Ulster SFC 2015. Cavan v Monaghan

Goldrick is right, I think man for man, player for player, ourselves and Monaghan are much of a muchness. The difference is on the sideline, O'Rourke is getting everything out of those players, and has developed a very good running game. Plus he has one of the best forwards in Ireland.

Our team is capable of achieving so much more, and if we had all those other players back I'd feel a lot more confident. But I can't see us changing under the current management.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 21/04/2015 17:21:11    1716116

Again Deanmartin - go put 10 grand on Monaghan if you believe your own BS - there's a free 6 odd grand there for the taking . Why waste your time on here posting the obvious unless you're just a tedious boring attention seeker ?

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 21/04/2015 17:41:57    1716124

Heard through the grapevine that cavan are jetting off again for a week

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 21/04/2015 18:35:14    1716141

Ned Stormcrow .... You are spot on there... McManus aside there is little between the sides player wise...but the huge difference is on the line.. Monaghans progression since we last played them can be put down to good management while we seem to be going the other way since then....

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 21/04/2015 20:58:11    1716197

Beggan

D Wylie
Dunne
Walsh

McEnroe
Corey
Mone

McKiernan
D Hughes

KClarke
Mackey
Malone

McManus
KHughes
McGuinness

Subs r Wylie, m Reilly, argue, f Kelly, gollogly, McLoughlin, m Dunne

Cavan lads better at winning possession, Monaghan lads better at using it.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 21/04/2015 21:26:43    1716210

What is the point of picking this makey-up team that will never line out.... Better off trying to line out a team that might beat Monaghan and less of this silly stuff... A rumour that Barry Reilly is injured...any truth in that...? More important than a silly Cavaghan team..!!!!!

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 21/04/2015 21:50:30    1716229

Sean66, if you read my original post on this the point is that its 'just for fun'. You do know what that is right?

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 22/04/2015 09:02:50    1716251

Oh Its such fun.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 845 - 22/04/2015 12:23:34    1716359

Better off trying to line out a team that might beat Monaghan and less of this silly stuff......? More important than a silly Cavaghan team..!!!!!

My mistake Sean, I hadn't realise that Cavan team selections posted here will be of such great value on May 24th! Now lets all get to work analyzing the Monaghan team and we can send a dossier to Terry et al...(Maybe Tom Smith has been right all along).
B.Reilly not injured, heading south working for the summer though I hear.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 22/04/2015 12:46:26    1716369

deanmartin

SGoldrick - are you for real? ....we're a poor team, playing Division 2 football, with nothing to show over the last few years except one promotion. We failed to score in a full half of a Final this year, scored 1 goal in a National League Campaign, whilst Monaghan are competing confortably against the top teams in the Country, and you think theres not much between the teams.....

well there doesn't seem to be much between the two teams every time we play them. I mean down throughout history there has never been much in it, regardless of what division either team are in. as someone on here said , if you think that Monaghan are so much better then put all your confirmation money on them.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 22/04/2015 14:16:22    1716407

s goldrick

well there doesn't seem to be much between the two teams every time we play them. I mean down throughout history there has never been much in it, regardless of what division either team are in. as someone on here said , if you think that Monaghan are so much better then put all your confirmation money on them.

We've only played them twice in the last couple of years in games that actually matter. No doubt you will have people on here promoting the McKenna cup victories as being tantamount to Championship or league games, but realistically they count for nothing come May. We beat them in the league in 2013, they beat us in the championship that year. The Cavan team they faced then was stronger in terms of personnel too. We've lost key men while they've lost nobody.

But as you say, because its a historical derby game, it won't stun the world if we were to do a job on them.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 22/04/2015 14:53:03    1716417

Ned , they are a bigger challenge than last time in the championship make no mistake and our victories over then in the McKenna Cup will count for FA . However it's a mute point - no one is mentioning them . It seems the only McKenna Cup game that should be promoted or holds any relevance is one half of football against Tyrone.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 22/04/2015 16:44:02    1716459

Need to look at things differently- we weren't too hot in the league I know, but you would swear Monaghan swept all before them in Div 1 reading the comments here. A semi final can be reached by a mid-table finish in Division 1 so its not that big a deal.
What did they do in the league proper anyway?

