McKenna Cup

Yeah there's a bit of criticism for Terry Hyland going around these times but I spoke to a Clareman lately about how much Davie Fitzgerald is disliked down there. So he delivered an All_Ireland Senior Title in 2013 but they don't like the way he goes on...whatever that means.

Can we take it then that Terry will be criticized even if or when Cavan win something like an Ulster Title?

RoyalBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 21/01/2015 15:26:31    1685186

sammaguire1

easy known you werent in armagh last year or breffni when we got humiliated.

Jesus man isn't that what's sports all about winning losing taking hidings ......

The main thing is Cavan are making progress and your still complaining even though you's are in semi finals and finals every year in diff competitions !!!!

CFC (Australia) - Posts: 25 - 21/01/2015 16:57:00    1685232

Best of luck to the Cavan team tonight...,it will be tough as Fermanagh are playing well and will be tough to beat...

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 21/01/2015 18:26:39    1685265

Well done to the lads,, for getting to the final !! :-)

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 21/01/2015 21:48:57    1685345

Mistake by Gilsenan nearly beat us tonight. We need a better keeper.
Awful ot of turnover ball by both teams.
Just about scraped over the line.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 21/01/2015 21:49:24    1685346

It wasn't pretty and a lot of errors but we fought hard and got the slice of luck due to our never give up attitude putting pressure on the Fermanagh defence. Killian Clarke was outstanding as was Fergal Flanagan and Conor Moynagh picked out 2 unbelievable passes (albeit a few went astray. A big improvement needed and a big step up for Saturday night. I thought the build up to the Mickey Lyng's score was as good as you will see anywhere. Hats off to both teams last night. Both defensive set ups, both played last weekend and gave everything they had in subzero conditions.

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 22/01/2015 10:47:34    1685385

Well done Cavan on last night- lads could pick out lots of points to be critcal on, but that would be harsh on a team putting in a big effort in January. Fermanagh will be kicking themselves though, they had a smash-and-grab completed only for it to be grabbed back again! Agree on K.Clarke, his return will outweigh the departures from the panel when to comes to the bigger challenges later in the year. Obvious to say, but Saturday is going to be a real test. Tyrone are a team that have relied on by-passing midfield and building with short kick-outs. I expect we will face plenty of that this year so an interesting puzzle in prospect

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 22/01/2015 12:41:22    1685432

I can't believe some of what I'm reading on here. You have people posting about the glory days of Cavan football when they travelled the country watching Cavan play fantastic, entertaining football. I must have missed these games. When was this? We must have pensioners posting here that were round in the 40s and 50s. Even in 2005 when we had a good run we got through most games by the skin of our teeth. The reality is that we're competitive and hard to beat. That's what Terry has done. I agree that now its time for a change in strategy and its right that this is his last year but you have to take your hat off to what the man has achieved. If nothing else, as bad as last night's game was, when in the past would Cavan have rallied and ground out the win? Not a hope the Cavan teams of the past two decades would have. They would have downed their heads and took the loss.
The players are putting a lot in and its good to see such a talented bunch. I admit I'd like to see a change in style as we need to get the ball forward quicker but you cannot ignore the progress the team has made. Let's not forget the dark place Cavan were in when this management team took over. People say Division 3 was terrible quality and that's the only reason we went unbeaten in the seven games. Do they remember that in the years previous to Terry taking over we were very lucky not to be relegated out of it?
People say we only beat London on the way to the quarter finals. Do they forget games against Armagh, Fermanagh x 2 and Derry? For the eight years prior to that, we had only beaten Antrim, Fermanagh and Wicklow!
We seem to think we suddenly have the right to be world beaters again when the truth is far from it.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 22/01/2015 13:39:52    1685461

Well said Breffniguide don't forget monaghan only beat us
by a point in clones that year too.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 22/01/2015 14:17:51    1685482

If we have progressed so much Breffniguide how do you explain the debacle v Armagh and the embarrasment v Roscommon last year..? This season if we dont stay in Div 2 and make it to an Ulster final it will go down as a bad season...!! Our next two games will tell us a lot about our so called progress...or lack of it.. I only hope I am wrong....

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 22/01/2015 14:22:03    1685489

Move on from last year's Championship Sean66, you're some doom and gloom merchant

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 22/01/2015 15:27:56    1685520

Foolsgold..... I am only saying it as I see it.. Its called being realistic and not doom and gloom.. People are in cloud cukoo land if they think we have made great progress under this ultra defencive regime...

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 22/01/2015 16:05:20    1685546

Sean66

We have made progress 4 Ulster U21's, an Ulster minor title, an All Ireland Junior title, promotion from Division 3, progression to our first All Ireland quarter final in years.

Last years Championship aside and considering we had 7 of the All Ireland Quarter final team missing against Roscommon in that debacle these have been far better days. I want to see a competitive, hard to beat Cavan team and injuries aside that's what we see most of the time now.

