National League 2019

Replying To fredflint:  "I think that is fair. There were some bright sparks earlier in the campaign, although far from perfect, but the last two games were very poor. I cannot understand how we look so unsure on what is happening on the pitch regarding frees. Its incredible that Galligan keeps coming up the pitch to be told to go back and different fellas are taking them in different games. All over the place. Mickey needs to sort this out as in the grand scheme of things it is one of the easier things to do to tell people who is responsible for frees. Discipline also same. No improvement in last few games. Poor tackling, mouthing at the ref etc. We had 3 frees brought forward for talking back to the ref the last day and it seems its the same every game. If fellas want to mouth off, give them a game on the bench for it."
Very, very negative post.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 19/03/2019 13:40:19    2173696

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Very, very negative post."
Call it that if you want but I think it's realism - it's not an unfair post and it's backed up with some evidence. Our discipline has been poor in a few games and we've paid the price for it.

As for free-taking, it would be good to get settled on a taker or a couple of takers. Chopping and changing takers could dent lads' confidence. And if we're dithering around on the pitch over who takes frees, we could lose the chance to take a quick sneaky short one to potentially work a better scoring chance.

TheBlackDeath (Cavan) - Posts: 73 - 19/03/2019 14:47:41    2173710

At the end of the day, the same old mistakes let us down, and it seems to be the same players making those errors. A manager can put as much work into a team as he possibly can, but when you have those same players running into tackles, getting turned over and losing possession, making silly passes, there's not much a manager can do, yes he can sort out who is taking the frees, but he cant make a decision for a player in possession of a ball.
If we analyse any of our games, we've had as much possession as the opposition, but its what you do with the possession that counts. McVeety, Moynagh, Holla all through the league have been turned over by needlessly running into tackles time and time again, these lads are meant to be experienced players yet constantly do it. Ill discipline from the usual suspects have also been costly and thats not just this season, they've done it over the last 4/5 years as well.
Plenty of positives to be brought into the Championship, but cut out the sill errors and keep the discipline and we may just make a bit of progress.

But Cavan supporters need to be realistic, I see some lads saying they wouldn't swap McVeety for Ryan McHugh, a player of the year, Ulster and All Ireland winner - thats the kind of supporter we're dealing with here, the kind of delusional supporter who thinks Cavan are a top flight team and have the players that would grace most top teams. People need to lower their expectations, and once you do that, you'll become less disappointed. I've said it time and time again, Cavan Football is in serious trouble, the underage structure is in ruins, has been for a long time now and getting worse by the week. Multiple players aged between 17 & 20 have no football now and are walking away. The County Board had a chance to move the u17 back to u18, they had a chance to revamp the u20/u21 competition, but what did they do, they organised a mickey mouse u21 spring league, giving clubs a weeks notice, some of the big clubs didnt enter, whilst some of other big clubs are conceding matches cause they cant field players, off course you cant field players, because most of them have walked away as soon as they became overage for u17 and there was nothing else for them. For the record, soccer, basketball, rugby and event athletics are all thriving now in Cavan.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 19/03/2019 15:07:45    2173716

Replying To cavanblueman:  "When did we beat them in Division Two?"
My bad Div 3. Point remains the same, so why does it matter now that we beat them on the way to being relegated?

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 19/03/2019 15:33:59    2173724

Replying To TheBlackDeath:  "Call it that if you want but I think it's realism - it's not an unfair post and it's backed up with some evidence. Our discipline has been poor in a few games and we've paid the price for it.

As for free-taking, it would be good to get settled on a taker or a couple of takers. Chopping and changing takers could dent lads' confidence. And if we're dithering around on the pitch over who takes frees, we could lose the chance to take a quick sneaky short one to potentially work a better scoring chance."
Better one man missing 6 frees than 3 men missing 2 each...

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 19/03/2019 15:47:24    2173729

Replying To cavanblueman:  "At the end of the day, the same old mistakes let us down, and it seems to be the same players making those errors. A manager can put as much work into a team as he possibly can, but when you have those same players running into tackles, getting turned over and losing possession, making silly passes, there's not much a manager can do, yes he can sort out who is taking the frees, but he cant make a decision for a player in possession of a ball.
If we analyse any of our games, we've had as much possession as the opposition, but its what you do with the possession that counts. McVeety, Moynagh, Holla all through the league have been turned over by needlessly running into tackles time and time again, these lads are meant to be experienced players yet constantly do it. Ill discipline from the usual suspects have also been costly and thats not just this season, they've done it over the last 4/5 years as well.
Plenty of positives to be brought into the Championship, but cut out the sill errors and keep the discipline and we may just make a bit of progress.

