Ulster Championship

Replying To ponger:  "The reality was that we hadn't enough grit about us yesterday and weren't good enough. We got bossed. I was looking at the stats before the game and all the Donegal lads were 13st,14st,15st etc.. our stats were the 12st and 13st. I not saying we go all out and bulk up, but it was obvious in the tackle and aggression. That said i'm not sure how Donegal are lasting the distance carrying that bulk

Couple of other things yesterday
- if you are going to push up on the kickout then all push up not 5 out of 6
- The Donegal niggle off the ball was pure blatant especially holding runners and dare i say sledging. I'm not sure there is a rule against it though.
- Poor Cavan support...jaysus where were you all
- A yellow card for no gumshield.. thats simple stuff
- We are short options at midfield.
- Since we changed from a blanket defense we almost need to learn again how to defend with 1 or 2 less back.
- Though we got some nice quick ball in at times, However our final ball looked nervy.
- Donegal have found a few more players

I would have a bit of optimism for the qualifier especially since McVeety and M Reilly got game time and hopefully half dont go off to America. Some of the others need to get cute and wise very quickly.."
If strength and conditioning done properly you can bulk up while maintaining speed and mobility. You can lose a few kilos as you get older to maintain mobility.

Nobody was booked for a gumshield. Gunners yellow was for a bodycheck that should have being a black.

We have a psychologist involved. Not a very good one though.

We've overtrained and players were dead.

Dropping your best potential at mf is criminal.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 14/05/2018 20:17:35    2100759

Yesterday was proof of the poor quality of a number of our defenders.
A lot of those guys looked good when hidden in a mass defence system, different Baal game when a step up to mark a man, defend , tackle, turn ball over we just didn't have the skills. Some of our defenders great to stand in a space but there it ends.
No gettin away from it. We are in a very bad space. Every commentator on radio tv and newspaper has avoided even to mention Cavan. Not good.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 14/05/2018 20:41:48    2100767

Replying To ponger:  "The reality was that we hadn't enough grit about us yesterday and weren't good enough. We got bossed. I was looking at the stats before the game and all the Donegal lads were 13st,14st,15st etc.. our stats were the 12st and 13st. I not saying we go all out and bulk up, but it was obvious in the tackle and aggression. That said i'm not sure how Donegal are lasting the distance carrying that bulk

Couple of other things yesterday
- if you are going to push up on the kickout then all push up not 5 out of 6
- The Donegal niggle off the ball was pure blatant especially holding runners and dare i say sledging. I'm not sure there is a rule against it though.
- Poor Cavan support...jaysus where were you all
- A yellow card for no gumshield.. thats simple stuff
- We are short options at midfield.
- Since we changed from a blanket defense we almost need to learn again how to defend with 1 or 2 less back.
- Though we got some nice quick ball in at times, However our final ball looked nervy.
- Donegal have found a few more players

I would have a bit of optimism for the qualifier especially since McVeety and M Reilly got game time and hopefully half dont go off to America. Some of the others need to get cute and wise very quickly.."
Sitting there watching that game in Ballybofey yesterday.It's frustrating and annoying to see my county team get such a lesson in how to prepare an Ulster Championship game. We still don't have the right team management structures in place. How was that Cavan prepared for the challenge yesterday.? It wasn't. Some decisions that was made yesterday is unthinkable. We have always supported our County team in numbers over the years. There doesn't appear to be much interest in the team.

Yes, I am calling for a management change. In the interest of Cavan Football and its followers.

upandcomingblue (Cavan) - Posts: 37 - 14/05/2018 20:51:30    2100770

Sitting there yesterday was do depressing , i said on a previous message on this at the start if the year that cavan have no leaders or center back , holla brady is a great number 5 or 7 but cannot play center back , we are carrying 5or 6 players aswell , i duno y players wont come into the cavan panal we dont have near the best 15 players in cavan on the panel if this is because of the negitivitey management show , i think we need a fresh start , no leader since alan clarke left . We are going backwards with this team .

cavanlawd123 (Cavan) - Posts: 70 - 14/05/2018 21:11:31    2100773

Some of you have called for a change of management.

I'm not sure that would fix the problem.

Look, ultimately we're a county that have one provincial title since 1969. That's absolutely abysmal.

When you're representing a county that are never expected to win anything, you're mind is bound to be affected. Its a very difficult thing to change a losers mentality which is sadly what I fear our players have.

Perhaps this is why we have so many opt outs. These lads can see the wood from the trees and recognise it isn't worth their effort.