Yes we're defensive but Kerry just won an All Ireland playing defensive football and yes we're over reliant on Cian Mackey to stitch defence and attack together but I'd sooner what we are seeing now then go back to not being able to string two wins together in League or Championship and an under age system that was the joke of Ulster.

cavandub (Cavan) - Posts: 67 - 22/01/2015 16:38:17    1685567

A lot of people are on here about the Roscommon beating lets remember they should have bet Mayo that day who scraped it by a point in Connaught and i suppose that means nothing the fact the same Mayo team have been in all ireland finals after all ireland finals.

People saying no progress being made are deluded not getting a dig in but what are you expecting its not as if Cavan have been challenging for all irelands the past 5 few years or so the facts is you were'nt even challenging for ulster so to be honest some lads havnt a leg to stand on here .......

CFC (Australia) - Posts: 25 - 22/01/2015 16:53:10    1685571

sean66, if you were made manager what would you do? What team would you play, what tactics, what changes does Terry Hyland need to make.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 22/01/2015 17:40:12    1685594

Jonsmith... Hyland needs to ditch this boring defencive game he is playing and move the ball from back to front more quickly before he sends everybody to sleep that has to endure it... No wonder players are pulling out of the panel...!!!

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 22/01/2015 17:50:38    1685600

Sean66
1685489 If we have progressed so much Breffniguide how do you explain the debacle v Armagh and the embarrasment v Roscommon last year..? This season if we dont stay in Div 2 and make it to an Ulster final it will go down as a bad season...!! Our next two games will tell us a lot about our so called progress...or lack of it.. I only hope I am wrong....

Are you honestly trying to say Cavan haven;t progressed under Terry Hyland? Despite the first trip to Croke Park in 20 years in the Championship, despite our best run since 2005. In fact, the only year since 2005 where we had won more than one championship game and where we had won a game against a team that wasn't in Division 4 at the time. Despite the fact that promotion was gained last year. The goal for last year was promotion from Division 3 and we achieved it.
Yes, the championship didn't go well but we never had a chance to put our best team on the pitch. Hopefully that will be addressed this year. I realise there are still problems that I mentioned above but its delusional to try and claim this management team hasn't made great progress.
These players will grow and learn from playing against better teams. When was the last time Cavan made two McKenna Cup finals in a row?

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 22/01/2015 17:58:06    1685607

Really Sean66 and a few more of his mates wouldent be happy even if we won the All Ireland. As somebody said these people must have been around in the 40's and 50's when we were winning Ulster every year.

As far as I'm concerned Terry has done a wonderful job and the man is truly a legend. Just look at what the man has achieved.
But with such a young squad you will always have up's and down's. Yes last year against Armagh and particularly against Roscommon we were poor and never hit the heights of 2013. At the same time we achieved our primary goal - promotion to Div. 2. The doom and gloom merchants are out already saying we will be relegated. Great supporters they are!! Well I think we will surprise a few people. If we can get some consistency like the recent 1st half against Monagahan where we blew them away, then things will be o.k. Just a pity that a few lads made themselves unavailable for various reasons. But that is life. But then just look at the recent displays of Mark Mc Keever. A wonderful example to all the young players and a man who has given sterling service to his beloved Blue and white. I will always remember his display against a star studded Armagh team in Clones 8 or 9 years ago when we went down to 14 men after 5 mins. Brilliant.The Armagh men were drooling over this young star.

So the vast majority of Cavan supporters are delighted with the progress over the last 2 or 3 years. the few moaners will always be around. The glass half empty brigade.
So well done Terry and all the lads for bringing pride back to our county.

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 22/01/2015 18:33:52    1685621

Breffnidub.... I have never said that we will get relegated from div 2 this year.... Ye all want to talk about 2013 and forget about 2014 alltogether...that sounds like regression as opposed to progression in my view... Promotion from div 3 was the goal you are correct in saying that... I was at 6 of the 7 league games and the opposition were the worst county teams I have ever set eyes on but we still made heavy weather of putting them away even thouigh we dominated possesion.. The point I make is that our style of play keeps even rubbish teams in the game but when we then meet a half decent team we are usually toast... I have never come on here giving out about players but they are been hamstrung by management in my view... Sweeneys article on the back of the Sunday Indo gives a good insight into County managers and what they are doing to County football..worth a read.... As for Mark McKeever...a true Cavan legend

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 22/01/2015 19:40:19    1685639

For sure progress has been made, look at the promising young players we have at our disposal now, Tom Hayes, Killian Clarke, Moynagh, McVeety, Faulkner, and many more.

At the same time I certainly don't think winning All Ireland junior titles and making McKenna cup finals is anything to crow about.

Lets make that Ulster final this year before we really start to believe.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 22/01/2015 19:40:36    1685640