Roscommon v Cavan

BreffniGuide I agree regarding Brady, had a lot of potential but never has made the step up from u21 and has had his fair number of chances. From what I have seen of him with Ramor you would not think he was a county player

BootIt (Cavan) - Posts: 136 - 29/01/2015 13:15:45    1687703

I posted at beginning of the mckenna cup and said that it is a pre season friendly. That's exactly what it is . The real stuff starts this weekend. Clean slate. Judgment will start from Sunday . People seeking out individual s are bang out of order . I'd ask some of these people to do pre season heavy training and play 3 championship type games in 6 days , on heavy pitches and freezing cold conditions, while ye sat at home or in a pub watched it on TV and base judgment on that . I've said this before being a forward playing for Cavan must be so frustrating. We're told that's changing and I believe it is . Give it a chance and we will see. Also I'll put money on that the player that's getting the most grief from idiots will prove ye all wrong. Cavan will get at least a draw.

kinglarry (Cavan) - Posts: 189 - 29/01/2015 20:36:32    1687888

I posted at beginning of the mckenna cup and said that it is a pre season friendly. That's exactly what it is . The real stuff starts this weekend. Clean slate. Judgment will start from Sunday . People seeking out individual s are bang out of order . I'd ask some of these people to do pre season heavy training and play 3 championship type games in 6 days , on heavy pitches and freezing cold conditions, while ye sat at home or in a pub watched it on TV and base judgment on that . I've said this before being a forward playing for Cavan must be so frustrating. We're told that's changing and I believe it is . Give it a chance and we will see. Also I'll put money on that the player that's getting the most grief from idiots will prove ye all wrong. Cavan will get at least a draw.

kinglarry (Cavan) - Posts: 189 - 29/01/2015 20:52:06    1687900

Kinglarry as much as I would like to agree with you regarding the McKenna cup let me tell you we all in Cavan wanted to win it and so did the players and management, no mater I cannot see the current batch of players beating Roscommon next Sunday but please sunday evening post that I was wrong but for me a 6 point win for Roscommon.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 30/01/2015 20:22:07    1688200

It will be the first league game I will have missed in a long time, I just have enough of looking at the tactics, seen the line out for tomorrow game there,looks like they are reverting back to the one and only idea they have of tactical play --defend-defend and more defending,, hopefully the players turns a deaf ear in the dressing rooms before the game and goes out and gives Roscommon a game,, best of luck to the players tomorrow!

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 31/01/2015 17:14:03    1688386

We'll try and manage without your support Goonie. Come on lads, we can beat the Rossies.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 31/01/2015 18:55:16    1688426

Sadly I won't be attending the game tomorrow for much the same reason as goonie outlined. Simple reality is I can't bring myself to fork out again to see more of that football. It's very rare I miss a game but enough is enough is my view. Passing a scoreable free backwards to play rugby with the ball against Tyrone was the defining moment for me. But nonetheless the very best of luck to the lads, I'll be following the game one way or another.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 31/01/2015 21:52:40    1688539

I cant understand why so called supporters feel the need to come on here to say they are not going to a match especially the first match of the league I will be heading to the game wishing the players and management the best of luck today cabhan abu

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 01/02/2015 08:40:26    1688545

Look lads as far as I'm concerned cavan will be relagated I'm sorry to say . After las weekend without a single score in a whole half hour off football is very bad . Did it ever happen before ???? Tyrone had'nt even near a full team out and dat was cavan'so full team , if terry had to be experimenting with players and giving other lads playing time it wud have been a different story like most or all the other counties in the mc Kennan cup . Cavan are short a lot off big men and power and teams in division 2 will power through them without douth . There only chance off points is today .........

bigass12 (Cavan) - Posts: 13 - 01/02/2015 09:41:06    1688567

Lads who cares if ur not going. Better off without auld cranks like yous with ur basking in negativity. Dont come back.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 01/02/2015 10:36:22    1688590

Best of luck to the lads today, C'mon Cavan!!!!!!!

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 01/02/2015 11:25:22    1688607

Let me say this.. Think back Mattie Kerrigan tommy Carr Marty mcelkennon... We have spent years of Cavan been in an awful state prob really from 2001 onwards and we were going downhill after the ulster final in 97.. But why are you all so negative.. There is finally a bit of pride back in Cavan football things have got better and if you have a bit of patience and give them your support instead of been negative Nell's it would be more worthwhile.. Is there anyone on here that has anything good to say about the team.. Let's be realistic we have vastly improved but it's not a sprint to keep improving its a marathon lads... There is a very good set up in place and underage is the same.. Players are coming through all the time.. But for god sake stop with the negativity.. We're playing in division two the year aim is stay up and build on that.. Also great chance to get to ulster final if we can beat Monaghan.

thecavanman (Cavan) - Posts: 9 - 01/02/2015 11:28:47    1688609

Well done to Cavan today.... I think I was the only one on here that gave us a chance in this game... Nowlets build on this and add to a very hard earned point..!!

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 01/02/2015 17:10:43    1688740

bigass12

1688567 Look lads as far as I'm concerned cavan will be relagated I'm sorry to say . After las weekend without a single score in a whole half hour off football is very bad . Did it ever happen before ???? Tyrone had'nt even near a full team out and dat was cavan'so full team , if terry had to be experimenting with players and giving other lads playing time it wud have been a different story like most or all the other counties in the mc Kennan cup . Cavan are short a lot off big men and power and teams in division 2 will power through them without douth . There only chance off points is today .........

Was it really, yeah? No Mckiernan, Mackey, Argue, McEnroe
Anyone with a clue would have known the players were heavy legged in the second half playing against the breeze, after playing 3 games in 6 days. 9 players started the 3 games, Tyrone had the luxury of a full panel and could make changes

Great result today in Roscommon

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 01/02/2015 17:19:13    1688748

great result today. now lets get behind players and management and have a great year together with performances like today who knows what we can do. Brillant stuff lets push on now. The most pleasing aspect from today was the heart and battle the lads showed something which many cavan teams have lacked since the turn of the century. Well done to all. Great result against a top team who i feel will breeze through divison 2.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 01/02/2015 17:43:15    1688759

Listened to match on northern sound. Great determination today, never easy to turn over the rossies in their own back yard. A draw is not a bad result considering it was an away game against a bogey team for us

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 01/02/2015 17:53:12    1688765

Congratulations to the players and management on a great start to the league . Could be a vital point in the final shake up!!!!
Good calls by Kinglarry and Sean66 . Hopefully if we can build on this next week it will set us up nicely for a few home wins .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 01/02/2015 18:19:21    1688791

I am happy to take any abuse coming my way for predicting a Rossies win. Great heart today and a more attacking brand of football. More like what we are hoping to see. No mention of our negative style. This is a good result against a very good Roscommon team. At the same time, we don't need to get carried away. Lots of improvement needed but we are now playing at a higher level and won't be shown up. Finally, all that a fan can ask for in every game is heart and commitment to the cause and that was the in abundance today!

Fill up the tanks and get yourselves to Portlaois next weekend people!!

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 01/02/2015 18:27:33    1688798

Have to say enjoyed that game today the team played for each other and they never gave up so proud of these lads great start to the league congrats to terry and the lads as for all the negative people who stayed away you missed a good game looking forward to next week

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 01/02/2015 18:42:23    1688811

Great battling performance.
Great result.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 207 - 01/02/2015 18:49:02    1688814