Bring back Seanie

He was the top player in the county championship last year.
That's the plus.
The minus: He let the county down by joining Kildare.Unforgivable some would say.
Undeniable talent which we could have done with against Tyrone.
Forget the fans,does anyone think the players might accept him back into the fold?

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 26/01/2015 19:18:53    1686673

Any player that can improve our fortunes should be looked at . Whether Seanie has what it takes is debateable but he certainly had a good club championship so in that regard should be seriously considered .
Management's job is to manage and players are there to play . Personal issues should be left at home . If players are busting a gut making huge personal sacrifices for the overall benefit of the county why would they rule out an individual if he can genuinely add to the overall of the group ? And before people jump down my throat note the word genuinely . To cut your nose off to spite your face is petty and with regards to the collective here , selfish .
I never agreed with what he done but never commented on it either . That's been well and truly discussed to death . People do rash things in their youth , maybe things got out of control to the point where no one would back down . Anyway , you have to move on in life .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 26/01/2015 20:08:25    1686695

Cavan are going the right way at the moment. Bringing back SJ could have a major negative affect on morale. Also, in order to justify his presence he may try for his own score, although he'll probably do that anyway. Personally I think coming on against your own county in a game that was as good as over was poor judgement.

The Face (Monaghan) - Posts: 890 - 26/01/2015 20:20:37    1686700

The decision to bring Seanie on to rub salt into already gaping wounds.
Game was done and dusted, catch 22 for Seanie but then again he shouldnt have been there in the first place.
I'm sure he's sorry for the stupid decision he made.
Does anyone think Terry has put all thoughts of a return of the prodigal son?

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 26/01/2015 21:29:05    1686747

There's always going to be a case to be made for and against bringing SJ back.

My view is that he made his decision and it just didn't work out for him - that's the chance he took.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 26/01/2015 21:33:55    1686749

Tomsmith here

Well I feel that Seanie did transfer to Kildare, but one will not know what pressure he was under to do so.
Maybe it was the Hurling that attracted him to Kildare??
Sure either the football or Hurling it didn't work out in Kildare and he is now back with us older and wiser

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3857 - 27/01/2015 12:05:27    1686831

well Pravda, any point in posting on this thread???

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 27/01/2015 13:19:02    1686864

There are people wanting to bring back Cavan Cola also like this it wont happen.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 27/01/2015 13:48:45    1686882

Loved Cavan cola when I was a child but that was a long time ago and I feel a Seanie return is more likely.
If he scored winning point in an Ulster final I'm sure all would be forgiven.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 27/01/2015 14:49:23    1686936

Ulster Final ??? Anymore Jokes

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 27/01/2015 15:44:50    1686983

wouldn't matter if we had the Gooch up front, we wouldn't pass it to him . Too slow coming out of defense.
As we seem keen on bringing 'Older' players like SJ into the team how about bringing Ronan Caralon back for frees and Jason and Larry for the wings

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 27/01/2015 16:51:09    1687047

Stirringit, put Fintan in the corner, guaranteed a goal!!!!

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 27/01/2015 17:07:19    1687061

Seanie has been and will be one of the best talents to come out of the County, can't blame him for wanting to try himself at the highest level, cause in truth, Cavan have been woeful for the last decade. He's back in Cavan, was the most impressive forward during this years championship, I stand corrected, but didnt he get man of the match in the final.
Hes got alot of strength, and can take a score, and lets face it, its what we need at the moment.
However, If I was Seanie, whats that point of going back, when the ball isnt going to be coming in.

PS: Any difference between a transfer to Kildare and a transfer to America ? will the lads that left the panel to go play football in the US get the same treatment as Seanie?

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 27/01/2015 17:22:54    1687075

deanmartin

PS: Any difference between a transfer to Kildare and a transfer to America ? will the lads that left the panel to go play football in the US get the same treatment as Seanie?

ridicilous statement. just read through that again and see if it makes any sense.
you are comparing a club team in america (for the summer) to a rival county team in Ireland.
you are comparing someone taking an opportunity to travel to the states for an experience that they may not be able to avail of again ,
to someone engineering a transfer to another county whilst still working in their native one. purely because they were dropped from the panel.(as were quite a few others.. who eventually got recalled)

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 27/01/2015 18:30:08    1687113

deanmartin

Actually never thought of it like that. Very good point. You're fairly lighting up these pages dean martin.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 27/01/2015 19:54:28    1687157

Deanmartin , don't know if you're a WUM but posts like that are not helpful , especially to SJ himself . And if SJ feels like you do he can go to Timbuktu for all I care .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 27/01/2015 20:23:36    1687171

deanmartin

Same treatment - what do you think?

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=78707

http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=88686

ExiledCuCu (Cavan) - Posts: 226 - 27/01/2015 20:45:08    1687187

"An experience they may not get again."
That was the post!!!
There are flights every day to the states so the idea of players not been able to take trips to America is ridiculous .
Maybe the lads are cheesed off with the brand of football we play.
Lost two to three more players this year.
Didnt see many Kerry lads heading off last year and they were supposed be down and out early in the season.
We need every player we can get.
Keating and Givney in particular a huge loss!!

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 27/01/2015 21:14:33    1687205

desagov

"An experience they may not get again."
That was the post!!!
There are flights every day to the states so the idea of players not been able to take trips to America is ridiculous .

I didn't mean for a weekend you numpty.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 27/01/2015 21:41:42    1687219

seanies only out of an ankle operation so he wont be back at all

culchie123 (Cavan) - Posts: 17 - 28/01/2015 12:55:22    1687336