McKenna Cup

Way to go Mowbar using my words to suit your own agenda. It's idiocy saying things like we're in for a long hard year or we're going backwards based on a McKenna cup game. Kerry seniors have gone on holiday rather than play the season open competition.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 11/01/2015 20:08:44    1682337

mowbar

Plain for everyone last night all the players that played last night are not near good enough for inter county football.

That's some statement mowbar

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 11/01/2015 21:31:48    1682381

doratheexplorer - noting that people is saying here is based on the Mc Kenna cup this year, people is just tired of watching them doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 11/01/2015 21:40:48    1682387

tweet from Seanie Johnston.

pity about the result still good for new players to get game time, 3 PTs from play won't get it done at this level, game wed to look fwd to
- Seanie Johnston (@Johnsts4) January 10, 2015

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 12/01/2015 13:19:55    1682522

Seanie who ? Lets not get hysterical, it was a McKenna cup game palyed on a winters night with snow for last 15 minutes. If a manager is going to experiment now is the time to do it, we beat Down who beat Monaghan at the weekend so we cant be that bad, we have a good few lads to come back as well. I thought that we deserved a draw and probably would have got it or more if that blizzard hadnt blew in

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 12/01/2015 13:43:39    1682539

Was there only one team playing in the blizzard?

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 12/01/2015 14:32:13    1682564

strong wind was definitely against us most of 2nd half

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 12/01/2015 14:57:28    1682569

Then we didn't score enough when we had it in the first half surely.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 12/01/2015 15:39:17    1682585

shaggylegend
County: Monaghan

1682164 Does it not speak volumes that the more experienced players have walked away especially with the Draw in the championship, it should wet the likes of Alan Clarke, Givney and Keating to play this year as an ulster final is in reach. I know in Monaghan the draw against cavan give the likes of Clerkin, Finlay and Lennnon the appetite to go for another year. Maybe the players arent happy with the Management and believe they have taken them as far as they could. A lot of them players have listened to Hyland's voice for a long time be it under age or with Senior. Keating and Givney would have listened to him from as young as 15 with development squads so its over ten years. A new Management team was maybe what was needed for the best interests of Cavan football at senior level.

You don't know what your talking about in fairness

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 12/01/2015 16:05:37    1682596

Clerkin Finlay and Lennon are playing on because Monaghan don't have any options coming through in midfield.Fact. They are making do with a pair of (very good) centre backs in there for the moment.
Clarke has done his time but new options (ie Moynagh) coming through are a better bet now. Strange to say it but I wouldn't be all that worried about losing Keating and Givney at this point- thay didn't add all that much to the collective in the last few seasons. Killian Clarke back is much more important.
Get in early on Wednesday night Shaggy, we will even give you folks some hot soup for your old men.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 12/01/2015 16:49:51    1682616

MadgeKing

Clarke has done his time but new options (ie Moynagh) coming through are a better bet now. Strange to say it but I wouldn't be all that worried about losing Keating and Givney at this point- that didn't add all that much to the collective in the last few seasons. Killian Clarke back is much more important.

Completely agree with this. As usual we have the lads like Slasher who love to moan out in force after the first loss of the year.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 12/01/2015 18:04:48    1682630

Weather wise it's of no benefit to players supporters or management to be playing football with the type of weather we having. It serves no purpose whatsoever . Play a knockout McKenna cup if weather and pitches permitting. Otherwise scrap it .

dirtybag (Cavan) - Posts: 242 - 12/01/2015 18:24:24    1682636

Lads, I'd much rather be with Keating and Givney than without them. Keating is the only strong mobile forward we have who can win his own ball and ON HIS DAY he can roast the best of full backs, I'll never forget the trimming he gave Neil McGee in 2012, McGee an All Star that year and AI winner. I don't think it's fair to fault our forwards, himself and Jack Brady were marking 6 Roscommon players in last years championship, 2 on 6 every time the ball was played in, so when you see tactics like that its not a bit wonder lads lose heart.

As for Givney, it's been a long time since we had a midfielder who could field a ball which Givney could do, granted consistency was a bit off, but he did show glimpses of great talent, it wasn't so long ago he was MOTM in a Sigerson final.

They are two talented players. Questions need to be answered as to why they are not there.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 12/01/2015 19:56:57    1682665

There not there because they are injured. Does that answer your question or would you like them to play while injured??

dirtybag (Cavan) - Posts: 242 - 12/01/2015 20:21:04    1682673

Lads, I'd much rather be with Keating and Givney than without them. Keating is the only strong mobile forward we have who can win his own ball and ON HIS DAY he can roast the best of full backs, I'll never forget the trimming he gave Neil McGee in 2012, McGee an All Star that year and AI winner. I don't think it's fair to fault our forwards, himself and Jack Brady were marking 6 Roscommon players in last years championship, 2 on 6 every time the ball was played in, so when you see tactics like that its not a bit wonder lads lose heart.

As for Givney, it's been a long time since we had a midfielder who could field a ball which Givney could do, granted consistency was a bit off, but he did show glimpses of great talent, it wasn't so long ago he was MOTM in a Sigerson final.

They are two talented players. Questions need to be answered as to why they are not there.

Genuine question here, can you name say 2 Championship games where Givney has dominated midfield. He's been playing Senior intercounty football since 2009 so you have about 5 years to choose from.

Terry has answered why Givney is not there. A bad injury combined with work commitments.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 12/01/2015 20:33:19    1682678

Cavan. 1.174
Monaghan. 1.000
Down 0.964
UUJ. 0.900

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 12/01/2015 21:38:04    1682709

Men it's abit of a disgrace how on this site yas are constantly complaining about the cavan players who have given up so much of their time over the years to wear the blue jersey. The 16th man doesn't work unless we are truly SUPPORTING our players instead of whining about them. Maybe looking at a few positives would suit ye lot better. There was a few good individual performances including G.McKiernan, K.Clarke, M.Reilly,J.Hayes and J.Brady has serious potential with a bit more guideance

culchie123 (Cavan) - Posts: 17 - 13/01/2015 10:25:06    1682739

well said Culchie

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 13/01/2015 11:19:45    1682756

Maith an fear Culchie!

dirtybag (Cavan) - Posts: 242 - 13/01/2015 12:42:58    1682793

Culchie

you have spoken sence these lads are taking time off work and other commitments to train and play for their county ,some of the people complaining on here are the very ones shouting for new players to be tried out when they are and it goes wrong once they desolate team ,managers all its janurary its the mckenna cup we have injuries we are experimenting all this negativity where else would you see it people talking about sitting at home because their not good enough if thats how you feel sit at home me i will always go and support these lads its a long year ahead and i for one am hoping for a good year ahead so my message to the cavan team and management is good luck and hopefully no injuries cavan abu

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 13/01/2015 13:23:49    1682813