Its a decades long rot that isn't showing any signs of abetting. The underage success was a false dawn. Nonetheless last year's minors and indeed this year's give us a glimmer of hope for the future.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 14/05/2018 21:41:11    2100781

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Worry is reserved for a few years down the line when McManus retires. Then it's time to panic. Make hay whilst the sun shines, those dark days will return sooner rather than later."
What a truly poor post ....it brings shame to all true Cavan supporters. Very sorry to disappoint you Cavan Shambles but unlike your own county Monaghan have some very talented scoring forwards now to aid the likes of Conor & Kieran Hughes this year.......like Jack McCarron & Conor McCarthy with David Garland & Bernard McGinn not far behind. McGinn has been out for over a year with cruciate injury and he is truly something special.

So please don't sit up at night worrying about Monaghan's scoring process, now and in the future......... it's sorted.

Enjoy your scenic tour of Ireland for however long it lasts....your county needs you !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 14/05/2018 23:16:15    2100816

Why is everyone so shocked that we are not as good as Donegal ? . I said we would do well to keep it at 10 points. This was evident from watching both teams in the league and given our injuries. so nothing happened on Sunday that was unexpected. Despite the fact that some respected local sports journos were predicting a Cavan victory. We DID take the div 2 final seriously and shipped a very heavy score. We were lucky v Down and Tipp. We played as well as expected against Donegala so I am not sure why there is a backlash. calm down folks. We can win a few qualifier games if the draw is kind to us.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 15/05/2018 00:01:29    2100824

Maybe Mc gleenan is not the messiah but we have massive turnover in players

2013 Team v's derry

CAVAN: Alan O'Mara; Tomas Corr, Rory Dunne, Killian Clarke; James McEnroe, Alan Clarke, Ronan Flanagan; Damien O'Reilly, David Givney; Cian Mackey, Jack Brady, Fergal Flanagan; Martin Reilly, Martin Dunne, Eugene Keating.

We only have 3 from that starting team ..i wonder how many monaghan have from 2013

We lacked physique ...were any of the Cavan backs bigger or stronger than the guy they were marking ? Same for the forwards ...

I think scoreline flattered us ..we scored in Donegal downtime after the first 15 mins ..never in contention.

eamonnmac (Cavan) - Posts: 59 - 15/05/2018 01:03:28    2100827

Replying To sidelineview:  "Very disappointing performance but with the benefit of hindsight it was coming. Tipperary opened us up with only 14 men but we struggled over them and obviously the rossie performance showed holes in our back line. By all accounts it was a struggle against Longford in a friendly a few weeks back and when I think back, Down had chances against us in the league but couldn't convert - Donegal are a better team than those named. Then consider the injuries, dara is a big player for us and when he was not fit to start thats a big blow, as big for cavan as if donegal were missing murphy - Unfortunately he was there and had a big game yesterday. So where do we go from here ..? Really we as a Div 1 team should look to go far into the qualifiers but history doesn't make for great reading there, I just hope its not Monaghan as there is only so many times i can stomach a championship defeat to them! Next year in div 1 will be tough and with only 3 home games its worrying times ahead ... The positional changes some of the posters are mentioning here look obvious so why can't the management see that or even try it ..."
Or you could argue that we do get Monaghan (results depending) A win would be a great boost and a loss would be quick and relatively painless for the summer ahead

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 15/05/2018 09:29:30    2100857

What's the story on the injury front?
Madden? Johnston etc?
13 wides Sunday we could do with both of those who can take scores

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 15/05/2018 09:47:57    2100861

Replying To eamonnmac:  "Maybe Mc gleenan is not the messiah but we have massive turnover in players

2013 Team v's derry

CAVAN: Alan O'Mara; Tomas Corr, Rory Dunne, Killian Clarke; James McEnroe, Alan Clarke, Ronan Flanagan; Damien O'Reilly, David Givney; Cian Mackey, Jack Brady, Fergal Flanagan; Martin Reilly, Martin Dunne, Eugene Keating.

We only have 3 from that starting team ..i wonder how many monaghan have from 2013

We lacked physique ...were any of the Cavan backs bigger or stronger than the guy they were marking ? Same for the forwards ...

I think scoreline flattered us ..we scored in Donegal downtime after the first 15 mins ..never in contention."
Yes, That is a big issue with Cavan, turnover of players. I think it is much greater in Cavan than other counties. especially with young players. where are the players that were bursting on to the scene in 2011/2012/2013. Where are some of the younger players from the last few years. How many players from the 2011 under-21 all-ireland final were on show on Sunday. I would say only Gearoid and maybe Niall Murray. I may stand corrected here but I cant think of any more. How many from the team that played Dublin in the under-21 semi and lost by that last-gasp point. Moynagh,Faulkner, Ciaran Brady Perhaps. What's happened all the other players.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 15/05/2018 11:00:02    2100895

The most disappointing aspect from Sunday for me was the Cavan support or should I say lack of ! Dreadful, the worst I've ever seen. Everyone on about this player and that player and tactics etc, but our support used to be far better than this. I hear lads going on about players not wanting to play for Cavan, the apathy amongst the supporters is worse, I know, I was at 7 of the 8 league games if you include the final. Anyone agree, no ?

