Cavan V Roscommon

Rory Dunne has dislocated his ankle. Heard about Martin Dunne from a lot of people who normally wouldn't deal with rumour. Nothing confirmed.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 23/06/2015 17:12:26    1741711

It's disappointing to hear Dunne has quit the panel, good player to have on the bench.
Don't want to speculate but does anyone know if this rumor is true or false and if so what was the reason?

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 23/06/2015 17:28:01    1741723

Ihad heard a few weeks ago that there were 4 leaving the panel wasnt sure if this was true at the time but starting to look like it is true i hope not as we dont need to lose any more

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 23/06/2015 18:35:51    1741764

We will soon have a better squad not willing to play rather than those that are....says a lot about those over the team... Bad man management...???

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 23/06/2015 19:32:03    1741800

Sean66,

Could you make a team up for us of those who have now left the panel?
If they are leaving for the reason you give i.e. bad man management then it's an indictment of those in charge.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 23/06/2015 20:49:10    1741844

Doratheexplorer - I'm not sure if Hayes is back to be honest. I was under the impression that he wasn't in the panel. It would be great if he was back tough.
It's hard to tell who will be out for Roscommon, I remember last year they were missing about 8 players before the game, who all miraculously made recoveries in time for throw in. I'd take any rumours with a pinch of salt and just concentrate on our own team.

asitis - which 4 players did you hear were leaving?
It would be a shame if M. Dunne left, and I'd hope it wouldn't have too much effect on the mentality of the panel if players are just dropping out. Any word on his reasoning; injured? Spitting the dummy at not getting on the team? Traveling? Work? Took up writing poetry?

SamuraiBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 24/06/2015 08:02:47    1741896

Just for the craic, like Cavan_Slasher suggested, could we make a full team of players who are (apparently) unavailable for whatever reason (injured, not selected, made themselves unavailable, whatever) ?
I know it isn't really relevant to our upcoming game and I don't mean it as a slight on whoever pulled out or anything, but it would be interesting to see.
I wouldn't let on to be in the know about the ins and outs of the squad so if I include someone who shouldn't be there please amend.

1. -
2. Hayes (not sure of status)
3. R. Dunne (injured)
4. K. Clarke (injured)
5. Tinley (couldn't commit)
6. A. Clarke (couldn't commit)
7. Moynagh (not sure if he is in the squad)
8. Givney (injured)
9. Lurcan Mulvey (living overseas)
10. Joe Dillon (injured?)
11. -
12. Tierney (overseas, I think)
13. M. Dunne (pulled out???)
14. Keating (couldn't commit)
15. S. Johnson (controversial, I know, but it's only a bit of craic)

If anyone can fill in the rest of the positions or think of other players please do.
It just shows we have good talent in the county, if we were just lucky enough to have everyone available at the one time…

SamuraiBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 24/06/2015 08:10:05    1741898

Tyrone are a having problems with players leaving the panel.
Dunne leaving the squad is not good as we have very few options up front if there are any further injurys especially McDermot,
Will somebody please confirm these rumours as true or false.
Not good for moral.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 24/06/2015 08:53:30    1741904

Jaysus whats the story with all our lads leaving the panel ..? Fair enough some have other commitments and injuries but ya don't see that with other counties (tyrone have a few that have left but they were squad players not first teamers) look at kerry, the gouch was injured last year but still stuck around the panel, and in some counties there are players that should be retired but don't wanna leave (dick clerkin and alan brogan) to name 2 ... We can only get behind the lads who are still there and hopefully we get a run in the qualifiers. Another thing I was wondering regarding the draw ... if we get over the rossies, do we play the teams in the B side or do we play the other teams in the A side antrim or fermanagh, clare or longford & kildare v offaly ..?

sidelineview (Cavan) - Posts: 109 - 24/06/2015 09:32:26    1741917

doratheexplorer

Martin Dunne wasn't injured. I've since heard he's quit the panel but Gilsenan is still part of it for now

