and fair play to their manager for helping to create this. It is a very powerful element of sport. Monaghan left 3-4 points behind them yesterday and on another day would have only shipped 2 goals. I am also convinced there should have been a black card or two for Derry. So even with the goals, the emotion, the getting rattled, the poor game management, Monaghan dominated the second half and on another day might have prevailed. It remains possible the the same tactics would have won on another day, maybe even 60% of other days, we will never know. Whether you think the strategy was all wrong v Derry (strong argument for this for sure), there are also strong arguments to say selection was an issue (Karl O'Connell should play against these types of teams all day long and another poster made point about Andrew Woods) and in game management was poor. Improvements on any of these dimensions might have got a different result. Monaghan seem to have an issue stopping goals and this is probably related to an overly aggressive team set up. Must admit I did not like the unsporting behaviour by the Derry players - holding on to the ball, wasting time lying on the ground every time they got touch, all designed to take the energy of the game. Jose Mourihno would have been proud and maybe Monaghan need to be a bit more like this and would blow big leads like via Tyrone and Armagh in the league. So in a way we can respect their antics although it would be best for all it was not part of the game. We need to remain positive. A favourable draw and it could be Louth, Limerick, Galway and Donegal to get to the All Ireland final. The players should relish this challenge and pick themselves up again. Mayo and Tyrone certainly will relish it and see themselves going that far. A fresh mindset by all (can't be weighed down by the negativity) and better and more adaptable (in game) tactics by management and all is possible. Believe. And I don't buy the argument that Monaghan should deemphasis the league. There are only 9 to 15 league and championship games in six months for heaven sake."
Some sour grapes there. Commentary lads pointed to a possible black for the foul on McGuigan when in on goal early on and Hughes grabbing an arm to go to ground to get a free and other soft frees. Can always point to things in a game but there's no doubt who deserved it on the day. Anyway good luck to Monaghan going forward for the rest of the summer.

RoverTin (National) - 16/05/2022 11:30:27

Derry GAA Thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To farneygael:  "Well done on winning the minor title today. Some fine footballers on show. Best of luck against Kerry next week also."
Thanks a lot. Based on the previous meetings it was one that looked as if it could go either way. With that big Monaghan support it looked as if your lads would get some lift. Strange not to really go for it with the wind that first half and get that crowd fired up. There could be a few lads from both squads capable of pushing on. Both counties have had some big games and a lot to build on. Good luck to yoursevles next Saturday

RoverTin (National) - 09/07/2023 18:49:30