Under 17 Ulster Championship 2018

The future is white and blue. Truth be told Cavan football in a really bad place at the moment.

Farney1977 (Monaghan) - Posts: 59 - 01/07/2018 18:46:58    2117322

The only consolation is that however long the world continues to spin, no monaghan man will ever know what it feels like to lift Sam Maguire.

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 01/07/2018 19:31:13    2117346

2018 will go down as a summer to forget. Next year is the 50th Anniversary of the Ulster Championship win in Casement Park, who could have thought leaving Belfast that day that the next 50 years would have brought such a famine.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 02/07/2018 06:58:56    2117479

Replying To kildare blue:  "2018 will go down as a summer to forget. Next year is the 50th Anniversary of the Ulster Championship win in Casement Park, who could have thought leaving Belfast that day that the next 50 years would have brought such a famine."
Certainly nobody would have foreseen the dramatic demise of a football superpower.

What was it?

Was it the end of the troubles? Did this allow GAA to flourish in Ulster and so Cavan no longer had hegemony in the province?

Was it complacency on the part of the Cavan people?

Bad administration?

De-population out of Cavan?

Incredible to think it's fifty years since we dominated football in the province.

Sadly it'll be fifty more before we ever dominate again if we don't urgently change tack.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 02/07/2018 13:47:18    2117702

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Certainly nobody would have foreseen the dramatic demise of a football superpower.

What was it?

Was it the end of the troubles? Did this allow GAA to flourish in Ulster and so Cavan no longer had hegemony in the province?

Was it complacency on the part of the Cavan people?

Bad administration?

De-population out of Cavan?

Incredible to think it's fifty years since we dominated football in the province.

Sadly it'll be fifty more before we ever dominate again if we don't urgently change tack."
1968 the end of the troubles?! If only.

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 02/07/2018 14:55:50    2117737

Replying To GallantJohnJoe:  "1968 the end of the troubles?! If only."
Clearly I meant at the start of the 90's.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 02/07/2018 16:15:55    2117784

Replying To kildare blue:  "2018 will go down as a summer to forget. Next year is the 50th Anniversary of the Ulster Championship win in Casement Park, who could have thought leaving Belfast that day that the next 50 years would have brought such a famine."
We didn't win the Ulster championship in 1968. Down did. 1969 we did

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 02/07/2018 16:22:08    2117789

You'd have to wonder how strong Ulster was, when Cavan were dominating in a 9 County province. Cavan obviously had a good team, but what was going on in the other Counties. Cavan won many Ulster titles during that perioud, but only 5 All Irelands.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 02/07/2018 17:06:50    2117809

From the outside looking in the club football has a lot to answer for. Club football is 10 years behind Monagahn. The standard of coaching and management set ups is poor. How many Cavan clubs video games ? How many clubs do s and c? How many clubs have food after training? A high percentage in monaghan are doing this. We are producing better club players for our counties ... a lot of posters here seem to think the county team must do it all.

The development of players must come from clubs.

kupa (Monaghan) - Posts: 281 - 02/07/2018 17:47:42    2117835

One thing which is hard to reconcile about yesterday's results is that we beat Derry earlier in the competition, they had previously beaten Monaghan. Now both Derry and Monaghan make it to the final.

You really have to admire Derry's lack of respect of Tyrone. They have no difficulty putting them away at under age level!

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 02/07/2018 18:13:16    2117846

Replying To kildare blue:  "One thing which is hard to reconcile about yesterday's results is that we beat Derry earlier in the competition, they had previously beaten Monaghan. Now both Derry and Monaghan make it to the final.

You really have to admire Derry's lack of respect of Tyrone. They have no difficulty putting them away at under age level!"
We bet Monaghan too.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 02/07/2018 18:46:36    2117864

Replying To kupa:  "From the outside looking in the club football has a lot to answer for. Club football is 10 years behind Monagahn. The standard of coaching and management set ups is poor. How many Cavan clubs video games ? How many clubs do s and c? How many clubs have food after training? A high percentage in monaghan are doing this. We are producing better club players for our counties ... a lot of posters here seem to think the county team must do it all.