stillalottoplayfor (Cavan) - Posts: 3 - 15/05/2018 11:02:56    2100896

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "What's the story on the injury front?
Madden? Johnston etc?
13 wides Sunday we could do with both of those who can take scores"
We could do with Tomas galligan for midfield too along with g Mac,

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 15/05/2018 11:06:05    2100899

Replying To cavanlawd123:  "Sitting there yesterday was do depressing , i said on a previous message on this at the start if the year that cavan have no leaders or center back , holla brady is a great number 5 or 7 but cannot play center back , we are carrying 5or 6 players aswell , i duno y players wont come into the cavan panal we dont have near the best 15 players in cavan on the panel if this is because of the negitivitey management show , i think we need a fresh start , no leader since alan clarke left . We are going backwards with this team ."
No leader since Alan Clarke ?? Did you see McVeety at all this year? Holla wasn't too far behind him either

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 15/05/2018 12:54:04    2100953

Replying To stillalottoplayfor:  "The most disappointing aspect from Sunday for me was the Cavan support or should I say lack of ! Dreadful, the worst I've ever seen. Everyone on about this player and that player and tactics etc, but our support used to be far better than this. I hear lads going on about players not wanting to play for Cavan, the apathy amongst the supporters is worse, I know, I was at 7 of the 8 league games if you include the final. Anyone agree, no ?"
Yes I was at the game and the Cavan support was paltry.

To be honest though I wouldn't expect it to be any other way. I go to games in hope, never in expectation. I never get the sense that Cavan are going to make a serious breakthrough, and I'd imagine most supporters are the same. The reality is, we've flattered to deceive with all the underage success we've had. In comparison, Galway have made superb strides at senior level, knocking a very strong Mayo team off their perch in Connaught.

In order for supporters to show up in numbers, the team have to give them reason to believe.

Someone posted the team we had in 2013, just 5 years ago. It's a ridiculous turnover of players, how can we expect to build anything when people keep dropping off? 10 debutants at the start of this years league, it's daft.

The likes of Michael Argue, Joe Dillon, Tom Hayes, Turloc Mooney and many more, these were promising footballers at u21 level, where are they now?

I don't think we ever really recovered from losing to Monaghan in 2015, that was a game we threw away, they went on to win Ulster, that was our big breakthrough moment.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 15/05/2018 13:14:21    2100960

Replying To ramor101:  "No leader since Alan Clarke ?? Did you see McVeety at all this year? Holla wasn't too far behind him either"
I have to agree, you wouldn't get a better leader than mcveety.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 15/05/2018 13:24:53    2100967

Replying To ramor101:  "No leader since Alan Clarke ?? Did you see McVeety at all this year? Holla wasn't too far behind him either"
To be fair it's obvious we need a leader at the back, Dara does a tremendous job up front, but we need someone back there to steady the ship at 6. Holla is a wing back.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 15/05/2018 13:37:37    2100975

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "To be fair it's obvious we need a leader at the back, Dara does a tremendous job up front, but we need someone back there to steady the ship at 6. Holla is a wing back."
When you have all your backs up on the forward line getting turned over and making no effort to get back you know you are in trouble. Let's call it as it is the majority are not county standard. Players of better standard left at home from the last three years how can you develop a team going forward when there is no chance of improving and establishing one's self on the panel. Out from Tom Cribbin I feel all the back room staff need to be changed that includes the manager and his deputy.
You say we need a leader at the back first we need a leader on the sideline sadly we don't have any.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 15/05/2018 14:59:59    2101013

Why do lads keep going on about WHO'S NOT on the panel ? their not on it because they didn't commit. You can only play the hand your dealt ? As a Cavan man not living in the county, where are all the lads from this great Cavan Gaels team can I ask ? And does anyone know why our best forward (Caoimhin) and Niall Murray were taken off ?
Also where's Conor Madden and David Brady gone ? By the way they were on the panel all year !

stillalottoplayfor (Cavan) - Posts: 3 - 15/05/2018 16:18:40    2101048

Replying To stillalottoplayfor:  "Why do lads keep going on about WHO'S NOT on the panel ? their not on it because they didn't commit. You can only play the hand your dealt ? As a Cavan man not living in the county, where are all the lads from this great Cavan Gaels team can I ask ? And does anyone know why our best forward (Caoimhin) and Niall Murray were taken off ?
Also where's Conor Madden and David Brady gone ? By the way they were on the panel all year !"
Lot of Gaels lads asked in and said no. Fortune with under 20s. David Brady injured. Presume Madden was too. Also presume Murray was.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 15/05/2018 16:59:53    2101071