Now lets look at his championship record forensically:

Championship wins in Terry's tenure:
Armagh (In disarray both times) x 2
Fermanagh x 2
Carlow
London
Derry (Derry fell apart in extra time) x1
Meath (In decline and still are at the time) x 1

if you are going to produce "facts and figures" you should get them correct.

I will correct your mistakes.
wins 10
Fermanagh x 3
Armagh x 2
London x 2
Carlow
Westmeath
Derry

Draws 1
Tyrone

Losses 10
Monaghan x 2
Roscommon x 2
Donegal
Kildare
Tyrone
Derry
Armagh
kerry"
Did we not beat Antrim and Letrim in 2 challange matches too?

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 22/07/2016 11:24:31    1888095

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "One of the better posts.."
to be fair Ronan Carolan missed his fair share of free kicks too. When you look back at highlights of games it doesn't tell the whole story.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 22/07/2016 11:28:46    1888099

Replying To Terry4taoiseach:  "
Replying To s goldrick:  "replying to Terry4taoiseach

Now lets look at his championship record forensically:

Championship wins in Terry's tenure:
Armagh (In disarray both times) x 2
Fermanagh x 2
Carlow
London
Derry (Derry fell apart in extra time) x1
Meath (In decline and still are at the time) x 1

if you are going to produce "facts and figures" you should get them correct.

I will correct your mistakes.
wins 10
Fermanagh x 3
Armagh x 2
London x 2
Carlow
Westmeath
Derry

Draws 1
Tyrone

Losses 10
Monaghan x 2
Roscommon x 2
Donegal
Kildare
Tyrone
Derry
Armagh
kerry"
Mr Goldrick,

You have actually made it look bleaker.

What I was trying to point out was the what I would call the "heavy" defeats, but by all means call out all the defeats. were some of the extra victories gained must have been in the joint terry/val era. Still no notable scalps there, you just added a couple of victories against the same teams"
I just posted the facts. I am not making any assertions. but when you make assertions and post results then you should get them . and no these results are not from the joint Andrews/Hyland era they are from the 2012/2013/2014/2015/2016 championship/qualifiers.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 22/07/2016 11:33:02    1888108

Cavan's record in Ulster Championship matches in the 40 years 1970 to 2009 is wins 27 losses 38 draws 9,our bleakest streak was 7 years 1988 to 1994 when we failed to win a game and in that time we reached 6 Ulster Finals winning one. The recent record since 2010 of 3 wins 7 losses and 1 draw isn't up to much either.What does this tell us feck all probably just that the lads of today are every bit as good (or bad!!) as the teams of the past, and it's a long time since Cavan were powerhouses in Ulster football.

wins
Antrim x 7
Fermanagh & Monaghan x 5
Down & Donegal x 3
Derry x 2
Armagh & Tyrone x 1

Draws 9
Derry & Donegal x 2
Tyrone/Antrim/Fermanagh/Monaghan/Down x 1

Losses 38
Derry x 9
Down/Donegal x 8
Antrim x 4
Monaghan/Armagh/Tyrone x 3

aceofspades (Cavan) - Posts: 256 - 22/07/2016 12:16:46    1888130

Replying To aceofspades:  "Cavan's record in Ulster Championship matches in the 40 years 1970 to 2009 is wins 27 losses 38 draws 9,our bleakest streak was 7 years 1988 to 1994 when we failed to win a game and in that time we reached 6 Ulster Finals winning one. The recent record since 2010 of 3 wins 7 losses and 1 draw isn't up to much either.What does this tell us feck all probably just that the lads of today are every bit as good (or bad!!) as the teams of the past, and it's a long time since Cavan were powerhouses in Ulster football.

wins
Antrim x 7
Fermanagh & Monaghan x 5
Down & Donegal x 3
Derry x 2
Armagh & Tyrone x 1

Draws 9
Derry & Donegal x 2
Tyrone/Antrim/Fermanagh/Monaghan/Down x 1

Losses 38
Derry x 9
Down/Donegal x 8
Antrim x 4
Monaghan/Armagh/Tyrone x 3"
For what its worth, we beat Armagh in 2013 in Breffni and again this year...

Stats tell the story though - no longer powerhouses thats for sure.

I really hope we can get a new man at the helm next year but credit to Terry for all his work!

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 22/07/2016 12:30:50    1888140

All the posters on here including meself, have a good look out at all club championship games coming up over the next few weeks and make suggestions as to who is undiscovered senior county material that has not been looked at and exclude any lads already at a county u21 panel.Are there county standard players in the county undiscovered?There are an awful lot of lads who have Ulster u21 medals over that four year period who are not on the county senior panel for one reason or another whether it is lack of committment or injury or gone abroad or just simply not good enough.I don't know what the story is with Turlough Mooney,Declan McKiernan,Thomas O'Reilly,Barry Reilly,Joe Dillon,Oisin Moynagh,Damien Barkey,Daragh Tighe,Kevin Meehan,Conor Madden,Micheal Brady etc etc but they have all been on the panel at some stage.Some of these players if available may come back to panel if things were freshened up.A lot of posters also feel that there is a few seriously good players who are unable or unwilling to commit.I go to a lot of club games and don't see too many.Would anyone be prepared to actually do selectors a favour and name them.

celt2018 (Cavan) - Posts: 160 - 22/07/2016 14:40:27    1888220

I'll probably get slated for this but anyway. I had huge hopes for Cavan this summer especially after league promotion. However it was a very poor showing, even in the two wins and Tyrone draw i think we still played poor. I've great time for Terry and all he has done but now his time is up. Otherwise we will be here again next year having the exact same discussion. Time to see if someone else can bring Cavan further.
Alas with a lack of funds and available managers I don't see us getting a marquee manager. Therefore I conclude that Cavan are basically where they are; doing very well to be in Div1 and a tough team to play against in Ulster. Chances of silverware in the near future is bleak.

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 22/07/2016 21:33:01    1888365

Dean Martin, you might come back to me on what fat cats you're referring to and how much they're paid or have you run away from your point again?

Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 28/07/2016 21:08:03    1891723