Cavan V Roscommon

Quiet is best until the job is done!

McGiolla (Cavan) - Posts: 42 - 03/07/2015 09:10:04    1746789

The lads writing in the celt are predicting a Cavan win but I'm not that confident ... I think there is not much between the teams but they have a better forward line. If we had all our players fit and available I would be more confident but hopefully we squeeze through wit home advantage worth a couple of points - any performance would be better than last years game. I think this is defining game for our lads .. lose and it looks like we have not progressed, win and it will be progression with a favorable draw to help. Also anytime recently when Cavan games have been live on TV we have lost (mckenna final, monaghan game, league final, u21 semi) I hope this "jinx" is broken on Saturday!

sidelineview (Cavan) - Posts: 109 - 03/07/2015 09:55:12    1746825

MartinGerrard is a troll of the highest order!! Seems to be fairly bored of late - school is out for summer I suppose.

Lads, I have heard conflicting reports on injuries. I heard that Killian Clarke has a chance and will have a late fitness test. Is that true? I don't like the sound of how they are handling his injury. Surely Rory Dunne can't be in the frame to play??? I read a report somewhere that he was a possibility!! Surely if he has fractured or broken a bone then there is no way he could play!

I can't wait for this one. It feels like a lot of wind has gone out of the sails in the championship but a win here and we would be buzzing again. I like the sound of what ive been hearing from some challenge games in terms of scoring. Lets hope that we can put up a good score tomorrow - i think that it will take at least 16 points to win this one!

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 03/07/2015 10:02:47    1746831

03/07/2015 09:55:12

sidelineview
County: Cavan
Also anytime recently when Cavan games have been live on TV we have lost (mckenna final, monaghan game, league final, u21 semi) I hope this "jinx" is broken on Saturday!
Thank god its on network 2 twice we have been on sky and we're hopeless.
I think Rachel distracts them more than Spillane.
Joking aside we wish we only had 2 injuries and if ye can't beat us tomorrow with what's going to be a relatively new spine the future ain't blue and ye may throw the hat at it.
As for challenges we hammered galway last week and first thing that came into my head was back Armagh lol.
There a waste of time

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 03/07/2015 11:07:32    1746877

This is a good test for us and should tell a lot about our current standing in terms of development to date. I expect us to be competitive against Ross for the full 70+ mins. It will possibly be a hot evening, but we coped well with that challenge in Derry in 2013, so preparations should be thorough in terms of hydration etc. If we need extra time, then I think we have shown, again in Derry that we can exploit that opportunity too and call on our composure to see us through a tight game.

Ross had their sleepwalk against Sligo, - no disrespect to Sligo, I was very impressed with them - but there will be no complacency from Ross tomorrow. We will get their full respect, focus and effort.

I believe and expect that we will win. I think that we have a good spirit and a bit of positive momentum, which Ross don't have right now. That makes a lot of difference and feeds into confidence and resolve on the day, especially if it's close.

I won't be disappointed if we are beaten narrowly having competed positively and aggressively. That can happen in any game. Anything less would be regressive IMO.

I'd like to see our MGT team being a bit more decisive and one person in particular to display the required level of personal discipline. We don't want to lose the referee or linesmen unnecessarily in any more games. They are human and will switch off to petulant adolescent behaviour when they get it.

As usual, best of luck to them all. It's not going to be easy and will require all of them to up their game. What these players were never short off is the desire to win for Cavan, and that should be acknowledged and appreciated. Hopefully they will emerge into the next draw and take us on another exciting journey. Let's all get behind them and let them know that they are playing at home.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 459 - 03/07/2015 13:13:35    1746987

Agree ondforty.
I have issues, however, with your last paragraph regarding giving their all.
Last year in Armagh and in the qualifiers against Roscommon are two that spring to mind.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 03/07/2015 16:19:54    1747129

I'm the same as BreffniDub, stayed away partly because I was away for work and partly because of the negativity.
Missed the Monaghan game, but saw it recently on playback. It's the one that got away all right!

Have heard so many different reports about who is and who isn't going well in training/challenge games. Some of you say that doesn't matter, it does. The London game form what I hear just showed how poor London are. The management and team are not taking stock of that game I;m sure as they make their selection for Tomorrow. The usual few will be started regardless of how they are playing, and unless this practice is cut out, I.m afraid we'll never make the cut.

Hopefully we will go out and play an honest game and get a few early scores, put the Rossies on the backfoot. We had the measure of them in Kiltoom earlier in the year despite a lacklustre performance and shocking turnovers. Roscommon will surely be underestinating us and they are still smarting from their shock defeat. The ball, is literally in our court and tomorrow is the biggest test yet for management. They have to get it right. Anyone know the team yet?

Cluichepeil (Cavan) - Posts: 57 - 03/07/2015 16:52:57    1747145

Best of luck to the team tomorrow evening. This match gives the county a great chance to show that is going in the right direction. Anything other than a Cavan win would be a major disappointment to me. Go out and show the country what you can do boys!