The development of players must come from clubs."
Any club game I've being at has usually two cameras at it recording. One from each club. S and C has being common practice for years and I know lots of clubs providing food after training.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 02/07/2018 18:48:58    2117866

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "Any club game I've being at has usually two cameras at it recording. One from each club. S and C has being common practice for years and I know lots of clubs providing food after training."
Well said doratheexplorer....Kupa has a habit of jumping on the bandwagon.......you know the type ..........you win then everything is great.......but lose then every single thing is wrong........and as knowledgeable gaa supporters know ..........that is never the case !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 02/07/2018 21:27:25    2117911

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "We bet Monaghan too."
No we didnt. We beat Derry and Fermanagh.

I'm afraid yer man in charge is very naive tactically and thinks playing attacking football means you don't need to work on the opposition. To be outsmarted by Banty says it all really.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 02/07/2018 23:06:31    2117952

who remembers the days as a 16 yr old, that you played sport for fun. Enjoyed the craic, met with friends, went fishing, went for a cycle and basically enjoyed life.

Sport was a past time. Something you did because you enjoyed it.

Now according to some posters here, we should abandon life, having fun and being young and free and become regimental in our lives to play an amateur game for your local club.

"It's only a few years. Put your life on hold and dedicate it to the county cause "! Fail exams, repeat exams, travel from Dublin or elsewhere for training, travel away from home for games, return late at night, try to get a lift, train or bus in the wee small hours or early in the morning. Then when they are done with you, you are disposed off, maybe do all that and never feature. Career on hold, study affected and the county don't care.

Their life becomes a never ending cycle of Eat this, don't eat that, train, train, train, do weights, eat protein, hydrate, focus, focus..................

What happened to letting young lads and girls enjoy themselves. Live their lives and have some fun.

Life is serious enough, there is more pressure on young people than in the past and now we want to turn their past time into something serious and life consuming. I agree we all need exercise but, hey, everything in moderation.

It's no wonder their are high drop out rates, clubs are struggling, and playing numbers are down. It's all become too serious, too regimental and too time consuming. Life is too short for this crap and young people are reacting by dropping out of clubs or county panels.

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 03/07/2018 09:23:59    2118002

Replying To fredflint:  "No we didnt. We beat Derry and Fermanagh.

I'm afraid yer man in charge is very naive tactically and thinks playing attacking football means you don't need to work on the opposition. To be outsmarted by Banty says it all really."
My mistake Derry bet Banty.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 03/07/2018 10:58:33    2118033

Replying To fredflint:  "No we didnt. We beat Derry and Fermanagh.

I'm afraid yer man in charge is very naive tactically and thinks playing attacking football means you don't need to work on the opposition. To be outsmarted by Banty says it all really."
To be outsmarted by the Banty is no disgrace for he can hold his own with the best. With juvenile players they can be outstanding today and be total rubbish tomorrow hard to understand.
Yes tactically we seem to be very naive at all levels hurlers U17 U20 and off course our seniors and hard to take the outrageous performances of our teams representing our county.
A serious revamp for I feel we are over doing it with technology that is over taking the ability to read the games ourself.
Manual coaches I feel have nothing to offer the game for a book cannot read the game that is being played in front of you.
Looking forward over the next few weeks to hearing of resignation's so that the county can start looking for potential managers.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 03/07/2018 14:05:25    2118092

Replying To mowbar:  "To be outsmarted by the Banty is no disgrace for he can hold his own with the best. With juvenile players they can be outstanding today and be total rubbish tomorrow hard to understand.
Yes tactically we seem to be very naive at all levels hurlers U17 U20 and off course our seniors and hard to take the outrageous performances of our teams representing our county.
A serious revamp for I feel we are over doing it with technology that is over taking the ability to read the games ourself.
Manual coaches I feel have nothing to offer the game for a book cannot read the game that is being played in front of you.
Looking forward over the next few weeks to hearing of resignation's so that the county can start looking for potential managers."
Your right there sean.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 03/07/2018 18:24:44    2118170

From being at the game the other night, the biggest shame was the way Cavan set up 13 players behind the ball, it was baffling as Cavan had a strong wind behind them. Monaghan had 70% possession in the first 30 minutes.
Cavan management never gave the young lads a chance to win.
I don't know how good monaghan are, simply because Cavan show no ambition.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 03/07/2018 18:49:25    2118177