But Cavan supporters need to be realistic, I see some lads saying they wouldn't swap McVeety for Ryan McHugh, a player of the year, Ulster and All Ireland winner - thats the kind of supporter we're dealing with here, the kind of delusional supporter who thinks Cavan are a top flight team and have the players that would grace most top teams. People need to lower their expectations, and once you do that, you'll become less disappointed. I've said it time and time again, Cavan Football is in serious trouble, the underage structure is in ruins, has been for a long time now and getting worse by the week. Multiple players aged between 17 & 20 have no football now and are walking away. The County Board had a chance to move the u17 back to u18, they had a chance to revamp the u20/u21 competition, but what did they do, they organised a mickey mouse u21 spring league, giving clubs a weeks notice, some of the big clubs didnt enter, whilst some of other big clubs are conceding matches cause they cant field players, off course you cant field players, because most of them have walked away as soon as they became overage for u17 and there was nothing else for them. For the record, soccer, basketball, rugby and event athletics are all thriving now in Cavan."
Terrific post. Soccer and rugby will make inevitable inroads if Cavan don't become competitive in football, and when I mean competitive I mean challenging for Ulster titles. Ireland is a changing place, we're a much more cosmopolitan country than we were before, and just as choices on shop shelves for all sorts of products have increased, so too has the availability of sports to young people. Rugby is making a big impact in kildare and meath, and that's inevitable given the success of Ireland.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 19/03/2019 16:13:03    2173734

Couple of things.
Hard to understand the mentality of M Mc Gleenan and MGraham/Mc Cabe started out by attempts to dismantle the progress made under the previous manager. Surely the county board should have asked the obvious question.... we have made progress from Div 3 to Div 1, what are you goin to do to build on that progress?
I find it unbelievable that both managers say they are to start and build a team and be a work in progress and the fans need to be patient.
Surely the interview board had a mandate from county board to point out we had a lot in place and we want you to build on it.
The current panel looks like lazy selection from the current management team, they watched the senior county final took a few new players from that, looked at their own clubs for a few more and filled it out with a few 'experienced lads'.
The previous poster who highlighted a few experienced players who run and solo the ball into the tackle, or the ones that engage in Hail Mary shots and look amazin when 2 outta 6 of them land don't mention the 4 that got away. And as for indiscipline, It's mindless stuff
We urgently need to sort out midfield, we urgently need players who can mark men and tackle in defence as opposed to men "markin space"! We also need at least 3 natural forwards. We need a settled free taker.
How hard can it be?

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 19/03/2019 17:30:52    2173752

Replying To shannon414:  "Couple of things.
Hard to understand the mentality of M Mc Gleenan and MGraham/Mc Cabe started out by attempts to dismantle the progress made under the previous manager. Surely the county board should have asked the obvious question.... we have made progress from Div 3 to Div 1, what are you goin to do to build on that progress?
I find it unbelievable that both managers say they are to start and build a team and be a work in progress and the fans need to be patient.
Surely the interview board had a mandate from county board to point out we had a lot in place and we want you to build on it.
The current panel looks like lazy selection from the current management team, they watched the senior county final took a few new players from that, looked at their own clubs for a few more and filled it out with a few 'experienced lads'.
The previous poster who highlighted a few experienced players who run and solo the ball into the tackle, or the ones that engage in Hail Mary shots and look amazin when 2 outta 6 of them land don't mention the 4 that got away. And as for indiscipline, It's mindless stuff
We urgently need to sort out midfield, we urgently need players who can mark men and tackle in defence as opposed to men "markin space"! We also need at least 3 natural forwards. We need a settled free taker.
How hard can it be?"
Name 3 "natural forwards" in cavan that aren't on panel.
Name a top 8 team that doesn't operate some form of zonal defence (marking space) and goes man to man.

Your post shows your total lack of understanding of the modern game

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 19/03/2019 18:38:52    2173769

How hard can it be?"
When you don't have the structures in place, very hard.

For years now we seem to have a revamped panel every season, with not enough continuity of personnel. We always seem to have lads in key positions in their debut seasons.

If you had of asked me in 2013 what the spine of our team would be in 2019, I'd have said,

Alan ó méara,
Rory Dunne,
James mc enroe,
David Givney,
Niall McDermot,
Eugene Keating.

Not a single one of them remain.

Why is this?

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 19/03/2019 18:59:58    2173775

How hard can it be?"
Well a few years ago we had Martin Dunne who was expected to track back to his own 45m line to collect ball under TH Black Death football and to be fair what out and out scoring forward would be interested in doing that?
Last 2 years we had Seanie Johnston playing out around the middle of the field spraying forward passes to where he should have been himself. Least he knew where the post were when he did get the chance and would also put some of our present so called free takers to shame .
Sad reality is if he was fit he could still do a job for 30 minutes even at 34/35 years of age.That doesn't say much for the present gang of so called forwards. Road runners would be a better name for some of them.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 19/03/2019 19:10:15    2173776

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "When you don't have the structures in place, very hard.

For years now we seem to have a revamped panel every season, with not enough continuity of personnel. We always seem to have lads in key positions in their debut seasons.

If you had of asked me in 2013 what the spine of our team would be in 2019, I'd have said,

Alan ó méara,
Rory Dunne,
James mc enroe,
David Givney,
Niall McDermot,
Eugene Keating.