Liam McHale said in the Celt today that Martin Dunne injured his hand in a match against Louth. He hasnt left the panel.

evano11 (Cavan) - Posts: 265 - 24/06/2015 10:09:16    1741931

Samurai could put Alan O Meara, Oisin Moynagh, Turloch Mooney in that team. Lads going on about bad mangement for lads quitting. But if lads quitting because they not getting game it says more about them. Tierney done same few years ago.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 24/06/2015 10:11:38    1741935

From the Cavan Geals Club notes

"County Seniors

Well done to Niall Murray who was on the Cavan team which defeated London in the first round of the qualifiers in Ruislip on Saturday last. Martin Dunne and Mickey Lyng are also on the panel."

Don't know if that means anything as I wasn't at the game.

cavandub (Cavan) - Posts: 67 - 24/06/2015 10:25:13    1741944

not naming any as not fair if untrue one i heard is due to work committments and trying to finish off a coaching course is available if needed but cant commit to training every training session doubt its spitting the dummy if not played in that case its a lot of commitment for lads and if their not been played they should pursue other openings in my opinion they have lives out side county football .I think a break can be a good think and maybe a shake up of management and back room selectors may come soon too.

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 24/06/2015 11:22:58    1741989

Alot of assumptions been made here lets wait and deal in fact not fiction rumour mill is a dangerous road to go

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 24/06/2015 11:26:52    1741992

asitis- spot on. No point naming names if it's only rumour and hear-say at the minute.

dora- cheers, I forgot about those lads. We could name a pretty decent team from the lads not available but in fairness, most of that is because of injury or other commitments in their lives. I can, especially, understand the lads who have little chance of getting in the team, not committing. There are lads who have invested years of their young lives to the team, driving from work or college in Dublin or other parts of the country every day for training and some not even been named on the bench for games. No fault to the management (you can't play everyone just for the sake of playing them) or the players, it just requires a lot of sacrifices and very little reward for many.

Anyway, we'll find out for sure over the next week or 2 who is sticking around, lots of rumours flying around with little proof.

SamuraiBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 24/06/2015 13:57:59    1742098

I don't normally post on here,but now and again I see things and wonder why?

deanmartin

1741338 Its a good test for Cavan, one I think we will get through, because Roscommon are showing poor form at the moment - Id rather face a Roscommon side in good form, which would be a real test for us.

deanmartin

In order to measure McKiernans form, you need to look at matches past & present over a period of time.
He had an up and down league campaign, did nothing special against Monaghan and was excellent against London

In relation to a team ie Roscommon,their form seems to be assessed on a couple of games even though they won division 2 in April and got promotion to division 1.It's not unheard of for favourites to be beaten in championship football,it doesn't make them a bad team overnight, but then again maybe they won the league showing bad form all along as they hadn't much of a challenge!!!
When it comes to a player it seems you must look at his form over six months or so.
Why is a teams form based on its last game while a players form is based on the previous six months?

aceofspades (Cavan) - Posts: 256 - 24/06/2015 15:47:11    1742173

Hi Aceofspades

One thing you should be aware of is that DeanMartin is a WUM (Wind Up Merchant) on this forum, he posts in order to get a rise out of people but everyone has copped onto him at this stage. He is best ignored. He is very busy of late on the forum mainly as this coincides with the school summer holidays!

P.Mus (Cavan) - Posts: 386 - 24/06/2015 16:03:17    1742186

P mus.... Deanmartin is one of few on this forum who talks a bit of sense and he can certinaly see the wood from the trees...Dead-wood that is...!!!!

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 24/06/2015 19:41:35    1742278

Thanks Sean66 - theres not many on this forum who are brave enough to offer criticism, PMus is one of them....Terrytinted glasses!

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 25/06/2015 09:51:22    1742375

Sean 66 You may have a point there

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 25/06/2015 10:18:48    1742390