Hyland to continue with Cavan

When Terry took over we were about 8th in Ulster.
We're about 8th again.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 30/07/2015 20:11:52    1761415

fredflint do you really think there is a democracy in Cavan Gaa. The powers that be over in Breffni wanted there buddy to remain as manager, All this scare tactics with clubs about the debt of the county and that clubs will have to pay more money each year, money which struggling clubs cant afford to pay, all brought out at the time when Cavan supporters wanted new management.Its more a Dictator ship than a Democary.

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 30/07/2015 21:36:44    1761483

as far as I can tell there are about 5 or 6 on here who want Terry ousted. Hardly representative of the whole of the county.
not sure what the big issue is. We are competitive again after a few years in the wilderness. I mean people on here screaming about Fermanagh. They have beaten Antrim, Westmeanth and Roscommon (very lucky to do so).
it's just all a matter of luck and the hop of a ball. another year with the same set-up it would be us, looking forward to a hammering from Dublin. Let the man complete the final year of his contract. We got promoted to Div 2 and did Ok. It will be a difficult division next year but great preparation for the Ulster Championship.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 31/07/2015 14:59:04    1761721

Firstly, it's a good thing that there's so many strong opinions on team manager, it's a sign that people care.
I agree that there are too many negative posters on here, but there is a frustration out there among the supporters. It's the style of play, that has to change. Someone mentioned the PLAYERS ! God only knows how they are feeling in the midst of all this. They give up their lives every year and are subjected to all sorts of abuse on forums like this one.
Can everyone not go to their club meetings and voice their opinions, which the delegates can then bring to Co Board meetings. Surely it's not a dictatorship or a cosy cartel of relations in there?? We need to rise above nepotism and get on with the business of suppporting our team and manager. Give Terry a chance, looks like one of the selectors has taken the fall??

Cluichepeil (Cavan) - Posts: 57 - 31/07/2015 15:02:19    1761725

I'm not happy with Terry staying just for the simple fact is I think it needs serious freshing up. I heard Forde gone. Don't know if true. However in spite of not being happy I will keep going to games as I am a Cavan supporter regardless of manager or quality of player. People saying numbers falling. Numbers at matches were always low and when a bandwagon appears nemerous hop on it.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 31/07/2015 16:04:15    1761758

I believe terry hyland has done good work for Cavan brought a certain level of professionalism and structure to the setup, too many players calling the shots other years going right back to the Liam Austin time but now is the time for a change. I know of at least one regular player who said he will not go in next year if Forde is there and another fringe player said Forde hasn't spoke to him in 8 months, as for the clubs a lot of them don't care about the county set up the county board have let us all down with this

fidel (Cavan) - Posts: 17 - 31/07/2015 18:23:46    1761815

fidel

====================
brought a certain level of professionalism and structure to the setup, At what cost to the clubs and county
Too many players calling the shots other years going right back to the Liam Austin. The majority of players that ousted Liam Austin never played for Cavan again'.
I know of at least one regular player who said he will not go in next year if such and such is there and another fringe player said ---- hasn't spoke to him in 8 months, as for the clubs a lot of them don't care about the county set up the county board have let us all down with this.
Fredflint yes I will bring it up at my club but like many of the other clubs they don't want to be seen to rock the boat.
Last night I spoke with several people regarding the Hyland situation and the so called knights of the round table they said what can we do for they have all ready voted and how can the clubs overturn a 17 vote lead.
Three of those I spoke with said however they will not be renewing their club Breffni membership so if others feel like this there will be even more problems with revenue.
Division 3 is waiting for us in February so the start of the slide not that is has not all ready started.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 01/08/2015 09:58:18    1761908

Have you made representations to your club mowbar to raise a motion of no confidence? Maybe you are hoping they will read your nonsense in here instead. The GAA is democratic, if you have widespread support for your position you can affect the change. The problem is of course you and Ned and rest of ye have never put anything into football except your bias against a good football man like Terry Hyland. The two of you are an embarrassment and a disgrace to Cavan football with absolutely nothing constructive to offer.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 01/08/2015 11:56:06    1761946

