McKenna Cup

Culchie123....I dont think too many are complaining about the Cavan players...I certainly didnt but what I and many other posters cant take is this terrible way they are been sent out to play the game,,,, the players deserve support but there is only a limited amount of rubbish people will pay in to see...!!!!

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 13/01/2015 13:57:55    1682831

Clarke is getting married at the end of the Month plus has big work commitments
Givney has an ankle problem from a knock with Ballymun and work commitments
Keating is looking to transfer from Sylvesters to Kilmacud and also has injury problems and work commitments

That ok for you Ned_Stormcrow?

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 13/01/2015 13:58:07    1682832

Why not return the McKenna Cup to the knock-out competition it used to be? I can't see the match going ahead tomorrow night if the forecast is correct so more congestion of fixtures; there's no end to the nonsense. I see Cathal Cregg has rowed in with Niall Moyna on the issue of overloading players with matches and training schedules. Maybe sanity will prevail and the GAA will stop their posturing and pretending that they have young players welfare and safety at heart. Personally I wouldn't mind if the McKenna Cup was abolished altogether - it hasn't meant anything for a long time now and it's mostly an endurance test for the few supporters who do turn up.

RoyalBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 13/01/2015 17:37:25    1682909

FoolsGold

Clarke is getting married at the end of the Month plus has big work commitments
Givney has an ankle problem from a knock with Ballymun and work commitments
Keating is looking to transfer from Sylvesters to Kilmacud and also has injury problems and work commitments

That ok for you Ned_Stormcrow?

Grand. Not all of us have the luxury of living back home and can get the Celt every week. Some need to move elsewhere for today's choice words "WORK COMMITMENTS" ;)

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 13/01/2015 17:44:39    1682916

Sean66

Culchie123....I dont think too many are complaining about the Cavan players...I certainly didnt but what I and many other posters cant take is this terrible way they are been sent out to play the game,,,, the players deserve support but there is only a limited amount of rubbish people will pay in to see...!!!!

Fairweather fan. Stay at home for good then. Supporting your county shouldn't come with conditions.

H'on Terry and the lads!

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 13/01/2015 18:05:13    1682924

""Work Commitents"" seems to be the buzz words for...' I am fed up with this pathetic system we are playing' and I wouldnt blam them either...!!!

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 13/01/2015 18:11:20    1682927

A lot of bad vibes been thrown about its very early to be writin off a team. We didn't play great the other night but got out beaten by a point not bad with a very experimental team and a lot of committed players unavailable for various reasons. The lads that have walked away from the team, they've done all they think they can so in that frame of mind there better gone. Time now to support the experienced hard working lads that have given up so much and made sacrifices and let them lead and help blend in the new players,there's at least 4-5 good leaders on that team esp Martin Reilly . Still Gilsenan F.Flanagan Moyna Gunner McEnroe Sankey Mackey McDermott Dunne and 3 or 4 good Under 21s including Argue to come into the mix, that's 12+ places to be competed for come championship . On the style of football I thought we played some good attackin football against Down at times and did well comin from behind and a shaky start. The UUJ game was a dogged ould game and neither team looked impressive, our biggest failure was givin the ball away far to easily, that can be worked on. The future is blue, can be blue, lookin forward to a good year and good luck to the lads who have committed to the jersey. Readin the papers these days sounds like these lads are missin out on a lot in life in their 20s so the least we can do is stop slaggin them off so soon.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 13/01/2015 18:14:35    1682929

Has a captain been picked for this year yet? Martin Reilly must be a front runner and is a shoe in to start in every important game this year. Don't know the lad but if leading by example is a criteria then we don't need to look much further!

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 13/01/2015 19:23:22    1682946

Well said shannon 414 very sensible and rounded veiw point as for sean 66 yes work committment is a big buzz word dont you realize how hard it is to get work and how hard it is to ask for time off for training and games add into it travel time from where ever their working they have partners some have children they have to work to feed themselves so yes in 2015 work committments do come in to itout of curiousty were you at both games

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 13/01/2015 19:30:32    1682949

Asitis.... No County player ever has much bother getting work so I would think that is not the problem more likely to be fed up with what they are been asked to do... Its an awfull pity that all these good young playerscomming through the system are been hamstrung by negitive tatics.... No I was not at either game and wont be there tomorrow night...WORK COMMITMENTS

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 13/01/2015 20:50:36    1682991

sean 66

well thats good to know that its a given they have work genuinely i didnt know that at least they dont need to emmigrate like so many other young folk thankfully i am retired so can easily get away to the matches i take it you work hard weekends and nights good on you

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 13/01/2015 21:18:16    1683007

Asitis.... I take ur point about the work commitments for players but you would agree that too much is been asked of them and therefore some.will walk away from it as they cant enjoy it any more.. This is a pity... By the way enjoy your retirement..

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 13/01/2015 21:38:10    1683015

sean 66
i do take your point that too much is asked of them and in essence i agree with you more to the point i looked at one comment you made and totally got the wrong end of the stick i some how thought you were critisizing these lads having gone over all you comments throughout this thread and others i see i am wrong and that you would like to see the system change not the team and in fact all you want is good competitive football lets hope we all get something out of this season will always admit when i am wrong best of luck to the lads tonight hope its not too cold in breffni to night

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 14/01/2015 10:22:18    1683053

so its confirmed, eugene is taking a year out lads. a massive loss, who has the ability to step up?

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 14/01/2015 11:51:20    1683088

game cancelled tonight

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 14/01/2015 13:33:06    1683145

Very disappointing that Keating has now opted out following on from givney, tierney and clarke going as well. Seeing that we have a realistic chance of getting to an Ulster final it makes the decisions all the more baffling but I suppose the demands on these players nowadays is getting worse ... I don't think any other county has had this number of players opt out ... Time for other players to stand up and stake their claim for a starting place - perhaps Terry will call in SJ as cover ...!

sidelineview (Cavan) - Posts: 109 - 14/01/2015 14:14:31    1683170

Would do no harm to have SJ back in as cover. With Keating gone, there's a real lack of top quality scorers. Will be interesting to see how bud fitzpatrick fares out this year but when you look around there doesnt't appear to be too many players you could really depend on on to kick scores consistently.

dangordon (Cavan) - Posts: 16 - 14/01/2015 15:02:41    1683194

SJ is not available he is just after an operation and will be out for several months. No point in having a panel of injured player's is there. ??

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 14/01/2015 18:02:22    1683260

I do wonder if some of you jokers even go to games. Your like less intelligent versions of joe brolly. All the talk of negative tactics is a bit old. If yous actually watched a few games you would notice that no team play with more than two or three forwards in advance of opposition when without the ball. Some unlike cavan break quicker but employ same massed defense. Also I seem to recall some of you goons claiming that priority for 2014 was promotion to division 2. Get real lads were not living in dublin.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 14/01/2015 19:58:05    1683315

sceptical

I do wonder if some of you jokers even go to games. Your like less intelligent versions of joe brolly

sceptical your are as stupid as you look for thank god for Joe Brolly he tells it as it is and you people just don't like the truth. Thankfully not just ordinary folk are talking or maybe people like Joe Brolly listen to what we ordinary folk are saying but don't have a chance to be heard for we are lost in the pack. I hope Joe Brolly continues to tell it as he sees it and long may he support the opinions of the ordinary folk. By the way I go to most matches but wondering if my money would be best kept in my pocket than watching what we are seeing pathetic something not called football.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 14/01/2015 20:35:49    1683337