Terry is gone

Replying To deanmartin:  "For the record....Terry did not stand down or walk away.....his contract had simply come to an end. The man was nearly 5 years in charge of the County Team, and only managed to win TWO Ulster Senior Championship matches, one of them was against an appalling and one of the worst Armagh Team's this year. Now, if some people on this forum think that Hyland's tenure was successful and he left some sort of legacy, then its a sad day for Cavan Football....only 2 Ulster Championship wins in nearly 5 years. Yeah he got us promoted twice, but realistically, who really takes the league seriously.
Why the did the man have to go on RTE Radio to announce the news, why didn't he announce it on Northern Sound, a local radio that has supported Cavan Football through the years. - did he really think that anyone outside the boundaries of Cavan would actually care?"
RTE chose to interview him so evidently they felt it was of interest to the wider GAA community and it has been reported widely in all national media too. it is of interest to others because they can objectively see a manager who has made progress with a team who have made a certain impression nationally and see a man who is decent and passionate about his county, upholding the values that have driven the GAA over the years. Your are more than entitled to your opinion that he could have achieved more but he does not and has not deserved the hounding that you and your sycophantic cronies have given him. You have grabbed onto anything that will allow you to diminish him, last week it was the fact that Tipp were only a 'hurling county'. There are many on this forum who have been able to fairly express their dissatisfaction about Terry whether Cavan win, lose or draw and then there are the few who come out of the woodwork when Cavan lose to gloat and take a perverse satisfaction in our county losing so they can justify their twisted and vindictive viewpoint. I will never consider them to be genuine Cavan supporters.

The League is important and you are the very one who would be using it as a stick to beat Terry with if we had not managed to get promoted from Div 3 and then from Div 2. Now that he has done it you decide it is of no merit.

breffni47 (Cavan) - Posts: 34 - 04/08/2016 11:39:15    1895298

Replying To deanmartin:  "For the record....Terry did not stand down or walk away.....his contract had simply come to an end. The man was nearly 5 years in charge of the County Team, and only managed to win TWO Ulster Senior Championship matches, one of them was against an appalling and one of the worst Armagh Team's this year. Now, if some people on this forum think that Hyland's tenure was successful and he left some sort of legacy, then its a sad day for Cavan Football....only 2 Ulster Championship wins in nearly 5 years. Yeah he got us promoted twice, but realistically, who really takes the league seriously.
Why the did the man have to go on RTE Radio to announce the news, why didn't he announce it on Northern Sound, a local radio that has supported Cavan Football through the years. - did he really think that anyone outside the boundaries of Cavan would actually care?"
Deanmartin ,you really are a disgrace the man has stepped down and your still at him, does it bother you that much how he announced it, terry devoted years of his life and done his best he does not need to listen to some one like you anymore, why don't you put your neck on the line and put your name forward but your probably too cowardly.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 881 - 04/08/2016 12:04:32    1895322

Replying To blueman1903:  "Deanmartin ,you really are a disgrace the man has stepped down and your still at him, does it bother you that much how he announced it, terry devoted years of his life and done his best he does not need to listen to some one like you anymore, why don't you put your neck on the line and put your name forward but your probably too cowardly."
You need to get your facts correct...TERRY DID NOT STEP DOWN.....his contract expired.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 04/08/2016 12:51:06    1895392

His championship record was poor. He's been lorded because of 2 under 21 titles he won yet some of our Senior players who performed well like Johnston , Mackey and Martin Reilly plus younger u21 never played with Terry before.
What about all the u21s he went through over 5 years?
He had some pick maybe up on 100 ex under 21s to pick from yet he couldn't mould a side to be successful in Ulster.
Don't know how posters here measure success but 2/3 Ulster championship wins in my eyes is not success.
Under McHugh we contested 2 Ulster finals in 3 years, won 1 on the back of 2 under 21 success in 88 and 96.
So there's your answer Terry's Ulster championship record is not a successful one over the last 5 years.
As Deanmartin rightly pointed out, his contract was up so he had to go. His claim to fame will always be beating London to get to an All Ireland quarter final.
Good luck Terry!

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 04/08/2016 13:16:57    1895431

Awwwwnow - The London win was a magnificent achievement, but there was no silverware to show, so the Intercontinental New York Two Team Cup has to eclipse the London win.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 04/08/2016 14:25:41    1895538

I would like to thank Terry for his hard work over the past 5 years. I believe he has made the right decision to move on. The people of Cavan will be forever grateful for the progress he has brought to the senior setup.

But a successor needs to be found and I have a few suggestions.

David Moran
Pat Spillane
Joe Brolly

These are my top 3 picks or maybe all 3 in a joint management role
I think it would be the mixture to make this county great again.

Also as a true patriot of Cavan I am willing to put the shoulder to the wheel and take the reign of the senior county team myself.
I believe I have what it takes to take this great county to the next level.

Steady Eddie strikes AGAIN!!!

Steady_Eddie (Cavan) - Posts: 75 - 04/08/2016 15:47:39    1895649

Replying To Steady_Eddie:  "I would like to thank Terry for his hard work over the past 5 years. I believe he has made the right decision to move on. The people of Cavan will be forever grateful for the progress he has brought to the senior setup.

But a successor needs to be found and I have a few suggestions.

David Moran
Pat Spillane
Joe Brolly

These are my top 3 picks or maybe all 3 in a joint management role
I think it would be the mixture to make this county great again.

Also as a true patriot of Cavan I am willing to put the shoulder to the wheel and take the reign of the senior county team myself.

Steady Eddie strikes AGAIN!!!"

Steady_Eddie (Cavan) - Posts:47 - 04/08/2016 15:47:39

Don't forget to send in your CV what with your experience the county cannot afford to miss out ???