It's wonderful to see what Terry has done for Cavan football. I think a true testament to his work is how he has raised the expectation of the Cavan support. A few years ago we were facing Division 4 teams and losing, and the support base expected these losses. These days the support is expecting to beat Division 1 opposition, they're expecting promotion to the top Division in the country.
It would be sad to see Terry become a victim of his own marvellous success if he doesn't provide some silverware next year, but it may be a case similar to Banty. He won't be appreciated in his own time because the short sighted casual supporter who sits in his armchair and rants online doesn't see that silverware is just the tip of an iceberg.

Congrats to the county board for their foresight in approving Terry's final year. Looking forward to next year already.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 01/08/2015 16:01:27    1762025

Ha ha very funny Jonsmith.
I'd say you'd be great craic at a party.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 01/08/2015 16:58:01    1762051

Fredflint, the decision to reappoint Terry was taken withouth any input from the clubs. How to you believe this to be democratic?

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 459 - 01/08/2015 17:31:37    1762063

You can propose a motion through your club anytime. Hyland a original deal was 4 years of which he has one left therefore the county board don't need to do anything. If you want to stop the normal course of things go to your club and do it. Trouble is most of ye don't know what the inside of your club house looks like

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 01/08/2015 20:07:13    1762139

Fred, you've made that point about a club motion a few times now. But how do you think the CB decision was democratic?

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 459 - 01/08/2015 20:18:46    1762148

County board were elected, do they need to ask the clubs every time they need to make a decision? Same as the dail doesn't ask the people every time they pass a law. That said there is an avenue available if the clubs feel strongly enough about a topic. Totally democratic, the problem is people sit back and whinge instead of doing anything

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 01/08/2015 20:49:54    1762173

Fred
Are you happy with the state of play at the present moment ,have to say supported cavan all my life but dont like how management have treated some of the players some terrible decisions made all year disgraceful treatment of one of our players monaghan game morale was desperate within the team plain to be seen in rossies game no communication at all needed a change of management in my opinion dread to think what next year will bring dont know if i have the stomach for what i see as a self distruct attitude of CB

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 02/08/2015 15:01:12    1762416

Goonie
Have to agree with your post Dictatorship sounds about right

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 02/08/2015 15:03:11    1762418

Wrong Fred, totally undemocratic. The CB consulted with the clubs when making the decision to reappoint Val to the second of his two year term. That was democratic. Val declined because he felt he didn't have the backing of enough clubs. The decision to reappoint Terry was taken be the CB exec alone. This was contrary to previous practice and protocol and in my view a disgrace and a missed opportunity, which leaves us stuck in gear for the next 12 months.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 459 - 02/08/2015 15:58:25    1762482

Ondforty- you can go to your club and make things happen. In any case in my opinion it's the shortsighted fools in the clubs who are a bigger problem than the "dictators " in the county board. If you asked them for their opinion you'd have clubs voting against managers because he didn't play their player. It's happened before. Anyway I'm sure you are an active club member do you know this already

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 02/08/2015 19:31:09    1762687

Fredflint... You make a very good comparrison there as regards the Dail...!! Look at the state of the Country = Look at the state of our County team and the way it is run..!!! You made a very good point without knowing it maybe...????

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 03/08/2015 10:31:52    1762897

Lads, the long and short of it is that Hyland has a deal until the end of next years championship. If he is not let go then he continues. It looks like that is what is going to happen. What's the point of quarreling with each other over the technicalities of why he is or isn't there?

We need to move on even though 90% or Cavan people, including myself, feel that it was time for Terry to go.

Next topic please. Maybe we should look at the club championships....!!!!

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 03/08/2015 10:54:31    1762909