National League 2019

I actually think Cavan could win ulster ,get to an all ireland final and lose to Dublin to a joe sheridanesque goal and some of the posters on here would still be ridiculing the lads and lamenting lads that should've been on the panel. if the lads playing have even a fraction of the negativity shown on this forum then its a very bad state of affairs.

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 06/02/2019 13:36:15    2162976

Replying To EastCavan:  "We have no players who would make the dublin squad"
There not there to make the Dublin squad who care who would make it or not?
We ran Galway and Kerry to 3 points with a new manager and some new players.
Could have won both games with a bit of luck so alls not lost yet.
Time to get behind the boys and maybe we can get a result against Tyrone , Monaghan and Roscommon. There a few teams in the same boat as ourselves. Tyrone don't seem no great shakes and we need to break the Roscommon hoodoo and can treat Monaghan game as a dress rehearsal for the championship and get paddy's weekend off to a great start.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 06/02/2019 13:55:13    2162982

Replying To blueman1903:  "Why do you want our players to make the Dublin team? We must be the hardest county for a player to commit to play for !! Because if you can't get on the Dublin team you are no good? Maybe they should all quit? Because us cavan fans can not be happy to be in div 1! We should be hammering Dublin and Kerry and galway mayo and all them teams after all we have a new manager there a couple of months now ."
I would like to think every division 1 team would have 4 or 5 players that would walk onto the Dublin panel. If not them maybe the team shouldn't be division 1.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 06/02/2019 21:16:22    2163084

Replying To Virginia:  "Great pitch, grand New Jersey's but all of these things don't make a great team unfortunately.
Apart from Gearoid , Mc Vitty and Martin Reilly what quality players do we have and would any of them make the Dublin team"
Faulkner, Ray Galligan, Mackey and Clarke are quality players. There are others like Caoimhin and Gerry Smith who have the potential to be.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 06/02/2019 21:59:34    2163097

Replying To monaghanmad:  "I would like to think every division 1 team would have 4 or 5 players that would walk onto the Dublin panel. If not them maybe the team shouldn't be division 1."
Well Monaghan have 1 (McManus)

I'd have beggan in it too but I'd be in the minority I feel.

Teams are in their respective divisions in the league on merit btw. Ye will stay up due to Dublin holidaying so late in the winter but that's how the fixtures fell. It is what it is.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 06/02/2019 22:01:59    2163099

Replying To cavanman47:  "Well Monaghan have 1 (McManus)

I'd have beggan in it too but I'd be in the minority I feel.

Teams are in their respective divisions in the league on merit btw. Ye will stay up due to Dublin holidaying so late in the winter but that's how the fixtures fell. It is what it is."
Is it good news for Cavan that Mayo have made five changes from the team that played in Omagh. It looks like Horan is spoilt for choice at the moment it would be great if Cavan had these problems.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 08/02/2019 11:44:56    2163422

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "Is it good news for Cavan that Mayo have made five changes from the team that played in Omagh. It looks like Horan is spoilt for choice at the moment it would be great if Cavan had these problems."
Oh yeah, great news! David Clarke and Ger Cafferky are complete rookies at this level aren't they!!??

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 08/02/2019 11:59:15    2163426

Replying To cavanman47:  "Oh yeah, great news! David Clarke and Ger Cafferky are complete rookies at this level aren't they!!??"
Lol you are right off course still starting young lads and getting good results all the same. Still you never know he is mixing so there might be a chance Saturday.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 08/02/2019 13:08:51    2163447

Replying To cavanman47:  "Oh yeah, great news! David Clarke and Ger Cafferky are complete rookies at this level aren't they!!??"
It's definitely good news that Ger Cafferkey is playing he can be got at.

theDagger1986 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 08/02/2019 14:53:45    2163470

Lets hope for another improved from last Sunday.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 08/02/2019 15:09:05    2163475

It's a strong Mayo team. Any word on mcvitty and Holla. Mcvitty didn't feature in sigerson during the week despite being named to start.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 08/02/2019 15:23:25    2163479

Replying To kildare blue:  "Lets hope for another improved from last Sunday."
Improved ????? from what?????

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 08/02/2019 18:05:54    2163515

What's the rules regarding naming the panel or is there one , a day before the game ?

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 09/02/2019 11:47:35    2163655

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "Improved ????? from what?????"
Last Sunday was an improvement on the week before. I take it you weren't in Galway Sean?

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 09/02/2019 12:59:46    2163673

Replying To goonie:  "What's the rules regarding naming the panel or is there one , a day before the game ?"
Normally as a Club Breifni member we would get it 24 hrs in advance but not got it so far and it's now 1300hrs on the 9/2/2019 maybe the PRO is away??

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 09/02/2019 13:02:48    2163674

He's just going to name the same 15 every week and make late changes before throw in, what advantage that bring I couldn't tell you.

IamADragon (Cavan) - Posts: 303 - 09/02/2019 16:47:10    2163712

3 from 3 lads. Consistency is key!!!

kupa (Monaghan) - Posts: 281 - 09/02/2019 20:34:38    2163755

Marty Clarke hit the nail on the head there on Eir Sport, we are not division one standard we are a division two team.
I was impressed with the first half but once the opposition up the gears after the break we struggle. I taught Faulkener was are standout player very impressed with him plays with his heart on his sleeve . Rehill is a good prospect and McVeety showed glimpses . You couldn't pick to many out after that. The decisions on the line were poor I taught the changes were strange, after three games not one sub has made an impact. In fairness to McGlennan maybe he didn't get the credit he deserved two years ago when we picked up points in this division.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 09/02/2019 20:59:09    2163780

We simply don't have a scoring inside forward and until we find one or find a way to play without one we are going nowhere in a hurry.

IamADragon (Cavan) - Posts: 303 - 09/02/2019 21:05:42    2163783

Replying To blueskies:  "Marty Clarke hit the nail on the head there on Eir Sport, we are not division one standard we are a division two team.
I was impressed with the first half but once the opposition up the gears after the break we struggle. I taught Faulkener was are standout player very impressed with him plays with his heart on his sleeve . Rehill is a good prospect and McVeety showed glimpses . You couldn't pick to many out after that. The decisions on the line were poor I taught the changes were strange, after three games not one sub has made an impact. In fairness to McGlennan maybe he didn't get the credit he deserved two years ago when we picked up points in this division."
I am glad you mentioned Mattie for he did not get the credit he deserved.
If you watched the Tyrone match for example Cavan were five points up at half time and lost I think by six this was because of interference by one of the management who shall remain nameless. Drew with Monaghan beat Mayo and drew with Kerry a game we should have won also only once again taking off our best play maker from the middle of the park we lost our momentum beaten by Donegal after being let down by one of our players who got a red card. In the monaghan game looking at my stats we kicked 9 balls directly into the monaghan goal keepers hands you cannot win a game doing that. Dublin did not destroy us either so to be fair Cavan were too quick looking for his head. Players not wanting to play for him should never have been called back in again in my opinion.
====================================================================
Sadly I fear for this team they don't have it I am sorry to say.
Propping up the table with an extra game over Tyrone.
I cannot see Cavan get much change from their remaining matches.
They will not beat that Dublin team thats for sure so that leaves them with 6 points to fight for from Tyrone Monaghan and Roscommon.
They will not get enough if any to stay in Division 1 so Division 2 beckons

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 09/02/2019 21:37:28    2163810