What they said … the weekend in quotes

June 24, 2019

Dublin goalkeeper Stephen Cluxton lifts the Delaney Cup after the Leinster SFC final victory over Meath at Croke Park. ©INPHO/Ken Sutton.

“To be very honest about it, our eyes were just on the Leinster final. The dates, and who we're going to play, we'll have to look at that over the coming days. Tonight for us is all about the Leinster final, celebrating that.”

The Super 8s beckon for Jim Gavin’s five-in-a-row chasing Dubs.

“I guess we'll find out in two weeks' time. The scoreline doesn't lie really.”

Andy McEntee’s response to being asked if he can lift his Meath troops ahead of their entry into round 4 of the All-Ireland SFC qualifiers.

“Now we’re in the Super 8s and our first match is going to be at home in MacCumhaill Park and we look forward to that and we’ll get ready for that. We want to move on, but we’ll take it step by step.”

It’s onwards and upwards for Declan Bonner and Ulster champions Donegal.

“We will not cover up anything. A lot of things we talked about didn’t happen for us today, especially in the first-half. We got turned over at times, against a team like Donegal that counter attack you are going to get punished every single time and that’s what happened.”

Cavan’s bid to win a first Ulster SFC title since 1997 ended in disappointment for Mickey Graham and his players.

“The concession of the three goals is something that we are going to have to look at.”

Peter Keane’s Kerry team wasn’t overly impressive in its Munster SFC final victory over Cork on Saturday evening.

“There’s no moral victory, the players are disappointed inside.”

Keane’s Cork counterpart Ronan McCarthy took no solace in his team’s battling display.

“We came here very focused and very prepared. Over the years Longford have beaten very good teams here and pushed other good teams all the way, we did not want to be added to the list.”

Mickey Harte’s Tyrone finished with four points to spare over Longford.

"We genuinely came here today believing we could take down Tyrone. We just didn't help ourselves.”

The curtain came down on Padraic Davis’ first championship campaign as Longford football manager.

"We'll wait for the draw on Monday morning and what that performance will do is give us confidence and we've been lacking confidence and hopefully that will bring us on to another level.”

Cian O’Neill’s Kildare charges have been paired with Tyrone in round 3 of the All-Ireland SF qualifiers.

"There was a gulf in class and that was obvious to everybody who was watching the game.”

Antrim boss Lenny Harbinson had no complaints following their exit at the hands of the Lilywhites.

“We need to improve on that performance if we have any ambitions to go any further than next weekend. We're realistic about that, but I think that improvement is in us.”

Westmeath manager Jack Cooney will switch his focus to a home round 3 clash with Clare.

“We had to be smart in how we approached the first 20 minutes. We had to be really cautious today and it was grand. Then, all of a sudden, we cough up balls and we go in 1-9 to 0-5 down instead.”

Limerick’s mistakes were punished by the Lake County, according to Billy Lee.

“We are into Round 3 of the qualifiers and we won’t be looking any further than that.”

It’s a local derby against Offaly next up for John Sugrue and Laois.

“We are a Division 3 team and Offaly have been down in the lower echelons. This will bring a bit of momentum and confidence and that is exactly what they need.”

John Maughan’s Offaly team continued its winning ways against Sligo.

“We knew tonight there was an opportunity to really go at it. There may have been a certain vulnerability in the Mayo team that we tried to expose, but it came down to not being clinical enough.”

Down came up short against Mayo and Paddy Tally was left to rue missed chances in front of the posts.

“He was out for a number of months… he’s pushing, he is getting very close.”

Mayo boss James Horan hopes he will be able to call upon the services of the injured Cillian O’Connor for the challenges that lie ahead.

"I was very pleased with the way we did things in the first half, played really good football, running off the shoulder, took our chances well, less so in the second half, but there are always two teams in a game."

Colm Collins and Clare inflicted a nine-point defeat on Leitrim.

“We couldn’t have all youse writing again about how could close games out.”

Armagh were never going to let Monaghan wriggle off the hook, according to assistant manager Jim McCorry.

“We have had some unbelievable days together.”

Malachy O’Rourke stepped down after seven years at the Monaghan helm.

“We’ve shown through we are the leading light in this competition. I don’t think anyone could begrudge us a 10-point win.”

Nick Fitzgerald’s Meath justified favouritism in Saturday’s Christy Ring Cup final against Down.

“I never dreamed I would be managing a team in Croke Park, but it is an absolute privilege to be working with this bunch of lads.”

Daithi Hand guided Sligo to Nicky Rackard Cup glory.

“Am I dreaming.”

Leitrim captain Declan Molloy’s dreams became reality when they downed Lancashire in the Lory Meagher Cup decider.

Most Read Stories