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 03/07/2015 18:08:55    1747175

Slasher, see your point but I disagree. They went into the Armagh game all fired up but the parade row backfired and unsettled them. We also lost Martin Dunne under bizarre circumstances. Against Ross, we were ok at half time, but the enforced substitution allowed Enda Smith more room and he was instrumental in their second half dominance. The learning points are to man-mark Smith properly for the full game and to get on with the parade. I firmly believe that Cavan's progress means something more to these lads than other recent teams. I reckon that they put as much effort and sacrifice into their football as do Donegal, Dublin or Kerry. What's missing? Sin sceal eile.....

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 459 - 04/07/2015 09:57:49    1747273

Best of luck to the lads today. Cannot wait til throw in !!!

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 04/07/2015 10:33:28    1747279

When will the team be named?

IamADragon (Cavan) - Posts: 304 - 04/07/2015 11:31:41    1747294

I felt the yardstick to measure our progress under Hyland was the Monaghan game, but sure that's ancient history now. As for today, the very best of luck to the players. These lads just have to believe in themselves and develop a ruthless streak. I firmly believe that we are not that far off the top teams, we just don't have the know-how on the sideline or the mental capacity to close out games. Two very resolvable issues.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 04/07/2015 11:42:59    1747300

Ned_Stormcrow

I felt the yardstick to measure our progress under Hyland was the Monaghan game, but sure that's ancient history now. As for today, the very best of luck to the players. These lads just have to believe in themselves and develop a ruthless streak. I firmly believe that we are not that far off the top teams, we just don't have the know-how on the sideline or the mental capacity to close out games. Two very resolvable issues.

To rate us amongst the top teams in crazy we are far from that level. There is no balance hyland cannot see beyond the lad's he has brought through and the few he inherited from when he was joint manager. He is there too long time for change. Rating out of the 34 teams I would say we are around eighteenth and I might be over rating them.
I read in the home page Forde is joint manager is this correct. All thats happening the few hard core supporters are spending money to watch crap and living in hope that one day we will win an All Ireland or maybe the Anglo Celt cup. Hyland won three under 21 Ulster titles but could not bring them to the next level and that for me tells me that he and his backroom staff don't have it. Even if we beat Ross today all we are doing is prolonging the agony and costing the supporters money.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 04/07/2015 12:21:07    1747313

Best of luck to all the lads today. You deserve a break and dont mind the begrudgers like Mowbar. You say it is costing us money, Jesus if that is all you are worrying about I suggest you go back and watch SKY SPORTS !!
I enjoy watching my native county and will always support the Blue jersey no matter what. As somebody once said "with friends like you , who needs enemies"
So good luck to Terry and all the lads.

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 04/07/2015 12:53:23    1747328

Anything other than a win today will be a disaster and only show that Cavan are makeing no progress what so ever...3 defeats in a row to an average team when it counts most would be hard to take... Go out and have a go because there is nothing what so ever to fear from this overated Roscommon team...

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 04/07/2015 13:00:04    1747329

mowbar

To rate us amongst the top teams in crazy we are far from that level. There is no balance hyland cannot see beyond the lad's he has brought through and the few he inherited from when he was joint manager. He is there too long time for change. Rating out of the 34 teams I would say we are around eighteenth and I might be over rating them.
I read in the home page Forde is joint manager is this correct. All thats happening the few hard core supporters are spending money to watch crap and living in hope that one day we will win an All Ireland or maybe the Anglo Celt cup. Hyland won three under 21 Ulster titles but could not bring them to the next level and that for me tells me that he and his backroom staff don't have it. Even if we beat Ross today all we are doing is prolonging the agony and costing the supporters money.

Mowbar, I never said we are among the top teams, all I suggested was we have a group of players capable of breaking into the top tier. However, if we continue on our current trajectory we will never make the breakthrough. The incumbent manager is not the man to take us to that next level, that much has been obvious for over a year even since the debacle in (ironically) the corresponding fixture last year when his negative football project reached it's inevitable climax and we scored 0-05 in a championship game.

It was probably fair to give him a crack at division 2 which we survived, but alas, we still haven't made any impact in the Ulster championship during his time in charge. I agree a few qualifier wins are scant consolation for the Holy grail of an Ulster title, or even a final appearance. But we are where we are.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 04/07/2015 13:12:08    1747332

Raymond Galligan; Jason McLoughlin, James McEnroe, Killian Brady; Niall Murray, Fergal Flanagan, Damien O'Reilly; Gearoid McKiernan, Tomas Corr; Cian Mackey, Dara McVeety, Martin Reilly; Ronan Flanagan, Michael Argue, Niall McDermott.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 04/07/2015 13:15:39    1747334

Mowbar, what players do you think should be involved that aren't?

The great thing about this flawed little country of ours is that nobody needs to attend their game so if they don't want to waste their money they don't have to.

I'll be forever grateful for Hyland taking us from where we were to where we are now, despite his flaws.

Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 04/07/2015 13:17:04    1747335

Have just seen the team. Odd.
Is Ciaran Brady (Arva) Injured?

Best of luck to Cavan, I sincerely hope we can pull it off, we need to get the win, for so many reasons apart from the obvious. This is the day of reckoning! Up Cavan ! Lets send the sheepstealers back where they belong!

On another note, Does anyone know how much money we are spending on management fees, along with Mc Hale, backroom support, etc? Just curious to know how our breakdown compares to other counties.

Cluichepeil (Cavan) - Posts: 57 - 04/07/2015 13:28:47    1747340

Best of luck lads

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 04/07/2015 13:33:36    1747341