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 04/08/2016 20:16:53    1895861

Replying To seanorinn:  "Also as a true patriot of Cavan I am willing to put the shoulder to the wheel and take the reign of the senior county team myself.

Steady_Eddie (Cavan) - Posts:47 - 04/08/2016 15:47:39

Don't forget to send in your CV what with your experience the county cannot afford to miss out ???"
He would be as good as what was there

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 04/08/2016 21:10:34    1895886

Replying To Sean.66:  "He would be as good as what was there"
Sean 66 another great candidate for the job, only issue is he won't go to the games. Never mind, I'm sure you can form a food opinion of the team by talking to lads in the pub or reading hoganstand.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 04/08/2016 21:40:57    1895902

Lads you can name all the high profile managers you want to get in truth is we have no scoring forwards that will do it week in week out and are not good enough 15 on 15. In truth an Ulster is not within an asses roar of us.
Fair play to terry who devoted his time and gave great service and has made great league progress but his championship record let him down slightly. He loves Cavan football and the state of the financial mess he could of stayed on for another year and this I believe would of happened but the time was right to step down in my opinion. Thank you terry for your service and let's remember where we were 4 years ago.

Now it's over to dean Martin to assemble a mangement team to win an Ulster title or dean will you be calling for the next managers head after relegation and an Ulster championship exit ?

jackser (Meath) - Posts: 37 - 04/08/2016 22:00:35    1895915

Replying To fredflint:  "Sean 66 another great candidate for the job, only issue is he won't go to the games. Never mind, I'm sure you can form a food opinion of the team by talking to lads in the pub or reading hoganstand."
He would be as good as what was there... "We are blue" .. "Believe" and so on

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 04/08/2016 23:05:05    1895946

Replying To Sean.66:  "He would be as good as what was there... "We are blue" .. "Believe" and so on"
"He" would be? Oh dear, did you log onto the wrong account to support yourself?? Which one is your 2nd account, deanmartin of awwwwnow??? Busted

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 04/08/2016 23:33:37    1895957

Replying To Sean.66:  "He would be as good as what was there... "We are blue" .. "Believe" and so on"
Caught rotten and wire on ya.
Also if you're fond of generic slogans you should return to your Bring Pride to Cavan cringe page

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 05/08/2016 07:49:19    1896004

We need a manager with winning pedigree,
Pete McGrath would have been ideal but he's committed himself to Fermanagh.
A manager who's achieved success and knows what it takes to win a provincial title.
If the GAA go through with their new plan it's going to make it more difficult for small counties to win an AllIreland.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 207 - 05/08/2016 12:15:48    1896156

we need james horan as manager as he has experience in division 1 and knows what it takes to get far in the all-ireland. we need oisin mcconville as assistant to let him know what ulster football is all about.

Cavanlife (Cavan) - Posts: 54 - 05/08/2016 12:44:56    1896184

Replying To Cavanlife:  "we need james horan as manager as he has experience in division 1 and knows what it takes to get far in the all-ireland. we need oisin mcconville as assistant to let him know what ulster football is all about."
we need james horan as manager as he has experience in division 1 and knows what it takes to get far in the all-ireland. we need oisin mcconville as assistant to let him know what ulster football is all about.

Cavanlife (Cavan) - Posts:23 - 05/08/2016 12:44:56 1896184

You have got to be joking we need O McConville like we need a hole in our heads.
James Horan is a full blooded Mayo man and hopes to get the job back again so not for Cavan. You need a man that has his heart in the right place a true Blue and White man no messing.
Stay at home and stop wasting money on outside managers I don't think Cavan can afford an outsider who will want all his own crew with him so
far too expensive.Stay at home.

Why not bring in Sean Boylan and take in a Cavan man to work with him and learn how to manage at the highest level and is not afraid drop any player on the panel. The cost in milage for starters from Meath would not be huge????

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 05/08/2016 14:51:03    1896268

Replying To seanorinn:  "we need james horan as manager as he has experience in division 1 and knows what it takes to get far in the all-ireland. we need oisin mcconville as assistant to let him know what ulster football is all about.

Cavanlife (Cavan) - Posts:23 - 05/08/2016 12:44:56 1896184

You have got to be joking we need O McConville like we need a hole in our heads.
James Horan is a full blooded Mayo man and hopes to get the job back again so not for Cavan. You need a man that has his heart in the right place a true Blue and White man no messing.
Stay at home and stop wasting money on outside managers I don't think Cavan can afford an outsider who will want all his own crew with him so
far too expensive.Stay at home.

Why not bring in Sean Boylan and take in a Cavan man to work with him and learn how to manage at the highest level and is not afraid drop any player on the panel. The cost in milage for starters from Meath would not be huge????"
Maybe bring your mate V back!

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 06/08/2016 13:46:17    1896585

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "Maybe bring your mate V back!"
Maybe bring your mate V back!
Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts:536 - 06/08/2016 13:46:17 1896585

It's on record Awnow what I think of Val Andrews and you nor others will not change my opinion.

I DON'T THINK IF HE WAS EVEN OFFERD THIS JOB WOULD HE EVEN GIVE IT A SECONDS THOUGHT.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 06/08/2016 15:42:37    1896612

If Rory Gallagher's spell at Donegal was up he would be an excellent choice of manager for Cavan in my opinion. What are your thoughts?

rover08 (Longford) - Posts: 443 - 08/08/2016 08:33:20    1897796

I dont think the Cavan manager job is something anyone is going to be jumping to take . The fact we are in division 1 next year which in my opinion we will struggle . Only someone whom truly loves our County will take this on seriously , as chances are we will be back in division 2 .and it will be deemed the managers fault .

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 08/08/2016 09:22:19    1897809