Ulster SFC 2015. Cavan v Monaghan

Sorry lads - But I see little point in glorifying Terry Hyland and Cavan Footbal as it stands, when the fact of matter is that we are a very poor team. Theres enough bias written in the Celt every Wednesday, never mind Hartimes and Fred Flint coming out with it. My point is that people seem afraid to critica, perhaps they need it, because it might spur them on again.
The only advice I could give management is whatever theyre doing now, do the oppostite.
As I said before, we should play to our strengths, we have a young fast team, and we should be playing quick attacking football, not the defensive drab we're currently playing at the moment. The reason I brought up the Tyrone Match was because some bright spark dismissed Monaghan's defeat off Tyrone.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 23/04/2015 14:44:21    1716735

Supermon,

Don't mind what a lot of the people on this forum say. We have clowns here who think Cavan are going to steamroll all before them. The same people were at this "future is blue" garbage a few years ago too. Then we have other halfwits who think we'll be hammered by everyone.

There is a middle ground, but few posters occupy it. I find it laughable that someone above was downplaying Monaghan's achievements in division 1. As if we can talk. Trounced on home ground by a relegated Kildare. Show some humility and give respect. Right now Monaghan have 3 trophies in the last 3 years. We have nothing.

There is serious debate to be had in the coming weeks. Looking forward to it.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 23/04/2015 15:08:00    1716744

MadgeKing

Give us your take on Cavan's league then so. I'll look forward to this.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 23/04/2015 15:09:49    1716745

Ned_Stormcrow - I hate to burst your bubble, but werent you one of those very people pleading allegiance to Terrys army throughout the McKenna Cup & National League and then complaining at those being critical.

The majority of fans out there are genuine supporters, and would love to see Cavan doing well, but over the last few years, we have been exposed to this defensive game that the players are just not good enough to play it.

Yes, we dont have the quality of the top teams, but we do have quality in alot of areas, but for some unknown reason, from Senior Level right down to Minor, they insist with this negative football - its not enjoyable for the supporters, and its certainly not enjoyable for those guys playing it.

We need a manager to come in and bring the attacking game back, because that is what Cavan Football is based on.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 23/04/2015 17:08:06    1716805

Mowbar , my advice to you was to save your energy posting and go out and put all your energy into backing Monaghan to the hilt as you seem to give us no chance whatsoever . Put your money where your mouth is!!!! We don't have the players to play inter county football and yet we competed in Division 2 , nearly getting promoted . Cop on now - give a little bit of credit !

Deanmartin , you have brought up the Tyrone match now countless times . Change the record , it's got very very boring - we've played many matches since and you conveniently ignore any positives that we show .

Ned , it would be nice to have some middle ground on this forum as very few people occupy it and there's very little proper football discussion . And if you want to be one of the middle ground men don't be coming out with statements that we were trounced by Kildare in the league . Makes you look foolish .

Where do I see the two teams at the moment ? Monaghan are well ahead of us in the overall scheme of things - a fine team who can play football , like a battle and have an exceptional forward . They'll take a bit of stopping in the championship . All things being equal they should be red hot favourites against us but this is sport , it's a local derby so all rules go out the window . It will be close , tough and probably ugly and I'd expect the Farney to prevail but I'd still give us a middling chance . Monaghan most certainly won't be going out just to do enough and time their run as someone earlier suggested . They're not at that level yet and if they take that approach they will be beaten .

Cavan had a decent league if unspectacular . We were in every game up to the hour mark and bar some poor decisions could have won all our games and got promotion . But would have , could have , should have - bottom line is we are where we are and finished just about where we deserved . Next year we can expect a similar struggle and will be at our best to survive this division , with or without this management . Our squad is a bit light in numbers , we are lacking a few top forwards , there is a question mark over our CHB position and our management are a bit ponderous at times and don't always make the positive choices when thing are going badly . There is a question mark over our discipline as well , both player wise and management . But we are a very hard working team , we have some very talented players and on our day we are capable of running up a score . Our management still have the ear of the players as evidenced by our response to the Kildare defeat - when our lives depended on it the players responded . They will have them fired up for the 24th make no mistake .

Monaghan have had a great league with some wonderful scalps - beating Kerry in Tralee being the highlight . There was no shame in losing to Cork but the defeats to Dublin and Mayo would have been disappointing . However they did respond well to these hammerings narrowly losing out on a final appearance . Next year will be another challenge and survival will be far from a foregone conclusion - look at Derry this year . But they have the potential to stay up there and good luck to them . They are going into championship in a great state of mind - they have top players coming back from injury into what is already a very accomplished and talented team and they have a top top forward in a rich vein of form . They will be every neutrals favourite . Their management can do little wrong in their fans eyes either and I'm sure a lot of them are booking the tickets already for an Ulster Final appearance and hopefully some of that complacency will seep into some members of the team as often happens . Added to what will already be a highly charged occasion , if the game doesn't develop into how they expect it to (and these sort of games rarely do) then the doubts and panic might set in . We can only hope anyway!!!

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 23/04/2015 17:12:39    1716810

Deanmartin

The only advice I could give management is whatever theyre doing now, do the oppostite.

That's why you are the tactical genius we need giving running our teams, outstanding contribution.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 23/04/2015 18:20:25    1716842

Hardtimes

Ned , it would be nice to have some middle ground on this forum as very few people occupy it and there's very little proper football discussion . And if you want to be one of the middle ground men don't be coming out with statements that we were trounced by Kildare in the league . Makes you look foolish .