Not a single one of them remain.

Why is this?"
One is in Australia, one in the UK and every effort made to get him. One in Ireland and refuses to come in and is past it anyway. One had a terrible injury and the other 2 I don't know. I suppose you can tell us though your conspiracy theory on it.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 19/03/2019 19:12:20    2173777

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Well a few years ago we had Martin Dunne who was expected to track back to his own 45m line to collect ball under TH Black Death football and to be fair what out and out scoring forward would be interested in doing that?
Last 2 years we had Seanie Johnston playing out around the middle of the field spraying forward passes to where he should have been himself. Least he knew where the post were when he did get the chance and would also put some of our present so called free takers to shame .
Sad reality is if he was fit he could still do a job for 30 minutes even at 34/35 years of age.That doesn't say much for the present gang of so called forwards. Road runners would be a better name for some of them."
Martin Dunne had one good year, under Terry Hyland, but he needed Keating to win the ball for him. He was found out in championship and did not do the conditioning work required. Your other hero is past it. So I'm just wondering where Mickey will magic these 3 natural forwards out off.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 19/03/2019 19:56:26    2173793

Replying To fredflint:  "One is in Australia, one in the UK and every effort made to get him. One in Ireland and refuses to come in and is past it anyway. One had a terrible injury and the other 2 I don't know. I suppose you can tell us though your conspiracy theory on it."
Rory Dunne was the only 1 of the players you mentioned who played in 2016 in Hylands last game in charge. Now he had all those players at his disposal since 2012 right?
So how come R Dunne was the only one who played in the qualifier against Derry in 2016? Especially if team building was the name of the game in 2013.
Now there was a manager with 80/90 young players at his disposal and in 4/5 years couldn't get a settled spine.
And you wonder what's wrong with Cavan football??

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 19/03/2019 19:56:56    2173794

McDermott in Australia. Keating lost interest in football, and the rumour is he isn't even playing club football this year.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 19/03/2019 20:33:14    2173803

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Well a few years ago we had Martin Dunne who was expected to track back to his own 45m line to collect ball under TH Black Death football and to be fair what out and out scoring forward would be interested in doing that?
Sad reality is if he was fit he could still do a job for 30 minutes even at 34/35 years of age.That doesn't say much for the present gang of so called forwards. Road runners would be a better name for some of them."
I'd agree with u about Seanie Johnston if he is was fit now I'd have him on the team . at least he can take a score , and he looks like he gives a crap that he wants to win .

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 19/03/2019 21:39:22    2173816

Replying To fredflint:  "One is in Australia, one in the UK and every effort made to get him. One in Ireland and refuses to come in and is past it anyway. One had a terrible injury and the other 2 I don't know. I suppose you can tell us though your conspiracy theory on it."
Thought you were leaving? All these negative posts ain't good for your blood pressure :D :D

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 19/03/2019 22:00:43    2173817

Replying To FoolsGold:  "McDermott in Australia. Keating lost interest in football, and the rumour is he isn't even playing club football this year."
It's not that I'm interested in what these guys are at now, I'm intrigued as to why so many key Cavan players quit in their prime. Sure, every county has a few new players year on year, but you never see Mayo lose their most important players, nor Tyrone, nor Monaghan. With us though, we seem to have inexperienced lads in key positions almost every season. Constantly "building" which I suspect is just a euphemism for "don't get your hopes up".

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 19/03/2019 22:04:01    2173819

Where is K Clarke coming from with his clip on the home page when he say's Dublin have nothing to play for?? Does he not realise it's still mathematically possible for Dublin to make the top two so he is wrong and Dublin will pile up as much scores in case it's a three or four way tie with 8 points each. I know they have a strong score for all ready. It's also still mathematically possible for Cavan to stay in Division 1 if results go their way.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 20/03/2019 12:09:07    2173908

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "Where is K Clarke coming from with his clip on the home page when he say's Dublin have nothing to play for?? Does he not realise it's still mathematically possible for Dublin to make the top two so he is wrong and Dublin will pile up as much scores in case it's a three or four way tie with 8 points each. I know they have a strong score for all ready. It's also still mathematically possible for Cavan to stay in Division 1 if results go their way."
Dublin can't make top two with 8 points, Galway are playing Tyrone so either one of them will end up on a minimum of 9 points

Cavan_Ned (Cavan) - Posts: 93 - 20/03/2019 12:41:07    2173914

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "Where is K Clarke coming from with his clip on the home page when he say's Dublin have nothing to play for?? Does he not realise it's still mathematically possible for Dublin to make the top two so he is wrong and Dublin will pile up as much scores in case it's a three or four way tie with 8 points each. I know they have a strong score for all ready. It's also still mathematically possible for Cavan to stay in Division 1 if results go their way."
It's not possible for Dublin to make the league final. Galway play Tyrone so one at a minimum will end up on 9.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 20/03/2019 12:58:11    2173918