Lost to Cork at home, beat a shambles of a Tyrone team, fell apart against Mayo, pipped Donegal in the worst match of the decade, beat a hopeless Derry at home, played a half-trained Kerry team and did well, were wiped out in 20 minutes by Dublin. Good achievement to stay in the Division, but probably not the stellar football that some on here have convinced themselves of. I mean, how many games have you actually seen Monaghan play this year?
I think its time to start looking at May 24th as the 50:50 game it really is. And no Ned, I'm not delusional

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 22/04/2015 17:23:10    1716473

Need to look at things differently- we weren't too hot in the league I know, but you would swear Monaghan swept all before them in Div 1 reading the comments here. A semi final can be reached by a mid-table finish in Division 1 so its not that big a deal.

Lost to Cork at home, beat a shambles of a Tyrone team, fell apart against Mayo, pipped Donegal in the worst match of the decade, beat a hopeless Derry at home, played a half-trained Kerry team and did well, were wiped out in 20 minutes by Dublin. Good achievement to stay in the Division, but probably not the stellar football that some on here have convinced themselves of. I mean, how many games have you actually seen Monaghan play this year?
I think its time to start looking at May 24th as the 50:50 game it really is. And no Ned, I'm not delusional

Jesus Madge you're bitter!

turkeyplucker (UK) - Posts: 137 - 22/04/2015 17:59:16    1716500

turkeyplucker
County: UK

Jesus Madge you're bitter!

Forget the league just look at last weeks Dublin V Monaghan match Dublin to be very honest were lucky to come out of that game with a win so if I were you I would access Monaghan on that performance alone and let me tell you this current panel of players we call county players playing for cavan have no chance of beating Monaghan, I am being unfair to about 5 players. Our only hope is that we might draw a few bad teams that are worse than us and hope we get a few wins and a run in the qualifiers. As for Sam we have a better chance of winning the lotto and thats slim and the Anglo Celt cup at this moment in time remote. Look beyond May the 24th for it's a Monaghan win.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 22/04/2015 20:07:22    1716547

Madgeking - the difference is they are a Division 1 team playing the top teams in the Country.

That shambles of a Tyrone team that they beat was a better version of the Tyrone team that kept Cavan scoreless in the 2nd half of the McKenna Cup Final. They beat Donegal in what you describe as the worst match of the decade - were you not in Breffni Park for the McKenna Cup or National League matches because I witnessed some of the worst football in my entire life time.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 23/04/2015 09:43:02    1716610

Good man Mowbar , what are you doing on the 24th ? Any chance you'd give the lads the team talk!!!!!

You're right Deanmartin , Monaghan played Division 1 and gave the best teams in the country their fill of it . While we struggled in the basement that is Division 2 against the worst teams in the country . And while you're here , on the subject of stats , could you please remind me again what we scored in the second half against Tyrone ? - I seem to have forgotten as it hasn't been mentioned here in a while . Also how many goals did we score in the league again ? - you failed to mention it in your last post . Thanks mate !

My only advice to the pair of you is to stop posting on here . Instead go out and sell the car , remortgage the house , do what you have to do . But get your hands on a large sum of cash and get on Monaghan with PP . There's a killing to be made .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 23/04/2015 13:10:17    1716688

Madge I'll take our wins in div 1 over wins against laois, galway and westmeath anyday of the week. Best of luck in Div 2 next year. Ye should avoid the drop if ye really try hard.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 23/04/2015 13:14:34    1716691

Deanmartintynan obsession with one McKenna cup game continues. I see Cavan are playing Meath in Ramor in the next week, perhaps you should tell the management what they should do to make everything better. I'm sure they'd love to hear from you in person.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 23/04/2015 13:40:10    1716705

hardtimes now you are trying to tell us to stop posting what next who do you think you are putin or Kim Jong-un

Look be honest why don't you take a deep breath and acknowledge we don't have the player's at this moment in time to play Inter-county football, I have been at every match and before I got the program I would have been able to pick the starting 15 before they walked out onto the pitch out from a person getting injured over the last day or two that we would not know about. Monaghan will be able to do the same in a few weeks time and even you will be able to do it as well while in the bookies or on the high stool watching the match for if you have been going to the matches like me and many others you would also know we don't have the talent it's that simple. You may ask why I go well as a Cavan supporter one can hope but over the last 5 or 6 years we have got the so called easier draw and what have we done "NOTHING" We are so wanting for quality player's it's unbelievable. Look at the teams that played in America many of them will be sitting on the bench or will be gone from the panel it's the way it is with the current management.
Monaghan will do enough to win no more, they will not go out to hammer us so don't be silly and be putting bet's of Cavan having a head start or what ever it is they do in the bookies. What price are Cavan to beat Monaghan and for Monaghan to beat Cavan the bookies don't get it wrong too often.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 23/04/2015 14:36:41    1716731