Firstly I won't be told what to write by you or by anyone else. Secondly what I stated was a fact. Understand? Trying to censor people makes you look foolish hardtimes.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 23/04/2015 18:22:40    1716843

deanmartin

Ned_Stormcrow - I hate to burst your bubble, but werent you one of those very people pleading allegiance to Terrys army throughout the McKenna Cup & National League and then complaining at those being critical.

No. I have no idea what you're talking about. I'm no fan of anyone. I follow Cavan, not Terry Hyland, not anyone else.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 23/04/2015 18:26:10    1716844

Hardtimes, thats a good articulate post. Agree largely with that summary. I'd also expect Monaghan to win, but at the same time I wouldn't rule out us doing a job on them. It's hope more than anything from my perspective.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 23/04/2015 18:30:56    1716846

Ned , I wasn't trying to insult or censor you . Very simply I was pointing out that to describe our defeat to Kildare as a trouncing would not be a very balanced analysis . I was at the game and don't need to be told of the facts differently !

Anyway , no harm . We can agree to disagree . Looking forward to the match in Breffni .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 23/04/2015 18:57:17    1716858

Hardtimes

Ned , I wasn't trying to insult or censor you . Very simply I was pointing out that to describe our defeat to Kildare as a trouncing would not be a very balanced analysis . I was at the game and don't need to be told of the facts differently !

Anyway , no harm . We can agree to disagree . Looking forward to the match in Breffni .

Apologies hardtimes, I took you up wrong. We have more than our fair share of forum police these days so you never know what's what. As I say, good analysis in that second post, agree with it.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 23/04/2015 19:52:44    1716874

Hardtimes a great post. Just when you think the forum on this site is gone to the dogs. I see on the National page too people are being turned of. But that probably best post I read in a long time.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 23/04/2015 20:31:12    1716884

No need to apologize at all Ned. We're all big boys here and our comments are on public record. While we reserve the right to comment we should also reserve the right to be challenged. Likewise I also apologise if I offended you.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 23/04/2015 21:12:15    1716896

Excellent post Hardtimes, well balanced and fair

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 24/04/2015 08:29:54    1716936

Are we going on the inside or the outside this year lads?

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 24/04/2015 09:48:34    1716972

Ha very good supermon!

wherever ye are going, it'll be via the back door! ;)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 24/04/2015 10:35:28    1717010

I doubt it somehow. I actually think cavan have a great group of players, but I do think ye would do better with a change of management. Usually i would be cautious against ye, but unless we have a shocker, which can happen to any team, we will have too much for ye, especially after playing division 1 teams all year. Im not sure Cavan have really progressed since we met in championship in 2013, but i feel that we have.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 24/04/2015 11:22:10    1717045

I don't think we were trounced by anyone in the league. and we were well in with Kildare until the sending off. and they certainly were not relegated at the time they played us.
Now some people on here are getting very angry and upset because we are not winning ulster's and all-irelands. they call the McKenna cup a mickey mouse competition , yet constantly harp back to a half hours of football played in that competition to back up their theory that we are amongst the worst teams in the country. lots of teams had games during the year when they scored very little if at all in a half of football including the great teams. Deanmartin, make up your mind. on the one hand you keep saying "we don't have the players" yet on the other you blame the management team for our perceived lack of success . well which is it ?.

Let me occupy the middle ground here. We do have some decent players, but not enough. we really could do with Keating and Givney for the championship. we could also do with Kevin Tierney as an option up front. If Barry Reilly is not going to be available then that is another minus. I feel he should have gotten more game time throughout the league. Some players seem to be given lots ogf games to get their confidence up and gell with the team yet others get 10 mins here and there and as a result maybe try too hard and don't show what they are capable of. by all accounts Barry was one of our best players in new york and has always been one of our most naturally gifted footballers. As regards the Monaghan game, we may well lose it but there's no shame in that. Monaghan are a very good team. There is also a possibility that we could win that game but every game in ulster is hard. don't be blaming the mgmt if we don't win every game and play fast free-flowing football. that is just not going to happen. anyone would think we were the only team to play a more defensive type of game. they are all doing it. we don't score enough because we are missing a few top quality forwards. (some available but not being picked, some unavailable)

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 24/04/2015 15:37:15    1717163

SGoldrick - The McKenna Cup is a mickey mouse competition in terms of whats at stake, but according to you and lot of others a few wins in it counts as massive progress. I keep referring to the Tyrone game because the likes of you guys seem to never see that bad side of Cavan Footbal, so regardless of a mickey mouse competition or an Ulster Championship, if a Senior InterCounty team fails to score in 35 mins or scores one goal during an entire National League Campaign, then there are obvious problems.

My point is we do not have the players to play a defensive game, thats been clear since day 1 of Terrys reign - maybe we dont have the players to play an attacking game, but how we know if we dont try it - but what I do know, when Cavan did try to play a good attacking style of football, for example, the first half of the Tyrone game, they actually played well.
I also witnessed some good attacking football in Gaelic Park, so perhaps I could be wrong, and Terry will actually let them play football against Monaghan, but its highly unlikely.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 24/04/2015 17:32:23    1717221

S Goldrick.... I agree with you almost totally but Management are to blame for players walking off the panel which as you rightly point out we cannot afford..... I have a feeling that one of our selectors is a big problem in this regard but it is up to Terry at the end of the day to sort it out.... Of course he says there is no problem and there in is the problem.....!!!!

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 24/04/2015 17:42:45    1717225